Club Only Child Club
auntieM:
AuntieM, you are so lucky! I came from a brood of 3 and I never had that level of closeness with my parents. Gosh, I'm starting to think that only kids are an enviable bunch because they have the attention of 2 parents 24x7...Hi all,
I am really close to my mum, we are like buddies.
I never need to lock any drawers or 'hide' things from her.
She's the one who helps me with my partying gear and share dating tips with me.
I am happy to be an only child. I get along with people ok but would rather be alone at times.

Umm... I'm much closer to mummy though.
Downside for me is have to attend all functions (red/white) with parents when young, now old liao worse, parents dowan attend I kena do rep job. Not funny when you get baby shower, wedding and funeral all within days!
Relatives attn all directed at you, no other siblings to share/rescue you..

auntieM:
Hi AuntieM. That's so nice. Hope my DD and I will continue to be as close as she gets older.Hi all,
I am really close to my mum, we are like buddies.
I never need to lock any drawers or 'hide' things from her.
She's the one who helps me with my partying gear and share dating tips with me.
I am happy to be an only child. I get along with people ok but would rather be alone at times.

I went thru most of the western fertility treatments from tablets to IUI to IVF. DD was miraculously conceived naturally in between the various treatments. Tried aspirin during one of the IVF attempts - the doc was not really in favour of it as he said that it is not proven to make any difference - but didn't help. Someone advised to take DOME - which I did for some time but that didn't help either.Just out of curiosity ... and if you don't mind sharing
Those mummies who suffered from multiple miscarriages and when finally managed to sustain their pregnancy ...
1) did you take any TCM b4 or during the pregnancy to help sustain the baby?
OR
2) were any of you on asprin ie one quarter asprin everyday until full term, just so to thin the blood, something to do with blood flow to the placenta or something, can't remember.
OR
3) any other form of natural/traditional therapy/western medication? -
auntieM:
True lah, got all these duties to perform. But there are nice perks too!Umm... I'm much closer to mummy though.
Downside for me is have to attend all functions (red/white) with parents when young, now old liao worse, parents dowan attend I kena do rep job. Not funny when you get baby shower, wedding and funeral all within days!
Relatives attn all directed at you, no other siblings to share/rescue you..

Just out of curiosity ... and if you don't mind sharing
Those mummies who suffered from multiple miscarriages and when finally managed to sustain their pregnancy ...
1) did you take any TCM b4 or during the pregnancy to help sustain the baby?
OR
2) were any of you on asprin ie one quarter asprin everyday until full term, just so to thin the blood, something to do with blood flow to the placenta or something, can't remember.
OR
3) any other form of natural/traditional therapy/western medication?
Autumn bronze,
Sorry for late reply but haven't had time lately. I haven't conceived since my last miscarriage in late 2008 but I have been going on and off to Thong Chai Medical Institution since last year. I stopped for a while but recently went on it again. The TCM doctor says that if I get pregnant, she will want me to take TCM med until I am atleast 5 months pregnant. She wouldnt' consider stable till then. U may want to try that place. They are located at CHin Swee Road. I go on Tues afternoons at lunch time.
Baby dust to us all..............really know how u feel. After a miscarriage, everybody else forgets but we dont. -
Wow, Bronzy and kaitlynangelica,
GOSH - We have gone thru alot just to have a kid, haven't we?
I took a drastic step to conceive in the sense that I started shutting myself off from work once I reached home and went thru a yoga and healthy diet regime to build up my body. Also went for TCM too.
Yup, *sprinkle sprinkle* baby dust to all those who want/need it

Autumnbronze,Wow, Bronzy and kaitlynangelica,
GOSH - We have gone thru alot just to have a kid, haven't we?
I took a drastic step to conceive in the sense that I started shutting myself off from work once I reached home and went thru a yoga and healthy diet regime to build up my body. Also went for TCM too.
Yup, *sprinkle sprinkle* baby dust to all those who want/need it

What kind of diet are you on?
For me, I have been taking lots of supplements from a particular MLM company called Zhulian (zhulian.com.my). I mentioned this in another thread as well. A friend introduced it to me and I was skeptical initially but I do find that after taking it, I am healthier, calmer, sleep better and less tired. TCM doctor said that I am very weak, ( qi bu zu ) and I need to take lots of vegetables and eat fresh food. The supplement I have been taking is an anti-oxidant beverage. Some one else also told me Usana is good so you can consider that. Another person also trying to conceive subscribes to the \"Eat Right for your Blood Type\" diet.
You see, my miscarriages have turned me into a health freak. Can have miscarriage means unhealthy right? The supplements cost me a lot - between $200 and $300 a month but if it works, I really don't mind paying. -
Life is strange and ironical, as my friends used to comment:
there are lots of teens who get pregnant so easily/frequently, and then they have to go for abortions.
and there are lots of people who try so hard to concieve, but are either not successful, or not easy to do so…
So if some of you are keen to add to the family, the idea is to start doing it early. Chances of conceiving reduces with age, of both the wife as well as the husband. This is more so given the stress that we are facing at work in the modern world.
For those who because of whatever reasons started late, I know that some will say leave it to nature. But I’ll advise you to also see a gynae to get help (not necessarily IUI or IVF first) with conceiving.
In the case of DW, when we wanted to start family, we were not successful for abt a year, but DW was already seeing gynae. Then the gynae said that DW had fibroids and cysts which might make it difficult to conceive, so she arranged to have them removed. And during op, found that DW had endometriosis, which definitely hindered conceiving. Then few mths after that, when DW recovered, DD was conceived…
On having only 1 kid, it could be lonely for the kid. We have 3 neighbours in the same block who are single child, and who are looked after by their grandmothers. They all like to play with my kids when got chance… -
atrecord:
Life is strange and ironical, as my friends used to comment:
there are lots of teens who get pregnant so easily/frequently, and then they have to go for abortions.
and there are lots of people who try so hard to concieve, but are either not successful, or not easy to do so...
So if some of you are keen to add to the family, the idea is to start doing it early. Chances of conceiving reduces with age, of both the wife as well as the husband. This is more so given the stress that we are facing at work in the modern world.
For those who because of whatever reasons started late, I know that some will say leave it to nature. But I'll advise you to also see a gynae to get help (not necessarily IUI or IVF first) with conceiving.
In the case of DW, when we wanted to start family, we were not successful for abt a year, but DW was already seeing gynae. Then the gynae said that DW had fibroids and cysts which might make it difficult to conceive, so she arranged to have them removed. And during op, found that DW had endometriosis, which definitely hindered conceiving. Then few mths after that, when DW recovered, DD was conceived...
On having only 1 kid, it could be lonely for the kid. We have 3 neighbours in the same block who are single child, and who are looked after by their grandmothers. They all like to play with my kids when got chance...
I have gone to see the gynae. He says nothing wrong with me. I have seen the TCM doctor and after a few rounds of med, she says my 'qi' is much better..............donno what that means. And if I get preg now, take her chinese med right to the end.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.