How to tell if a child is gifted?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    876 Posts 237 Posters 572.4k Views 2 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

Blobbi:
      EN:

[quote]
      Haha. About blobbi, she definitely know what I am talking about. We cross path in certain thread. I simply put two into two together.

En, not sure what you mean. You mean can tell meh? I very discreet, I thot. But he kena label till headspin. His current school teacher says I should check out his ears, which I haven't done cos CAPD can only be checked at 7yo. Xian. Btw, every diagnosis means :moneyflies: πŸ˜› . Plus where got time to go for therapy? Already doing eyes, now handwriting ... Got 24hrs per day only wor. Actually, I'm not gonna bother with this bit till there is conclusive evidence of problems.

[/quote]Blobbi, use the MOE EP. Free of charge. πŸ˜„ They'll definitely give you the service, but must wait wan hor.

Blobbi

2ppaamm:

Blobbi, use the MOE EP. Free of charge. πŸ˜„ They'll definitely give you the service, but must wait wan hor.
        CAPD needs some hearing instrument at KK or NUH. Sian. No problems leh. Just don't hear a lot of noise lor.

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

Blobbi:
          2ppaamm:

Blobbi, use the MOE EP. Free of charge. πŸ˜„ They'll definitely give you the service, but must wait wan hor.

CAPD needs some hearing instrument at KK or NUH. Sian. No problems leh. Just don't hear a lot of noise lor.

You need an OT? Can recommend you one.

sleepy

Blobbi:

I very discreet, I thot. But he kena label till headspin.
            For EG, his education plan is different from the rest so I guess classmates and teachers can't help noticing.

How does he feel about the labeling? positive or negative ones?

Teachers assigned to teach EG... should train these teachers to be discreet & not make an EG child uncomfortable

Blobbi

2ppaamm:
              sleepy:

IF I recall correctly, a delta of 19 & above between any of the categories is considered wide variance and would rendered FSI uninterpretable.

Don't ask me why 19 though :lol:

Your ds 4 categories IQ score, how wide is the variance?

Don't know leh, I misplaced that report already... But if the highest is 19, then how can the variance be 19? Highest was 19 and the visual thingy he was slightly above average, don't know the score already :?

Yup. Highest is 19. But I remember the difference must be greater than 3 standard deviations in order to invoke the GAI.

The individual categories, never even looked cos so tired liao after that. Me I mean. Not my son. :lol:

Sleepy, did you get the PM?

Blobbi

2ppaamm:
                You need an OT? Can recommend you one.

I already have. Yours any good? I need good handwriting OT now. Got?

Blobbi

sleepy:

How does he feel about the labeling? positive or negative ones?

Teachers assigned to teach EG... should train these teachers to be discreet & not make an EG child uncomfortable
                  He doesn't know of any labeling !! But he knows he needs more. Keep asking me to cho cho his teacher for \"different work\". Actually, his tests with MOE are just concluded cos he refused to do some last year :lol:, so the differentiation hasn't started. They told me he needed to go to school to learn \"how to follow instructions\". :lol:

About the teachers ... I need to be PC when I say :P.

sleepy

Blobbi:
                    Yup. Highest is 19. But I remember the difference must be greater than 3 standard deviations in order to invoke the GAI.

The individual categories, never even looked cos so tired liao after that. Me I mean. Not my son. :lol:

Sleepy, did you get the PM?

Yes, received your PM πŸ˜„

Variance referring to individual catergory IQ score. Say for example VSI 140, PRI 120, then delta > 19, cannot calculate FSI.

You are right 19 is the highest for scaled score. But this is not the same as individual category score. Confusing hor :lol:

Never mind lah, what's important is we are happy with our kids πŸ˜‰

IQ report is for MOE only πŸ˜›

• 2 Offline
                      2ppaamm

Blobbi:
                      I already have. Yours any good? I need good handwriting OT now. Got?

Nope, only got OT for ears or hearing.

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

sleepy:

Variance referring to individual catergory IQ score. Say for example VSI 140, PRI 120, then delta > 19, cannot calculate FSI.

You are right 19 is the highest for scaled score. But this is not the same as individual category score. Confusing hor :lol:

Never mind lah, what's important is we are happy with our kids πŸ˜‰

IQ report is for MOE only πŸ˜›

I went to the attic to dig out DS's IQ report in the dust. You are right, the FSIQ was not stated, and yes the differential was more than 19. But I clearly remember there was a one-sheet thingy that the psychologist gave, prior to the full report, and that one had a FSIQ in it. I lost that one already.

Thanks for enlightening.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 88