All About GEP

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    6.7k Posts 720 Posters 2.7m Views
    • Z Offline
      Zann

mathsparks:
      Zann:

Anybody know what Investigative Maths is at P4,5 & 6?

Have gone thru my son’s p4/p5 worksheets but there’s nothing specifically labelled investigative maths. I figured that Inv Maths are typically done at the start of each topic to expose the students to a concept and its applications. Then the calculations/mathematical drill would come in.

These are the ones which I think would be classified as investigative:

- Traffic statistics (graph plotting)
      - All corners aren’t square (cutting tiles to fit corners)
      - Pick your pyramid (visual)
      - Regular polygon combinations (escher drawings)
      - Perplexing perimeters
      - Area estimations
      - Shortest route
      - Unfolding a cut-out piece
      - Making tangram puzzles
      - Sieve of Erathosthenes
      - Abundant/Amicable numbers
      - Cryparithm/Missing Numbers
      - Tile trial
      - Palindrome
      - Egyptian fraction tiles
      - Petite proportions
      - Decimal puzzles
      - Permutations & Combinations
      - Fibonacci numbers
      - You are what you eat/Duck soup/I’ve been converted (decimals/fractions)
      - Daffynition decoder (angles)
      - How much number sense have you (big nos/standard forms)

Thanks Mathsparks :thankyou:

Bronzy

Just started reading some of this thread - can someone tell me what/where TLL is and why they are so famous?

My daughter only has tuition for MT - just started this year as grades were going downhill. Being Kiasu, am wondering whether she should have other tuition too since everyone else is doing it! Where to squeeze the time will be a challenge though!

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

mathsparks:
          Zann:

Anybody know what Investigative Maths is at P4,5 & 6?

Have gone thru my son’s p4/p5 worksheets but there’s nothing specifically labelled investigative maths. I figured that Inv Maths are typically done at the start of each topic to expose the students to a concept and its applications. Then the calculations/mathematical drill would come in.

- Perplexing perimeters
          - Area estimations
          - Shortest route
          - Making tangram puzzles
          - Sieve of Erathosthenes
          - Tile trial
          - Palindrome
          - Petite proportions
          - Decimal puzzles
          - Fibonacci numbers

:shock: :faint:

musette

Bronzy:
            Just started reading some of this thread - can someone tell me what/where TLL is and why they are so famous?

My daughter only has tuition for MT - just started this year as grades were going downhill. Being Kiasu, am wondering whether she should have other tuition too since everyone else is doing it! Where to squeeze the time will be a challenge though!
            TLL is The Learning Lab. Some parents have shared their comments about TLL in this thread.

My dd also only has MT creative writing as tuition. She said a lot of her classmates are attending TLL. She knows because her teacher asked and most of the pupils in her class raised their hands. I'm also a bit worried and wondering whether she should be attending more tuition classes.
            Bronzy:
            Where to squeeze the time will be a challenge though!
            Is your daughter very busy with CCA? For my dd, if not for her swimming and violin, she would have a lot of free time.

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

My son attends nothing and sometimes I wonder if I am not helping him when I know the whole class attend some kind of tuition or enrichment. Key is , is your kid falling behind? Does he/she not understand any concept learnt? If it is the kiasuparents syndrome than I feel that tuition is counter productive. Many of my tertiary students hated their childhood because of the kind of grilling they had to go through. Some of my friends’ gifted kids got so burnt out they totally switched off in sec years . Key is how long term do you see your child’s education?

Blobbi

2ppaamm:
                My son attends nothing and sometimes I wonder if I am not helping him when I know the whole class attend some kind of tuition or enrichment. Key is , is your kid falling behind? Does he/she not understand any concept learnt? If it is the kiasuparents syndrome than I feel that tuition is counter productive. Many of my tertiary students hated their childhood because of the kind of grilling they had to go through. Some of my friends' gifted kids got so burnt out they totally switched off in sec years . Key is how long term do you see your child's education?

Bestest post!!

Neko

My dd has Chinese tuition. That's it. After completing her hw she has lots of time to play and laze around --> happy happy kid :lol:

vlim

2ppaamm:
                    mathsparks:

[quote=\"Zann\"]Anybody know what Investigative Maths is at P4,5 & 6?

- Perplexing perimeters
                    - Area estimations
                    - Shortest route
                    - Making tangram puzzles
                    - Sieve of Erathosthenes
                    - Tile trial
                    - Palindrome
                    - Petite proportions
                    - Decimal puzzles
                    - Fibonacci numbers

:shock: :faint:[/quote]no worry no worry...they will be guided along...now I seldom help my p5 in his maths homework as they are too chim for me liao especially the amec work!

• Z Offline
                      Zann

vlim:

no worry no worry...they will be guided along...now I seldom help my p5 in his maths homework as they are too chim for me liao especially the amec work!
                      Same for me. Hope to be able to sit back and relax, always... :celebrate: but just wonder what it is...

mathsparks

vlim:
                        no worry no worry...they will be guided along...now I seldom help my p5 in his maths homework as they are too chim for me liao especially the amec work!

hi ppl,
                        nothing to worry/faint la. These topics inject fun to otherwise very theorectical maths and the kids can cope. I didnt follow my son either and he turned out fine. Only when Zann asked and I looked thru his files then I realised the intersting stuff he had done. I'm guilty of signing off his files without seriously checking. :oops:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 70 / 669

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring
                        TanZiyisgT
                        TanZiyisg
                        Yeo DgrY
                        Yeo Dgr