Q&A - PSLE English

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    2.8k Posts 488 Posters 892.7k Views 2 Watching
      Teacher Aaron

atutor2001:
      Aiyo, really confusing. Positive negative, negative positive, positive positive and lastly negative negative. Though my ang mo no very good, I still can limenber the first 3 combinations all may be ok. Only negative negative mostly cannot one. So both combinations below all can one. The 1st one is to show surprise while lumber 2 is to seek confirmation.

Jane dislikes chocolate does she.
      Jane dislike chocolate doesn't she.

So limenber, different combination of polarity for different purpose. That is grammar. Not must die die use positive negative or negative positive. That is call study dead book.
      I didden want to go there because bery confusing ah.. Otherwise will be complained about for unnecessary confusion.. Study dead book is no good but some people think is good

atutor2001

marstolive:
        Hi atutor ,

I wanna say your science contribution is fantastic! How do u do that since your kids are no longer in primary sch?
        First, my apology to everyone for posting something not related to this thread. But I try to make it related lah.

I have 3 kids with each one spending 6 yrs in pr sch. Effectively, if no overlap, I had gone through 18 years of pr school. Each time I encountered answers that I don't understand, I would read up for the reasoning and explanations. For English, I even have a thick note books on all the \"exceptions\". Unfortunately, I couldn't find it or I will be able to share more here as many of the questions raised here are found in that note book. For science, I had spent lots of time understanding why certain words are a must to be included in the answer or it would be considered wrong. So over time, it becomes second nature, having to repeat countless times to 3 kids on what to look out for in a question, understanding what the question actually ask for and finally remembering to apply science concept to answer the question. It is a drill that I had gone through with my kids and having done it so many times, it becomes a natural response when we see a science question. Not a fun process but definitely a very fulfilling one.

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

Teacher Aaron:
          atutor2001:

Aiyo, really confusing. Positive negative, negative positive, positive positive and lastly negative negative. Though my ang mo no very good, I still can limenber the first 3 combinations all may be ok. Only negative negative mostly cannot one. So both combinations below all can one. The 1st one is to show surprise while lumber 2 is to seek confirmation.

So limenber, different combination of polarity for different purpose. That is grammar. Not must die die use positive negative or negative positive. That is call study dead book.

I didden want to go there because bery confusing ah.. Otherwise will be complained about for unnecessary confusion.. Study dead book is no good but some people think is good

Jane dislikes chocolate, does she. - sounds kinda awkward.

(I know) Jane dislike chocolate, doesn't she. Basically the writer is seeking affirmation....in Singlish form, doesn't she = no meh.... πŸ˜‰

vsk

Hi, please help with this compre cloze from Catholic high prelims paper 2014.

Apparently, some people are more enticing to mosquitoes and scientiss have found that genetics account for 85% of our susceptibility to mosquito bites. This group of people emit β€˜come and get me’ smells which _____________ to the mosquitoes. Those less likely to be bitten produce odours which make these scents. Scientists said that it might be useful to make insect repellents that contain these natural masking odours to keep the mosquitoes at bay. They would likely to be completely ___________ to humans unlike insect repellents which may have a strong smell that put us off.

Apologies. I could not paste the picture as it has been badly scribbled. I need your help to provide the words for the two blanks in the para above.

TIA

atutor2001

Jane dislikes chocolate, does she. - sounds kinda awkward.

(I know) Jane dislike chocolate, doesn't she. Basically the writer is seeking affirmation....in Singlish form, doesn't she = no meh.... πŸ˜‰
              Not awkward. Jane dislike chocolate, does she? .... In Singlish form, does she? = yes ah? Really ah? So surprising hor?

atutor2001

vsk:

Apparently, some people are more enticing to mosquitoes and scientiss have found that genetics account for 85% of our susceptibility to mosquito bites. This group of people emit 'come and get me' smells which _____________ to the mosquitoes. Those less likely to be bitten produce odours which make these scents. Scientists said that it might be useful to make insect repellents that contain these natural masking odours to keep the mosquitoes at bay. They would likely to be completely ___________ to humans unlike insect repellents which may have a strong smell that put us off.

Apologies. I could not paste the picture as it has been badly scribbled. I need your help to provide the words for the two blanks in the para above.

TIA
                Just try only,
                Appeal
                Oblivious

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

atutor2001:
                  vsk:

Apparently, some people are more enticing to mosquitoes and scientiss have found that genetics account for 85% of our susceptibility to mosquito bites. This group of people emit 'come and get me' smells which _____________ to the mosquitoes. Those less likely to be bitten produce odours which make these scents. Scientists said that it might be useful to make insect repellents that contain these natural masking odours to keep the mosquitoes at bay. They would likely to be completely ___________ to humans unlike insect repellents which may have a strong smell that put us off.

TIA

Just try only,
                  Appeal
                  Oblivious

I think 'appeal' is fine, but 'oblivious' is usually used to describe a person, not a something like a smell. I would suggest 'unnoticeable' or 'undetectable' for that blank.

atutor2001

slmkhoo:
                    atutor2001:

[quote=\"vsk\"]Hi, please help with this compre cloze from Catholic high prelims paper 2014.

TIA

Just try only,
                    Appeal
                    Oblivious

I think 'appeal' is fine, but 'oblivious' is usually used to describe a person, not a something like a smell. I would suggest 'unnoticeable' or 'undetectable' for that blank.[/quote]Thank you for your correction. I fully agree.

Jamesbond

http://i60.tinypic.com/ygmc6.jpg\">

Learning Partners

atutor2001:

Hi atutor,

I agree with you on two points:

1. That different polarities are possible (in fact, if you dig hard enough, even the last one - negative-negative - is used in certain parts of the world), but apart from the standard negative-positive, positive-negative cases, the positive-positive and negative-negative cases are considered special cases, mostly used as colloquialisms.

So like in Singapore, we won't say, 'Jane dislikes chocolates, does she?' to express surprise, or even 'Jane dislikes chocolates, yes meh?'.

We simply say, 'Jane dislikes chocolates meh?' But you can be assured this won't be tested in the PSLE

The PSLE syllabus covers the standard cases and not the special cases. In a school test or examination, the parent could still go to the teacher or HOD and argue for the mark, although his success in getting the lost mark is not guaranteed.

In the PSLE, there is no redress; even if you request to view the script and argue about the special cases, it's highly unlikely that MOE will agree to re-mark all the scripts.

2. 'Study dead book' as you say is indeed a problem with our academic system.

But please understand the dilemma of the teacher or even parent: teach too much and you may confuse the kid more than ever, teach too little, and you're accused of rote-learning without understanding.

A fine balance has to be struck, although the right balance may seldom be achieved.

Cheers.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 218 / 282