Over Sensitive Kid??

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    53 Posts 14 Posters 16.0k Views 1 Watching

schweppes:

I have a serious HSP at home, just annoying and super annoying until I have to be on KSP to lor li lor sor..... :roll:

hey ks2me... i think i must be spending too much time on 3-word story thread. :roll: When i read your post on HSP here, for a split second, I was wondering what's a hum sum person got to do here... :!: Then I realised the acronym refers to \"highly sensitive person\".

getting to be very blur of late... 😐 :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: You are not alone...when I first read this, I also think the same!!!! :celebrate:

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

Seriously, have you met an adult HSP? HSPs are a pain to live with, mingle with and work with. Aiyoh, they are sensitive over every little thing. The most innocent remark is taken to be insults to them. Very hard to get along.

So as parents, I think one of our tasks is to help the HSC understand how to deal with the world’s remark and how not to take some too seriously. Not everything is targeting at the HSP, right?

Honestly, I was a HSC when young and still trying to be less sensitive. At this age, getting ALOT better, but it is with ALOT of effort. Training the kid to take things with a good sense of humor helps a lot.

• E Offline
          en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]Seriously, have you met an adult HSP? HSPs are a pain to live with, mingle with and work with. Aiyoh, they are sensitive over every little thing. The most innocent remark is taken to be insults to them. Very hard to get along. [/quote]
          I have one at home. Buay tahan. Why during dating time never show his true colour. Sensitive to remark is one thing. Even when I want to buy tv for his birthday (he asks for it), he can stand looking at the tv display then start commenting on the picture noise, colour quality, sound, distortion bla bla bla...while I'm standing there :x

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

EN:
            [quote]Seriously, have you met an adult HSP? HSPs are a pain to live with, mingle with and work with. Aiyoh, they are sensitive over every little thing. The most innocent remark is taken to be insults to them. Very hard to get along.

I have one at home. Buay tahan. Why during dating time never show his true colour. Sensitive to remark is one thing. Even when I want to buy tv for his birthday (he asks for it), he can stand looking at the tv display then start commenting on the picture noise, colour quality, sound, distortion bla bla bla...while I'm standing there :x[/quote]Buy a silent movie projector! :lol:

EN:

Ngeow only har? Mine ngeow & cry baby. Boy le, cannot cry so much. But hor...yr dd same like mine. I read in the other thread, your dd loves growing her money. Mine too. He goes around the house to pick up coins placed all over the house. He says to keep the house neat and tidy. Alamak. I OT lah.
              Oh cry baby for many years until finally at 5 plus, she saw the light. Strangely now, when I expect her to cry under certain trying conditions, she just would not. It's unfathomable. :?

Ya..super ngeow about money. One day her teacher told the class to buy some stickers from the bookshop for activity in class, she stood up and asked the teacher if could do something that did not need to make any purchase so could save money? :roll: Not as if she had no money for school, she preferred to save them. Her classmate told me that....... :lol:

The need for order also very real. It is actually a good virtue but when I need to rush for time and I see such a trait coming out, it can kill me. :faint:

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

I bought a piano for my son some years back, it was after he tried it out and was happy with it. After it was brought back home, he immediately did not like the sound and that piano laid unplayed for 1 whole year. It then ended up in the warehouse for another 2 years. He preferred the old one.

It turned out the sound was different in the shop and in the house. They are so sensitive they won’t even play. I just changed that piano for a new one. Now play non-stop. Not that young ok, we are talking about a teenager…

2ppaamm:
                  I bought a piano for my son some years back, it was after he tried it out and was happy with it. After it was brought back home, he immediately did not like the sound and that piano laid unplayed for 1 whole year. It then ended up in the warehouse for another 2 years. He preferred the old one.

It turned out the sound was different in the shop and in the house. They are so sensitive they won't even play. I just changed that piano for a new one. Now play non-stop. Not that young ok, we are talking about a teenager...
                  HSP can cost you alot of money in your case.... :shock:

Mine costing me alot of time and energy. If I want to save the money, I just deposit it on her, then it will not be spent, i.e. she will live with something of lesser evil to her... :lol:

• 2 Offline
                    2ppaamm

2ppaamm:

It turned out the sound was different in the shop and in the house. They are so sensitive they won't even play. I just changed that piano for a new one. Now play non-stop. Not that young ok, we are talking about a teenager...

HSP can cost you alot of money in your case.... :shock:

Mine costing me alot of time and energy. If I want to save the money, I just deposit it on her, then it will not be spent, i.e. she will live with something of lesser evil to her... :lol:

I learnt that bringing the kid to choose the piano is not good enough lor... now I 'sign contract' with them, making them agree they will play before I buy, and also buy better pianos. Yep, this is a lot of money :moneyflies:
                    Sensitive ears will go for good sounds lor.... but I think that's part of the reason why my kids have perfect pitch. Sensitive mah.. sensitive has advantages also...

sleepy

2ppaamm:

Sometimes kids are very sensitive to sound 😄

One fine day my dd noticed a particular key had a higher pitch than it should be. Kind of happen suddenly because it wasn't there the day before. No one else in the house could detect that higher pitch. She was so irritated by that imperfect pitch and was so frustrated that I had to call the tuner right away. Tuner couldn't fix it. He then arranged for another sound technician to fix the problem.

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

Tell another very interesting one.

DD2 is always sensitive, so puberty is also a very difficult time, so those of you with HSC watch it during 11-12 years old.

One day, she asked me whether I noticed that she swims better when I am at the pool (as if I know how she is like when I am not around), then I asked her why would she be better.

She said she could hear my car pass when she is in the pool swimming?! :? The pool is at least 3 m away from the road, and how on earth can she hear MY car? But the coach confirm it is true she will swim better whenever I am about to reach the pool.

神风耳?Don't underestimate your kid's sensitivity.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 6