HDB Flats --- Are they becoming less affordable?
This kind of strategy scary or not? Can be suicidal leh. I have friends who never saw the light of day after selling 'high' because it keeps getting higher. Even if there is an initial drop, it is hard to catch during the dip.should we sell & rent now ?
later when price drop, we buy back !! -
get the seahorse brand. Mine is cheap and good with changeable covers. costs about $400. I bought the storage bed too. cost about $500. The delivery man told me that it was so popular that he had to deliver at least 1 every day.dunno where to post this, so i just tag along here.
any recommendations of where to get a good/durable sofa set that is not too ex? i heard that Ikea ones are not so lasting....
also, any 'brands' to recommend? so far, i only heard of cellini...
I also heard from many friends that this brand is now highly recommended.
2ppaamm:
Ya, unless the price has peaked (who knows when) or else you have to factor in the rental cost. Let's say you rented a 3 roomer for $1400 a month for the next 2 years that will be 1400 x 24 = 33,600 of rental down the drain. So, if the flat you were eyeing was going for $600k has gone up to $700k, you are paying $100k plus $33,600 more. :stupid: :stupid: Of course, if the price dips, to $500k, you save $100k but after deducting $33,600, you only gain (or rather save) $66,400. Do you think it's worth it? IMHO, selling high and buying low applies only to 2nd property cos you need 1 to stay in as you ride out the market.
This kind of strategy scary or not? Can be suicidal leh. I have friends who never saw the light of day after selling 'high' because it keeps getting higher. Even if there is an initial drop, it is hard to catch during the dip.VitoRelax:
should we sell & rent now ?
later when price drop, we buy back !!
well, with families relatively small these days, and also, parents and PIL owning bigger flats which came cheaper some 20 yrs back, many had chosen to take advantage of the free rental by staying with parents/PIL while they ride it out.

tutormum:
I bought the storage bed too.
my husband wants storage bed too, for space efficiency reasons, but i worry lizard may 'store' their eggs in my storage compartment. :!: -
My agents are still rushing us to sell our 5 room and their words are just changing all the time.
Sep 2009: Must sell now at 700K, prices are at their peak already.
Nov 2009: Sell at 720K, should be no problem. Should sell soon, market unstable, might drop anytime.
Jan 2010: Just sold our neighbourโs flat at 750K, should reach peak already. Wanna sell?
Mar 2010: Had a closure at 780K, you guys interested?
We are still on the โletโs wait and seeโ what he says. We are keen to sell and buy a simple 3 or 4 room to rent out, but just dunno when.
We are afraid too that if we dun purchase something in place of this 5 room, we might lose out when the prices hike again. -
A little bit off topic, dun buy storage beds.tutormum:
I bought the storage bed too.
my husband wants storage bed too, for space efficiency reasons, but i worry lizard may 'store' their eggs in my storage compartment. :!:
It's not good (in fengshui sense).
Buy solid beds and bedframes. -
so if all the buyer stop buying at the price of all the HDB seller asking.. price will drop! hahaha..
So stop buying now! hahaha
I have a friend who did just that. Sold her place when going starting to get good (that was in 2007 before prices shot through the roof), she's still renting now....should we sell & rent now ?
later when price drop, we buy back !! -
lovekidsverymuch:
That's why we are very stuck too.
But its like u sell on high then buy also on high then somemore the smaller flats have more COV toowinth:
My agents are still rushing us to sell our 5 room and their words are just changing all the time.
Sep 2009: Must sell now at 700K, prices are at their peak already.
Nov 2009: Sell at 720K, should be no problem. Should sell soon, market unstable, might drop anytime.
Jan 2010: Just sold our neighbour's flat at 750K, should reach peak already. Wanna sell?
Mar 2010: Had a closure at 780K, you guys interested?
We are still on the 'let's wait and see' what he says. We are keen to sell and buy a simple 3 or 4 room to rent out, but just dunno when.
We are afraid too that if we dun purchase something in place of this 5 room, we might lose out when the prices hike again.
We seriously dun mind just keeping house cos we do like it and we can go back to stay there when we retire and stuff. Plan B is to sell first, buy later part of the year since we do have a place to stay elsewhere.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.