Improving Focus And Concentration

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    69 Posts 30 Posters 23.3k Views 1 Watching

KS_me:

Can anyone advise where to get him access for ADHD? and any where to get those MAZE book? I've looking high and low in popular and some other book shop but to no avail...

Thanks a bunch for any reply that comes in.
      KS_me,
      for assessment of ADHD (for my case a preschooler), i went to polyclinic to get a referral to go to CDC for an assessment; rate is cheaper than if you go without referral (only applicable to SG citizens; not sure about PRs). see some of the ADHD discussion here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5833&start=0

there are a lot of interesting mazebooks in kinokuniya or you can search from amazon and then either buy from there or get a quote from kinokuniya to compare.
      eg
      for younger kids - http://www.amazon.com/Chocolate-Island-Usborne-Puzzle-Adventures/dp/0794502318/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267514613&sr=1-2

for older kids - http://www.amazon.com/Voyage-World-Usborne-Puzzle-Adventures/dp/0746016905/ref=sr_1_17?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267514676&sr=1-17

not sure if your kid will like usborne puzzle adventures cos personally i feel that the clues in these puzzles are not obvious.

if your kid likes numbers, maybe you can introduce sudoku.

my friend got this from kinokuniya for ds1
      http://www.amazon.com/Everything-Kids-Mazes-Book-Through/dp/1580625584/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267514837&sr=1-3

for repeated 'plays' of such maze books, use a token to go through the maze instead of scribbling on the book.

hope you can sure more about your boy's improvement next time cos ds2 also have complains of not being able to sit down in class (he is in N2).

Blobbi

tutormum:
        2ppaamm:

Hey guys, also have a p1 boy leh. Good to be blur blur now lah... so many more years to go.

P1 is great! no homework, don't know why teacher so fierce (but quite scared), don't know why must bring this book, but must bring. Must walk here because teacher say so. Very cute leh. I enjoy watching him grow up.

Let the child grow up. He has many years to unblur himself/herself. By P6 they will be fully awake. I know cos I have been there 3 times already. 😉

I agree. Look at the children during the school assembly. P1 are the ones who are very well behaved. Ask them to raise their hands, clap etc and they'll do it obediently and enthusiastically while those in the upper primary look bored and can't be bothered. :lol:

You guys have a good point. I was at my son's school today - so sweet and innocent, the P1, P2 kids! Yalah. We just watch and love them so very much for as long as we can. :love:

Kiasee888

You could consider getting him involved in sports to give him an outlet to channel his extra energy. Music is also good for kids. It helps with focus, concentration and i.q. Maybe you should read moe about N.L.P. Just google it. That might help you better understand his learning style etc. I first came about neuro linguistic programming from Anthony Robbin's book.

Ther are some links on this site that talk about N.L.P. http://www.tuition1on1.com/apps/links/
          But I suggest doing the sports thing first and also getting him to learn music. Personally, I find recorders boring. You should try the flute instead. It produces a more soothing sound its cheap and your son will probably find it fun since you can carry it any where.
          If you are still interested with NLP just pm me. I hav more info.

Kiasee888

KS_me,

:?
            I think you should take this as a positive thing about your child. Because it is not always about obedience. as I mentioned earlier it could be that your child has alot of energy. Who knows maybe he is destined to be a distinguished sports man or maybe evn a celebrated musician. Its all about being +ve and channeling energy +vely.

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

Don’t know about NLP but I certainly subscribe to CCA. Try what the school has first. That’s what I did for my children. For sports, they all ended as State representatives through this route anyway.

My stand is always to avoid tons of money trying different things. School gives the best support I feel, and the people they use are vetted. If the child goes beyond, they will find a ‘higher’ path.

Music? Find a good teacher lor. How? Through word-of-mouth. People who have used the music teacher PERSONALLY. Don’t hearsay, hearsay. 90% wrong. Using agents… I don’t believe in that leh. As long as money is involved, views tend to be biased.

JMHO lah.

KS_me

KS_me,

for assessment of ADHD (for my case a preschooler), i went to polyclinic to get a referral to go to CDC for an assessment; rate is cheaper than if you go without referral (only applicable to SG citizens; not sure about PRs). see some of the ADHD discussion here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5833&start=0

there are a lot of interesting mazebooks in kinokuniya or you can search from amazon and then either buy from there or get a quote from kinokuniya to compare.
                eg
                for younger kids - http://www.amazon.com/Chocolate-Island-Usborne-Puzzle-Adventures/dp/0794502318/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267514613&sr=1-2

for older kids - http://www.amazon.com/Voyage-World-Usborne-Puzzle-Adventures/dp/0746016905/ref=sr_1_17?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267514676&sr=1-17

not sure if your kid will like usborne puzzle adventures cos personally i feel that the clues in these puzzles are not obvious.

if your kid likes numbers, maybe you can introduce sudoku.

my friend got this from kinokuniya for ds1
                http://www.amazon.com/Everything-Kids-Mazes-Book-Through/dp/1580625584/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267514837&sr=1-3

for repeated 'plays' of such maze books, use a token to go through the maze instead of scribbling on the book.

hope you can sure more about your boy's improvement next time cos ds2 also have complains of not being able to sit down in class (he is in N2).
                Thank you very much jedamum for the great info.

go to CDC for an assessment? Isn't CDC is a disease centre?? 😐

Im visiting every website that you've suggested. Very informative!

:udawoman:

KS_me

Kiasee888:
                  KS_me,

:?
                  I think you should take this as a positive thing about your child. Because it is not always about obedience. as I mentioned earlier it could be that your child has alot of energy. Who knows maybe he is destined to be a distinguished sports man or maybe evn a celebrated musician. Its all about being +ve and channeling energy +vely.
                  Hi Kiasee888,
                  Thanks for the +ve encouragement!

I do agree that he has plenty of energy. At first, I wanted him to join the school band as CCA thinking that it may help to cool him down but on 2nd thought due to the practise schedules of school band, he would not be able to finish his daily homework. Thus, decided to enrol him for swimming. Hopefully to help him channel some of his extra energy over to sports.

KS_me:

go to CDC for an assessment? Isn't CDC is a disease centre?? 😐
                    sorry for the wrong acronym. :oops:
                    it is Child Development Unit, not Child Development Clinic. :oops:
                    here it is...http://www.nuh.com.sg/ourServices/specialistClinicsCentres/ourServices_scc_soc_childDevelopmentUnit.htm

glad you find the amazon links useful. 🙂

i actually found this in Popular Bookstore; maybe you can check out a few outlets.
                    http://www.amazon.com/Puzzle-Adventure-Omnibus-Usborne-Adventures/dp/0746087330/ref=pd_sim_b_2

tree nymph

lovekidsverymuch:
                      I am really scared when i read the posts here just 🙏 🙏 🙏

LKVM,
                      you very cute leh...

:laugh: :rotflmao:

I too have a P1 boy this year and he has lost like 6 water bottles, 4 coin pouch (one of it is brand new and lost it on the FIRST day of using it), a lunch box and a set of uniform...

He has forgotten to learn a few weeks of spelling and the chinese HYPY spelling too, not to mention his very bad handwritting and such.

He told me that he has forgotten to eat during recess cos he is busy kicking the ball with the P2 boys. And if I don't give him money for recess, he is ok with it too, then he will have MORE time to play. There was one day I gave him $1.60 for lunch and recess - the pricing in the canteen is 70 cents or $1. He took $1 curry rice for lunch, but left only 60 cents for recess. so he told me since he doesn't have enough for a pancake, he went to the book shop and bought a toy for 50 cents and he still have left over 10 cents! and the toy spoil before he got home.

chinese reading - my nursery gal has to teach him... :!: :!: (that is after i read one time to both of them, and ask him to read it himself. he couldn't read and my gal got impatient waiting for him to read it and she read it for him :!: :!: )

He too is a hyper active boy with attention problem. daydreams all the time during class - since kindergarten days and some of the classes I sent him to. feedback from the teachers are all the same!

• Y Offline
                        young-mom

my son loses his things all the time too. sigh. i think if i add up all i have bought over last three years, i can open a stationary shop. i ensure he is equip the night before (2 pencils, 1 green pen, 1 eraser, 1 box leads, 1 ruler) and the next night after school, some of the items will be missing or replaced with someone else’s. when questioned, he would reply ‘don’t know’. punishing him doesn’t improve the situation to make him more responsible for his belongings. i give up on buying water bottles for the same reason so he just uses a mineral water bottle. ditto for coin pouch so he just puts the coins into his pocket. forgetting to learn spelling, homework, bad handwriting is usual for my son too. and yes, he loves to visit the school bookshop to buy useless items and recess is his favourite period so he can play catching with his friends. if only he is so enthusiastic about his other periods and work. sigh. yup, same situation of a active boy with attention problems, daydreaming. i need help… advise to make him responsible to at least finish his school and tuition work quickly. he really takes his own sweet time to think and write. if he stays focus , the worksheet can be completed within 45 mins. but he will take 3 hours. 2 hours if i remind him to do his worksheet every 30 mins. 1.5 hours if i sit down beside him and look at him do.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 7

iworkI
                        iwork
                        randomblackoreR
                        randomblackore
                        WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards