Travel: Greece - General

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    32 Posts 12 Posters 20.1k Views 1 Watching
      mum03

Hi intend to to go to Greece in jun for 3 weeks. Wanted to do Island Hopping. No intention of following any tour, its DIY all the way. Any advise will be good, where to stay which island to go any good hotel to recommend. We are going with a 7 yrs old.

So K.S parents any suggestions.

staypositive

Wonderful place. Was there on a backpacking trip 16 years ago…

Stayed at one of the locals’ B&B at Mykonos Island. Wouldn’t suggest you choose this type of accomodation, espcially with a kid. As most the village houses are fairly basic, they do not have heaters. At night, can be freezing cold.

Getting around the island is fairly easy. If you are adventurous, can rent moped/bicycles to explore the island on your own. People are friendly.

If you are going to the Clyclades islands by ferry, please note that the sea can be quite choppy. Hope this helps

auntieM

Hi mum03,

Greece is lovely and if you meet with the right people, warm and friendly.
          Since you will be doing it free and easy do be careful k. Economy not good and loads of frustrated people out on streets without jobs.
          Just my two cents hor, dun mean to dampen your mood 😉

mum03

Thk you for your advises, could you recommend which islands that I should not miss. Have already booked the flight (Kiasu) what else, now must plan for the island hopping. We are not in the party scene anymore, so must choose family oriented place.

Can help which island is good for family vacation.
            looks like the euro is down a bit so must make use of the opportuity. Learning alot from this forum, how to be Kiasu, Heeeee

radiantmum

Don’t miss Santorini!

• O Offline
                ooptimizer

Don’t foget to visit the Parthenon.

radiantmum

ooptimizer:
                  Don't foget to visit the Parthenon.

It's funny how it reminds me of how \"un-cultured\" I was 'cos till today, it still looks like a rock formation to me despite the vivid \"painting & pointing\" of 3D images 😜

radiantmum

Check out this website - - http://www.thesaurus.gr/

staypositive

mum03:
                      Thk you for your advises, could you recommend which islands that I should not miss.

You may wish to go to:

1) Within the Cyclades e.g. Tinos, Mykonos, (near Mykonos), Paros, Santorini. These were some recommendations we received from fellow travellers who had been there.

2) Crete Island

3) Corfu island

Crete and Corfu are popular with locals & tourists. Never been there but my Greek friends used to sent me pictures of their family vacations in these two islands

floatinggate

Pls have Santorini, Mykonos, Crete and Corfu on top of your list, and if you have more time to spare, only visit the Greece mainland unless you are a big fan of greek history.

Were there 7 yrs ago, just before the Olympic Game. Managed to catch the preparation for the event. Joined tour, only covered Greece mainland but not the santorini & Mykonos. Exploring to Santorini & Mykonos was out of our plan, only decided when we reached there (coz some of the tour members are going and said "must GO", then asking the local tour guide to make flight/accommodation to the islands and detoured on the last day. Luckily we made it and no regret to spend the most memorable and most romantic days and nites on the islands…the sky is so BLUE…is dark BLUE and the sea comes in waves of green, blue and dark blue.

Oboy…oboy…if there is a second chance, sure visit the islands again. And remember to stay in the cave house…which i didn’t the last visit.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 4