All About Autism
Couragemom:
Thanks! Didn't know about such a school that caters for our kiddos. Gonna fill up their form & wait for call.Hi bb_mom,
No, this centre only accepts K1 special needs children onwards, my boy is 2.5 years old only. I kept the contact as I stay in the West and was surprised to find a tuition centre specially for our darlings. Please go and check it out yourself and if free, do update us about your feeling for the place! -
Couragemom:
Should be protecting her older brother. My son is the gor gor.Hi Double E,
Yah, kickass princess wearing fairy wings and tutu skirt and protecting her younger brother. But ehh, actually my daughter seems to be the biggest bully to her brother leh. My son's classmates are all very nice to him, every morning rushed to the door and call his name to come in.
Actually, my son will look to my gal, his younger sis for protection if he is scolded by any of us. He will go to her and ask her mei mei to sayang him. While its heartwarming, is also heartwrenching for me because my son is behaving like he is the younger child and I wonder will he ever realise one day that he is actually the gor gor who should be the one to sayang and protect his mei mei. -
Hi Johmom,
Does your son do IM sessions at kidzpotc? If yes, please share with me your thoughts about its effectiveness.
Ooo, your son actually ask for piano and tkd lessons? Woah! I hope one day my son will ask me for enrichment activities as well.
My son LOVES his OT sessions too. He will tell me ‘don’t want go school, go exercise (OT)’ in the mornings when I ask him to carry his school bag and follow me to the car. -
Double E:
While its heartwarming, is also heartwrenching for me because my son is behaving like he is the younger child and I wonder will he ever realise one day that he is actually the gor gor who should be the one to sayang and protect his mei mei.
It may be better for him not to realise it if it's not going to be realistic. My older girl has never really been 'older' than my younger one except in the very early years. By the time my younger one was about 10yo, she was already clearly more mature and socially aware despite being 2 yrs younger. There was a phase when we had to explain to her why the younger one was overtaking her in so many ways, and it was a bit painful for her. They now know and accept that as the reality. -
My son asked for the piano (actually violin) since he was 2.5yrs old. But I didn't let him learn till he was five. I told him to wait till he was 5. But it lasted all of a little over a yr before he gave up cos it's too difficult (which I told him it'll be. Haha)
What's IM? I'm not sure what he's doing w OT except that he's under Vera. She's asked us about some music cd but I somehow don't get it so we're not doing that.
We call OT, gym class.
Couragemom:
Hi,Hi Niu2009,
Woah, your son's kindy teacher is very nice. I tio complaints from my son's old playgroup principal almost daily recently even though she knows about my son's condition. Anyway the new pre-school teacher is very nice, she tells me to give my son time to settle down and tries her best to involve him in class activities.
Regarding your questions about OT/ST frequencies, it really depends on how 'severe' is his condition. Perhaps you can check with a developmental PD or an educational
Psychologist to see his gap with his peers? Then they can advise if you need eipic or sped or social class lessons etc.
Do you intend to declare your son's condition to the primary school when you apply next June? If yes, then you need a full autism assessment report done before that.
Thanks for reply. My son's teacher seldom complaint since he was N2. They just said must help him at social part. Actually they said he did quite well in class especially academy sides.
His doctor just suggest once a week for ST and once two weeks for OT. I just followed her instructions now. Will see how first. -
Double E:
The TKD school is in Tanglin Shopping Centre, just beside Kidz OT. My boy is going to be in the same class as his younger sister. I signed both my kids up.[/quote]Double E,
Hi Double E,Niu2009:
[quote=\"Double E\"]Johmom,
Good to hear that your boy is doing good in P1. Same as couragemum, it does help to boost my confidence in my boy too.
Anyway, on my boy, his OT recently commented that he is still not up to par on his planning skills, not much significant improvement, so told me he has to continue his OT. Well, I don't intend to stop anyway, so I m not very much affected. And I am starting him on Taekwando, hope it will help to instill more discipline in him and learn some moves to defend himself, haha.
May i khow where you send you DS on Taekwando? Btw, how old is he now?
Thanks! Your son same age as my one. DS horned in Nov 09. -
Thanks Couragemom. However I stay in the East so it is very inconvenient to go Buena Vista. One thing I’ve learnt also that slapping a ‘special needs’ tag on something means more $$ you have to fork out. I rather have a patient but firm teacher for him.
Double E, I didn’t get to speak directly to the mum but the teacher said she was quite apologetic and was willing to discipline her son so I left it at that. Problem partly is also no bus aunty. Heard it is normal to not have a one as all margins are squeezed. Just contrast this to my boy’s PL bus which cost me $270 (2 ways) compared to $90 (one way) monthly.
The boy that bullied him was considered one of his friends in class but dunno what triggered him to start calling him names. This happened only on the school bus, not the school itself. Could be peer pressure from group of older boys there. C1 seems to have a group of friends that he goes to recess with and they aren’t imaginary coz I also checked with the teacher on that too. On the other hand, my boy does talk non-stop when it comes to his favorite subject of dinosaurs. So I can imagine the others being turned off by his incessant chatter. He can be very ‘high maintenance’ in terms of needing attention. -
Hi Double E,
Sorry for mistaking your daughter as the Jie Jie! So paiseh! -
Hi Johmom,
Woah!!! Can ask for Violin lessons at 2.5 years old? His speech is really advanced at such a young age! At what age did you realize your son’s ASD condition? I think for most mommies/daddy here, the major red flag is our kid’s speech delay that trigger further medical check that leads to the ASD diagnosis.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.