Montessori Phonics - Introduction To Single Letter Sounds
Hi Buds,
I’m going to start the lesson with my child but would like to clear some doubts with you…
You mentioned the below…
"Not all 18mth olds can speak clearly or
have familiar knowledge of various
things so it is like… test market to see
if the children can easily relate to lessons
when we move from easy to difficult…"
If my child is able to pick out the correct items (e.g. cat, cup, cap - note that she already knows these 3 items) in the very 1st lesson. How do i proceed from here? Do i change the 3 objects to something that she doesn’t know e.g. Compass, Cable, Cardamom and repeat the lesson again the 2nd day? So that i know whether if she got the /c/ sound correctly?
Or do i change the objects only after she can say the /c/ sound when i show her the /c/ card?
what kind of words (for the showing objects purpose) should i avoid when introducing the /c/ sound?
thanks a lot! -
soomum:
No problemo!Hi Buds,
I'm going to start the lesson with my child but would like to clear some doubts with you..
soomum:
Some children who have consistent stimuli from within their environment,You mentioned the below...
\"Not all 18mth olds can speak clearly or
have familiar knowledge of various
things so it is like....... test market to see
if the children can easily relate to lessons
when we move from easy to difficult..\"
If my child is able to pick out the correct items (e.g. cat, cup, cap - note that she already knows these 3 items) in the very 1st lesson. How do i proceed from here?
can be from watching VCDs, listening to stories and rhymes or also get a
daily dose of interaction with the main caregiver will develop better
understanding of words, more vocabulary & are those who can verbalize
clearer than the average 18mth old.soomum:
Yes, yes! You may and you should! If your child is the advanced 18 mthDo i change the 3 objects to something that she doesn't know e.g. Compass, Cable, Cardamom and repeat the lesson again the 2nd day?
old, please move forward. If your child can do MORE than 3 objects at
one sitting, please do add more. Watch out for the child's level of interest.
Build up from what you observe as a positive inclination and tone down if
you observe that the child may not be that ready as yet to progress to
more challenging words.soomum:
Yes, you got the gist! :rahrah:So that i know whether if she got the /c/ sound correctly?
soomum:
The more objects you introduce, the more the child can understand theOr do i change the objects only after she can say the /c/ sound when i show her the /c/ card?
reference you're trying to make. ie. this letter makes the sound /c/ or
this object or objects begin with the sound /c/...
soomum:
Generally since in a classroom setting we have like 6 to 12 children in awhat kind of words (for the showing objects purpose) should i avoid when introducing the /c/ sound?
class, we'll definitely have children at different levels of understanding &
abilities. We will test waters with mono-syllable words like cake, cot, corn..
then upgrade to two syllable words like carrot, carrom, custard... to the
more challenging three syllable words like cas-ta-net, car-da-mom, (etc).
As for words to avoid, just ensure the /c/ words you introduce are the
ones that has the hard /c/ sounds and not the soft sounds of 'c' like in
those words... cents, celery, circus.. (etc)... or words like champagne,
champion, chocolate.. (etc). Emphasis should be given to words with
the hard 'c' sound. Okie?
As repetition is healthy when introducing new concepts or lessons to
young children... variety of objects introduced will be very helpful to
sustain interest instead of repeating the same lesson with the same
old stuff, especially when the child can pick up very fast. We should
find different ideas or creative ways to encourage reinforcements...
so children will find it fresh and appealing.soomum:
You're always welcome here, soomum. :hugs:thanks a lot!
Montessori Phonics - Single Letter Sounds Introduction
Lesson 5
Here in this lesson...we recap with the children on the single
letter sounds we have introduced which are : /c/, /f/, /i/ and
/m/. We also strive to observe the proficiency in listening to
sounds in words and recognition of the written letter (shape).
Lesson 5 can be done simultaneously with Lesson 4, if you find
your children can take more activities in one sitting. A standard
enrichment class would take 1 hour to go through the sounds for
the day, written activity, working with materials & some teachers
like me love to add at least a game and a craft. I also include
story time as i love telling them! Not all children have the luxury
of being read to everyday, so i hope with some of my telling, the
children would be captivated enough to grab a book on their own
one day. How to know if a child is into reading? They'll pick up a
random book and pretend telling a story of their own and it may
not even have anything to do with the story written in the book. :lol:
Phonics lessons need not be dry. Even if there is a need to run thru'
the required lesson for the day/week. You as the facilitator of the
programme or the method controls the creative factor injected into
the lessons. If lessons are interesting, chances of retention are much
higher without that much work needed for repetition/revision and the
learning will come from the heart... never forced. :celebrate:
Mystery Bag Game with /c/, /f/, /i/, /m/.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV4aoIr
Prepare a bag for the game. Fill it up with materials or objects that begins
with the sounds /c/, /f/, /i/ and /m/. Then tie it up. Try to prepare the items
before hand. Bags should preferably be the draw-string kinds and in a
single colour (without distracting prints).
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV4aBb9
Invite child to dip his hand into the bag and take out one item from it.
\"Would you like to pick one item from the mystery bag?\" If the child
seem afraid putting his hand into a creepy bag, you pick one out for
him/her. No stress.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsVyiyA
You : \"Wow, what's that you picked out from the mystery bag?\"
Child : \"It's a fish!\"
You : \"Now, which of the sounds here makes the first sound in the word, fish?\"
> Make emphasis on the /f/ sound...
Child : \"Ffffff...\"
You : \"Good. Now can you place the fish under the corresponding letter
card, please?\"
Child places the fish under the /f/ letter card. Move on to dip another item
in the bag.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV4aSE9
You : \"Would you like to pick out another object from the mystery bag?\"
Child : \"Okay.\" And proceeds to pick out a mug.
You : \"Now where do you think that object should be placed under?\"
Child : \"/m/ as in mug...\" Child places it under the /m/ letter card.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsVyMui
Continue with the game until all the items in the bag have been picked
out and placed under the corresponding letter cards.
Introduction to Large Moveable Alphabets (LMA)
A box segregating all 26 alphabets into individual compartments.
Consonants are in red acrylic pieces and the 5 vowels in blue ones.
The material below belongs to a friend some time ago and only came
in red. This is a dated picture. :oops: LMA can be DIY-ed simply by getting
foam pieces in red and blue and using the templates as pe sandpaper letter
cards or 2 sizes smaller and cut out 10 pieces of each consonant and 5
pieces of each vowel. Boxes or containers with dividers to separate the
letters are easily available at Daiso and also IKEA stores.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxEmYoS
\"I have here the Large Moveable Alphabets. They contain all the 26 letter
sounds in the alphabets and now we're going to play a matching game...\"
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsVzpoA
\"Can you find for me the letter that makes the sound /c/ and place it
under its corresponding letter card?\"
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxEnrkA
Resume the activity with all other letter sounds. This activity helps one to
recognize the progress the child has made to link that a certain letter and
its corresponding shape is represented by its own sound. The child would
have opportunity to have hands on learning with you via different letter
sound games and activities, hence providing a stress-free environment
for learning.
Try it out and enjoy the process! -
Hi Buds,
1. May i know how to help a 4yo to understand the differences on some words that sound the same.
Eg: Bat Bet
Pan Pen
2. When i teach him words ended G eg: BIG, BAG. I taught him B- IG, B-AG with ending sound of G. He said Bag with clear G sound. How do i correct it? If he says it quick, i don’t hear ‘G’ sound.
3. May i know where i can get DVD or CD to pratise on 4 letters eg: brat, this and long vowels? Every program has a bit difference in sounding out certain letters. I have Leapfrog and word machine as brief introduction of phonics. Not comprehensive enough. Therefore looking one that can help me to blend.
4. Buds, my child has finished short vowel a & i. I revised short vowel a with him after he has completed short vowel i. He seems confused,read am as im. When pointed on words for short vowel a, he could recognised 70% of them. He needs a lot of pratise. We pratise 4-5 times a week. How do i make it easy for him?
Appreciate your guidance.
Thank you. -
Charmaine_chong:
Hi Buds,
Heyya Charmaine!
Charmaine_chong:
The foundation skills have to be right, Charmaine. From the point1. May i know how to help a 4yo to understand the differences on some words that sound the same.
Eg: Bat Bet
Pan Pen
that the child begins his first introduction to Single Letter Sounds
they have been taught to know the difference. This is why i never
fail to emphasize that children must know all single letter sounds
before proceeding to 3 letters onwards. It's the same as not
insisting a crawling baby to walk.
Knowing how to say or pronounce the sounds is only one thing,
the need to know the corresponding letter each sound represents
and how it is written is of equal importance which are often overlooked
in the race of simply getting a child to know how to read... and fast too.
Concrete foundation is the key to ensuring the children will not have to
go back to basics to re-learn the skills. Foundation make take longer time
to produce results but the results are everlasting.
For me (personally), firstly /e/ sounds and /a/ sounds are not to be taught
together. 3 letter words (word families) consisting vowel sounds /e/ and
/a/ are also not taught together to avoid confusion.
Next, for me (personally), the sound /a/ i get my children to pronounce
open-mouthed and also drag the sound a little longer. Mebbe 3 seconds.
The /e/ sound would be brief and abrupt sounding. 1 second.
So, in the case of the word bat... can stretch a lil' longer and open
mouthed. As for the word bet... say it in one quick breath. Likewise
for pan and pen and other words in relevance.Charmaine_chong:
But there is a /g/ sound in bag, dear... tho not an obvious and strong g-uh2. When i teach him words ended G eg: BIG, BAG. I taught him B- IG, B-AG with ending sound of G. He said Bag with clear G sound. How do i correct it? If he says it quick, i don't hear 'G' sound.
kinda sound but there is a /g/ sound when you say out the word bag.
This is where many teachers have overlooked, even Montessorian ones.
Blending of words should not begin prior to word-building. Word building
is frankly the key to reading all phonetic words. Children who have done
word building do not need to have letters grouped together to be able to
read efficiently especially if they have been exposed to reading a lot.
Word building is the pre-reading stage where children are guided to listen
to sounds in words. In my classes, we have word building games to help
children use their listening skills and put them to good use. For example,
Teacher : What's this i have here?
Children : A bag!
Teacher : Now... what sounds can you hear in the word b....a.....g.... (drag the sounds)
From the many years i've done this, children always give the first and
last consonant letter before the middle vowel sound.
Children : We can hear the sound /b/.
Teacher : Good. Now what other sounds are there in the word b....a....g....
Children : We can hear the sound /g/.
Teacher : Good. Now we only have the sounds /b/ and /g/... and that is
not enough to form a proper word. I think we need a vowel. Now what
vowel can you hear in the word.... b.....aaaaa....g.... (this time drag the
/a/ sound) to make it seem more obvious. :lol:
Children : /a/!!!
Teacher : Good. Now, let's sort the sounds out. What is the first sound in
the word bag?
Children : (saying to themselves) b... a... g. /b/ should be the first sound
in the word bag.
Teacher : Good, what do you think comes next?
Children : (repeating the word to themselves again) b... aaaa... g.
(From the teacher's obvious sounding hint, the children will repeat the
same sounds to themselves, hence providing indirect reinforcement for
the children to grasp it all on their own. It's fine if you sound like a broken
record, just make it a happy though broken one)
If the children are stuck here, you may guide the process by offering...
\"I think it's a vowel sound next... what do you think...?\"
Most times, children with an already concrete foundation in single letter
sounds will get it almost automatically.
Cos through the lessons during
foundation, children have been reinforced with the sounds regularly. Many
fun repetitive activities would have been carried out as well to ensure that
while having fun the children retain the essence of the lesson objective,
the sounds.
Children : /a/....?
Teacher : Yes, an /a/... now what would the last letter be then?
Children : (repeating the sounds to themselves one last time) b... a... g.
Children : /g/ is the last sound!
Teacher : Well done everyone, now let's build this word and see if we
get the word bag. Slowly now... /b/.... /a/... (buh.... aaaaaa.....) then...
put those two together.... it wud make /ba/ = baaaahh.... and lastly fit
in the /g/ in a brief sounding second. Hence making it sound /ba/.... /g/.
Bag. Let's try that again.. (repeat)
Note : This word building process goes through 3 steps.
1. Say first letter sound. (/b/)
2. Say second letter sound. (/a/)
3. Combine sounds (/b/ and /a/) and roll in the /g/ sound at the end.
Lastly, read the word as a whole. Don't break it up.
So, just say... bag to sum up that built up word.
Gosh. Do hope this helps give an idea, Charmaine.
I'm trying my best to provide the sounds and techniques
just typing words out here.. not an easy task when you can't
hear me sounding them out. :lol: Sweating now..
Most teachers just like to go right into the 3-letter stage.
So children miss out on word building opportunities which
is really really really helpful moving on from the single letter
sounds stage. The reason why some children may get stuck
at 3-letters can be due to that reason. Other kids who grasp
the concept of blending word families faster do eventually get
it anyhow. Word family blending is simply giving them the combi
(conbination) of sounds for example : /an/... and then get children
to read words that comes under that family like...
ban can fan man pan ran tan van
Though that method works, i just prefer to better layer my children's
foundation skills with word building. I prefer to make it concrete.
Charmaine_chong:
Where else but my favourite kampong bookstore? Popular lah. :lol:3. May i know where i can get DVD or CD to pratise on 4 letters eg: brat, this and long vowels? Every program has a bit difference in sounding out certain letters. I have Leapfrog and word machine as brief introduction of phonics. Not comprehensive enough. Therefore looking one that can help me to blend.
There are many hidden gems in Popular if one would only care to look.
No need to dig also sometimes.
You can try My Preschool World series of Phonics Books.
You have my word of thumbs up on that series.
Here's how it looks like.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TscpuhJ
And it comes with a VCD to complement the activities
or lessons in the books. Comes in separate packs &
also whole packs.
For your son... you may consider getting the ones indicated
below. Select the pack with the accompanied VCD since you
need it... cos there are separates and also packs that do not
come with it.
- Phonics Readers 1 and 2
- Phonics Activity Books 1 and 2
- Phonics Enrichment Book A with stickersCharmaine_chong:
He shouldn't be confused. /a/ and /i/ are two very different vowel sounds4. Buds, my child has finished short vowel a & i. I revised short vowel a with him after he has completed short vowel i. He seems confused,read am as im.
and they look stark different in print too. Did he know ALL his single letter
sounds before he embarked on the 3-letters stage?Charmaine_chong:
Phonics should not be about recognizing. It should be putting soundsWhen pointed on words for short vowel a, he could recognised 70% of them.
together to form words... and eventually reading by print. Never
recognizing like learning sight words.Charmaine_chong:
4 to 5 times a week is a bit much and may put unnecessary pressure onHe needs a lot of pratise. We pratise 4-5 times a week. How do i make it easy for him?
him to learn how to read, if you dun mind me saying. There is no quick
easy way that i can offer you with right now, cos i honestly need to
assess your son to gauge where his weakness reali lies...
For now i guess, make it less. Read to him more. To entice..
And already you're making it fun. That you definitely got it, girl.
There are many other skills he can undertake other than reading
that he can pick up too for his age. It's a fantastic time to learn a
lotta stuff at 4yrs of age. If you do really wanna go into fun stuff
directed at learning to read, then try puzzles. Word puzzles. I'll
see if i can get you the link to my puzzle material.Charmaine_chong:
We learn together okie?Appreciate your guidance.

Charmaine_chong:
You are always welcome.Thank you.
I found it Charmaine.
Here's the link. Hope it helps.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1927&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=10.
It costs less than SGD$ 10.00. Can buy at Popular or Kiddy Palace.
Carrefour has the Creatives series too. Near the entrance, just aft
the piano and keyboard areas. It also comes with a small activity
book to complement what the child has worked with. (puzzles) -
Hi BUDS,
Is a blessing to have YOU in the forum. Thank you.
My Preschool World series of Phonics Books
I saw this long ago but i didn't know it is good till you let me know. I bought it yesterday and played for my child. The pronounciation is so clear and the sounds make sense.
When i first learnt it from Starfall website and Leapfrog DVD, i was confused with certain sounds eg: a, o, u. These sound the same to me and i couldn't relate the sound to the words.
Eg: in Leapfrog DVD
1.letter a sounds as /ah/ not /ae/, I don't see the connection for words like apple, aeroplane...
2.Letter o sounds as /ah/ not o as in octopus. I was totally lost and wondering how to blend.
I discovered that lettersounds differs for each phonics programme when i sent my child to Montessori. Prior than that, i thought all letters shared the same sound for all phonics programme.
[quote]The foundation skills have to be right[/quote]Buds, i knew the importance now. The teacher advised that it would be great if my child can finished up pink book 1 fast enough. He did pink book 1 and pink book 2 (short vowel a e i o u) together. I ever feedback that my child seem couldn't figure out the first, middle and last sound. She advised that usually children stuck at pink book 2 and some may take a long time. The supervisor said that i am too eager to see result. ASked me not to expect immediate result, he may show only later or in primary school. Honestly, i wasn't pleased with the answer.
Every step my child goes through, i feedback immediately to the teacher, but seems like they have overlooked the importance of laying foundation right. I see that they pay more attention on speed rather than my child's learning appetite. Everything fast, fast,fast.
Firt, middle and last sound
I understand your message perfectly as i learnt the sound personally from the MMI teacher. Failing which, i am sure i would have difficulty digesting your message.
4-5 times is a lot, Buds? I would take your advise. Reading to him lots of great books. He enjoys it a lot. We didn't read much recently as i spent most of my time helping him on phonics and reciting chinese classic. Need to tune it back.
Short vowel i and a
Buds, he knows his lettersound. I told him to follow Montessori lettersounds instead of Leapfrog.
When i get him to read graded reader, he would read out from memory the page he read yesterday. I got to correct him. For phonics the same.
Not to recognise the words but more on the ability to blend. I need little time to brush him up on this area.
Will read your threads for more ideas and to pick up some hidden skills.
Cheers -
Charmaine_chong:
Geesh... :oops:Hi BUDS,
I just hoped i helped.
Niwae, i told you before that i am HERE for you and i WILL be here for you.Charmaine_chong:
Fantastic! :celebrate:My Preschool World series of Phonics Books
I saw this long ago but i didn't know it is good till you let me know. I bought it yesterday and played for my child. The pronounciation is so clear and the sounds make sense.
I'm happy you like it. I like it too. Hehee..
Charmaine_chong:
Good observation. It is indeed different all across the board/globe.I discovered that lettersounds differs for each phonics programme when i sent my child to Montessori. Prior than that, i thought all letters shared the same sound for all phonics programme.
We just fine-tune it to suit our level..
[quote]The foundation skills have to be right[/quote]Charmaine_chong:
I know watcha mean.. :hugs:Buds, i knew the importance now. The teacher advised that it would be great if my child can finished up pink book 1 fast enough. He did pink book 1 and pink book 2 (short vowel a e i o u) together. I ever feedback that my child seem couldn't figure out the first, middle and last sound. She advised that usually children stuck at pink book 2 and some may take a long time. The supervisor said that i am too eager to see result. ASked me not to expect immediate result, he may show only later or in primary school. Honestly, i wasn't pleased with the answer.
Charmaine_chong:
YES Charmaine! You are very right! It is really not about going fast butEvery step my child goes through, i feedback immediately to the teacher, but seems like they have overlooked the importance of laying foundation right. I see that they pay more attention on speed rather than my child's learning appetite. Everything fast, fast,fast.
really going steady.
Charmaine_chong:
Fantastic! Phew! :celebrate:First, middle and last sound
I understand your message perfectly as i learnt the sound personally from the MMI teacher. Failing which, i am sure i would have difficulty digesting your message.Charmaine_chong:
Bearing in mind this is highly subjective to the individual... i personally4-5 times is a lot, Buds? I would take your advise. Reading to him lots of great books. He enjoys it a lot. We didn't read much recently as i spent most of my time helping him on phonics and reciting chinese classic. Need to tune it back.
think it is. Especially since your son is trying his best and still can't get
it all right as yet. I only did once a week for my 2 dds last time, max
twice. The rest they wud pick up the materials on their own from my
shelves to self-enforce.
That's how i know that their learning
came from their own desire to learn. Self exploration.
Charmaine_chong:
Okie. Roget that. Different ppl will say the sounds differently too.Short vowel i and a
Buds, he knows his lettersound. I told him to follow Montessori lettersounds instead of Leapfrog.
Due to the racial diversity amongst our teachers, each would carry
their own accent / twang / slang.. As long as it doesn't sound too way
off, it generally should be quite fine.
Charmaine_chong:
Yes, you take time to digest information. Try it out on your own first thenWhen i get him to read graded reader, he would read out from memory the page he read yesterday. I got to correct him. For phonics the same.
Not to recognise the words but more on the ability to blend. I need little time to brush him up on this area.
you'd feel more confident delivering the lesson out to him.Charmaine_chong:
No hidden skills lah dear.. Where got? :lol:Will read your threads for more ideas and to pick up some hidden skills.
Cheers -
Charmaine_chong:
I just hoped i helped.
Niwae, i told you before that i am HERE for you and i WILL be here for you.Charmaine_chong:
Charmaine_chong:
Good observation. It is indeed different all across the board/globe.I discovered that lettersounds differs for each phonics programme when i sent my child to Montessori. Prior than that, i thought all letters shared the same sound for all phonics programme.
I know watcha mean.. :hugs:Buds, i knew the importance now. The teacher advised that it would be great if my child can finished up pink book 1 fast enough. He did pink book 1 and pink book 2 (short vowel a e i o u) together. I ever feedback that my child seem couldn't figure out the first, middle and last sound. She advised that usually children stuck at pink book 2 and some may take a long time. The supervisor said that i am too eager to see result. ASked me not to expect immediate result, he may show only later or in primary school. Honestly, i wasn't pleased with the answer.
Charmaine_chong:
YES Charmaine! You are very right! It is really not about going fast butEvery step my child goes through, i feedback immediately to the teacher, but seems like they have overlooked the importance of laying foundation right. I see that they pay more attention on speed rather than my child's learning appetite. Everything fast, fast,fast.
really going steady.
Charmaine_chong:
I understand your message perfectly as i learnt the sound personally from the MMI teacher. Failing which, i am sure i would have difficulty digesting your message.Charmaine_chong:
Bearing in mind this is highly subjective to the individual... i personally4-5 times is a lot, Buds? I would take your advise. Reading to him lots of great books. He enjoys it a lot. We didn't read much recently as i spent most of my time helping him on phonics and reciting chinese classic. Need to tune it back.
shelves to self-enforce.
Charmaine_chong:
Okie. Roget that. Different ppl will say the sounds differently too.Short vowel i and a
Charmaine_chong:
Yes, you take time to digest information. Try it out on your own first thenWhen i get him to read graded reader, he would read out from memory the page he read yesterday. I got to correct him. For phonics the same.
No hidden skills lah dear.. Where got? :lol:Will read your threads for more ideas and to pick up some hidden skills.
Cheers -
Charmaine_chong:
I just hoped i helped.
Charmaine_chong:
really going steady.
Charmaine_chong:
shelves to self-enforce.
Charmaine_chong:
Cheers
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.