lovekidsverymuch:
Just a little curious cos salary is actually better in hong kong, she has been there fm 2005 - 2007, than go back marry, now got a child 2 years old and want to come to spore. My mom want to choose her, although confirm already but hor still a bit worry about her attitude cos change maid change until very sian already, really give up.m-mommy:
Hihi, any one has experience hiring an ex hongkong maid, any comments to share on these maids, pls share, as mine will be coming next week, totally no idea how to deal with her

No idea but hongkong maid should be more smart :? -
Definitely smarter,and most can speak cantonese.
They might be used to higher pay, weekly off days and much lighter workload....
Well, I've met a few nice ex-hk maids so dun worry too much
auntieM:
Oh, so u mean workload in spore is heavier than HK, tats my greatest worry, i scare she cannot cope because my family consists of 5 adults and 2 kids. And yes, she can speak little cantonese and reasonably good english cos I interview her thru phone, everything she say can, but don know how true. But looks like i got no choice cos my current maid got mental problem, something like depression cannot take stress, she is really sick, damn headache, don know why such pple can pass the entry test, sigh.......Definitely smarter,and most can speak cantonese.
Just take it one step at a time should be ok lah
Apartments tend to be smaller in HK and laundry 'pattern' different. I'm sure
given time she can adapt. Maybe if unload chores to her slowly easier to adjust
m-mommy:
m-mommy,
Oh, so u mean workload in spore is heavier than HK, tats my greatest worry, i scare she cannot cope because my family consists of 5 adults and 2 kids. And yes, she can speak little cantonese and reasonably good english cos I interview her thru phone, everything she say can, but don know how true. But looks like i got no choice cos my current maid got mental problem, something like depression cannot take stress, she is really sick, damn headache, don know why such pple can pass the entry test, sigh.......auntieM:
Definitely smarter,and most can speak cantonese.
I had an Indo maid for 3 mths who worked in HK previously. V gd in Cantonese. V good house keeper - a perfectionist.
However,
She complained she could not take it anymore as workload was heavier. She will whine that she is having this pain and that pain etc .. You know how tiny HK housing can be. Also too streetsmart and insisted on doing things her own way as HK employers left her with bb in the grdparents flat. She had a high life there and squandered all her pay shopping etc ...
After 3 mths of mediating with her and even telling her that we will up her salary, we buay tahan send her back as she was instigating quarrels with the next door maid. And my MIL was suffering from high blood pressure because of her.
But then again, mine is one side of the story. You have read AuntieM's side, so you may not face the same problem. Just thought that its good you know so that you can be prepared and prepare the maid as well.
My 2 cents
Thanks autumnbronze for your valuable infom-mommy,
I had an Indo maid for 3 mths who worked in HK previously. V gd in Cantonese. V good house keeper - a perfectionist.
However,
She complained she could not take it anymore as workload was heavier. She will whine that she is having this pain and that pain etc .. You know how tiny HK housing can be. Also too streetsmart and insisted on doing things her own way as HK employers left her with bb in the grdparents flat. She had a high life there and squandered all her pay shopping etc ...
After 3 mths of mediating with her and even telling her that we will up her salary, we buay tahan send her back as she was instigating quarrels with the next door maid. And my MIL was suffering from high blood pressure because of her.
But then again, mine is one side of the story. You have read AuntieM's side, so you may not face the same problem. Just thought that its good you know so that you can be prepared and prepare the maid as well.
My 2 cents

I actually don feel too good when mom insisted to employ her. I was given 2 choices one is this ex HK, the other one is ex Sin 2 years working with muslim family. I wanted the ex Sin one, but mom say don want cos scare she the veri slow pace type. And both of us really give up on the quality of maid nowaday, fresh one too 'gong', experience one take advantage and now we got 1 siow one at home, aiyo really sian....
But hor your this maid really 'power', u still can tahan and wan to up her salary, if is me hor, already kick her out of the hse liao, i think she is taking advantage of you.
I don pin high hope for this ex HK, but I pray for miracle lor :stupid: -
m-mommy:
Hi m-mommy,
Thanks autumnbronze for your valuable infoautumnbronze:
m-mommy,
However,
My 2 cents

I actually don feel too good when mom insisted to employ her. I was given 2 choices one is this ex HK, the other one is ex Sin 2 years working with muslim family. I wanted the ex Sin one, but mom say don want cos scare she the veri slow pace type. And both of us really give up on the quality of maid nowaday, fresh one too 'gong', experience one take advantage and now we got 1 siow one at home, aiyo really sian....
But hor your this maid really 'power', u still can tahan and wan to up her salary, if is me hor, already kick her out of the hse liao, i think she is taking advantage of you.
I don pin high hope for this ex HK, but I pray for miracle lor :stupid:
Only because she was a solid housekeeper lah ...
Somemore, we thought by upping her salary, she will be more motivated. Unfortunately that didn't work
peapot:
Hi peapot,Autumnbronze,
who is your maid agency? I agree that the maid agency plays a part in matching the right maid to the right family. Now its so difficult to get a good maid and agency.
My maid is totally hopeless in caring for children. General housework she is ok. she's more suited for families who only need maids to do housework and nothing else. She also plans to work for me only 8months to clear her loan. I asked her then why bother to waste time to come Singapore to work. Wasting not only my time but also her time??? Sigh!! She also keep saying 2 years is very long and she is very tired!!???
Will PM you by 2nite.
You chk PM 2morrow morn
m-mommy:
Hihi, any one has experience hiring an ex hongkong maid, any comments to share on these maids, pls share, as mine will be coming next week, totally no idea how to deal with her

hi,
one thing for sure, language shouldnt be a problem and yes, i guess she will be expecting day off on sunday and public holidays. Are you going to give that to her?
from what i know of my relatives and friends in hong kong, most have only 1 meal at home ie dinner. and not all members come home for it so some maids only need to cook for kids. so dont hold your expectation too high about her cooking.
housework, my friends and relataives send their office and expensive clothes to laundry shops. so maid only needs to wash school uniforms and some casual clothes. place is small and not as dusty as in spore, so not much of cleaning is needed.
kids are in school the whole day, so maid is alone or with grandma.
but wow, you have 5 adults and 2 kids, so hopefully, it would not freak her out.
however she might turned out to be a gem. so best of luck.
cheers -
Ya, I think HK maid will be smarter and also can understand chinese if she works for China chinese family instead of HK chinese family. But then again hiring maid is really "hian-suah".
Change maid can really cost a lot of money eventhough agency tells you free replacement because you still need to top up the difference in loans between new maid and old maid. pay for new insurance. pay for existing maid’s levy to be transferred out. Total could amount to $600 for each "free replacement"!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.