How to tell if a child is gifted?
EN:
Blur about your surrounding but precise about academic work = sign of academic giftedness. Experts tell me one, ok?
Where got smart. Very blur like sotong you know. ..
Blobbi, you do leave some crumbs all over the place. Easy to spot you know. Or is it just me very intuitive?
Blobbi did? I didn't see leh... but let's go celebrate!!! -
2ppaamm:
Sleepy... if you read earlier posts, you will see that Blobbi's DS did not have a FSIQ because of the differential between each section, right? Or is the WISC score something else? :?
Without a meaningful FSI, report will still indicate VCI, PRI, WMI, PSI subtest scores -
2ppaamm:
Actually I agree with you totally. No matter what is available in the market, ultimately you do what is best for your child and your child also thinks doable.
If we think about it, it makes sense, doesn't it? If the GEP is already catering to top 1%, why should they allow the top 1 to 0.5% to skip grade. Top 1% is already GEP. MOE's stance is to do enrichment rather than acceleration. It makes sense that only the top 0.001% skip grade.
BTW, GEP kids already receive lots of privileges - 25 a class, no school fees (only sub fees) in sec school, etc.
I can see that philosophy lah. They have their reasons, and it can be wrong or right.
Now if you are not happy, like what Happy said, self-intervene lah. Even if your kid is EG or GEP or mainstream, it does make sense to self-intervene. Have an interesting learning program for your kid. Only mummy or daddy knows the child the best.
I've always believed that there are far more gifted kids than those who got into GEP, so there is bound to be inert talent that your child has and nobody else can see. It is your/our job to find that and nurture it, and let it blossom.
I also believe we are gravely mistaken if we just leave a child to the EG branch because they are giving them something. Their methodology may not be want you want for the kid. Do you want a broader approach for example? But their support is invaluable.
Just my view again hor... -
sleepy:
Psst, sleepy, do you know how to calculate the FSIQ, I don't know how to do that leh, can share?2ppaamm:
Sleepy... if you read earlier posts, you will see that Blobbi's DS did not have a FSIQ because of the differential between each section, right? Or is the WISC score something else? :?
Without a meaningful FSI, report will still indicate VCI, PRI, WMI, PSI subtest scores -
Actually I agree with you totally. No matter what is available in the market, ultimately you do what is best for your child and your child also thinks doable.
Including buying a karaoke system and sing hor? Best way to teach Chinese through Chinese songs!
2ppaamm:
Wah you so clever...decoded my intent... :celebrate: But honestly the best part is you see how crazy we become when we are singing....really SIAO!!!!! :rotflmao:ks2me:
Including buying a karaoke system and sing hor? Best way to teach Chinese through Chinese songs!
Wah you so clever...decoded my intent... :celebrate: But honestly the best part is you see how crazy we become when we are singing....really SIAO!!!!! :rotflmao:[/quote]O! Because that's what I intend to do ma... great minds think alike... :celebrate:2ppaamm:
[quote=\"ks2me\"]Actually I agree with you totally. No matter what is available in the market, ultimately you do what is best for your child and your child also thinks doable.
Screaming kids! :siam: talk later!
2ppaamm:
O! Because that's what I intend to do ma... great minds think alike... :celebrate:[/quote]Then don't wait too long...addictive plus we lug it everywhere we do, even those extended family dinners
Wah you so clever...decoded my intent... :celebrate: But honestly the best part is you see how crazy we become when we are singing....really SIAO!!!!! :rotflmao:ks2me:
[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]
With your big family..lagi fun!!! :celebrate: Cheers to our great minds!!
[quote]Blur about your surrounding but precise about academic work = sign of academic giftedness. Experts tell me one, ok?
Blobbi did? I didn't see leh... but let's go celebrate!!![/quote]I really not precise about work too le. But I can say that I am by now very very complacent. Very bo chap, very not interested, very sianz...
Cannot celebrate. Dd still weak after last Friday episode. 2nd time to watch her suffering in hospital. Practically have to assure doctor to allow her to go home yesterday at 5 pm. Tomorrow must go through the long Q&A. Sigh...
Haha. About blobbi, she definitely know what I am talking about. We cross path in certain thread. I simply put two into two together.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.