[Toa Payoh] Primary Schools
kokopooh:
Where is tis Kuo Chuan Presbyterian located?
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/school/kuo-chuan-presbyterian-primary-school -
kokopooh:
Kuo Chuan's in Bishan. not within 1km from the peak oso but within 1km from my current address.Hi pinkapple,
Same as you, I'll be moving there when it's time for P1 registration, for my boy. Which Block are u staying?
Where is tis Kuo Chuan Presbyterian located? I called up St Andrew's Jr & was told they are not within 1km or 2km from the peak..:(.
eh... I can't remember my block no. leh! haha. I only remember the unit no. #58
depends on which end of the Peak you're staying, the nearest pri schools are Kheng Cheng School, CHIJ Toa Payoh, MaryMount Convent. These are within 1km.
o! think ya child's a boy so u're left with Kheng Cheng School.
unfortunately, the most popular school in tpy, Pei Chun, is outside the 1km but within 2km. -
Hi, Ive got a few questions on balloting of sch for my child.
1.I stay at tpy central blk 79b (within 2km) from pei chun Pri, what phase am I categorize in terms of balloting and what is the % of getting a hit in this category ?
2. How do I start doing volunteer work in the sch and how long does it take to qualify for any privileges?, does volunteering work play a big part in heightening the chance of getting a hit in the balloting?
3. My primary sch was from poi ching (tampines), do I still enjoy the phase 2A1 if my ballot for pei chun was not successful?
Do I qualify for 2A1 if I am not staying in tampines ?
Thank u for all response ! -
Hi!
Glennyuen:
If1.I stay at tpy central blk 79b (within 2km) from pei chun Pri, what phase am I categorize in terms of balloting and what is the % of getting a hit in this category ?
1. You or your husband did not study in the school previously.
2. You or your husband are not grassroot members.
Your child falls in Phase 2C.Glennyuen:
Go to the school's website, apply with the school and clock 40 hours in one year. Once you get the letter from the school, your child will qualify under Phase 2B.2. How do I start doing volunteer work in the sch and how long does it take to qualify for any privileges?, does volunteering work play a big part in heightening the chance of getting a hit in the balloting?
Glennyuen:
Your child will qualify for P2A2 in Poi Ching. However, you must apply during P2A2. Once you past this past, ie. when the registration proceeds to P2B, you are considered to have forfeited your priority in P2A2.3. My primary sch was from poi ching (tampines), do I still enjoy the phase 2A1 if my ballot for pei chun was not successful?
Do I qualify for 2A1 if I am not staying in tampines ?
By the way, you haven't reported at the Newbie thread, yet, right? Can you please report there? It's a SOP in KSP.com.
Thank you for the adviceโฆ I will register at newbie right away.
Just want to clarify, when does p2a2 start and end ?
Is there a norm period frame to register every year?
What is the chances of my kid entering the sch under this phase ?
Will pv letter from the sch have expiry date?
I intend to start my volunteering work from now till 2013, will the long serving period heighten my chance for the ballot ?
Thank u -
Hi!
Glennyuen:
P1 registration usually starts in early July and ends somewhere mid-August. Perhaps you would like to go to the MOE website to read more in details?Just want to clarify, when does p2a2 start and end ?
Is there a norm period frame to register every year?
What is the chances of my kid entering the sch under this phase ?
It will begin with P1 (those children with siblings currently studying in the school). This typically lasts 2 days.
Next comes P2A1/2. This phase lasts 2-3 days.
So, it goes to P2B, P2C, P2CS and finally P3, in that order, with each phase lasting not more than 3 days, and about one week apart.
So far, we have not witnessed any balloting for those applying in P2A, so, in a way, your child's place is guaranteed in this phase. However, as what some say, historical trends may not be a good indicator of the future.Glennyuen:
Let's take an example. If you are applying for your child's place in primary school in 2012, you must apply for PV by this year. Each school has its own cut-off date for application, so please check with the school. Once you get selected to be a PV, your PV work will start from June 2011 onwards, so that you have one year to clock 40 hours. By June 2012, you must clock 40 hours or the minimum number of hours specified by the school in order to qualify for P2B.Will pv letter from the sch have expiry date?
I intend to start my volunteering work from now till 2013, will the long serving period heighten my chance for the ballot ?
Some schools may not accept your PV application if you apply too soon. PV tenure will not boost your chance. Everyone has one year to clock the required number of hours. -
Hi THERE,
anybody can tell me if their boys are in saint andrew and whether the boarding house is good, and how much is the fee for boarding house alone.
I am a working mum so need feedback as i have a pair of twins going p 1 next year. -
Hi Glennyuen, which yr is your child born? I just registered to be a PV at Pei Chun and they replied to say that they will inform me about the interview in Nov. I will be moving to TPY in 2012 which is the yr my son is registering in P1. He is born is 2006. So if your child is born in the same yr then you should register now! My place is also within the 1km-2km range and the chances for Phrase 2B seems quite ok cos they didnt have balloting for the last 2 yrs. For Phrase 2C we can forget it cos they have balloting for ppl staying within 1km.
Will you be registering as a PV too? Hopefully we can get through the interview
lena -
If you want a balanced environment ie. academic vs values etc, I think Marymount Convent is a good choice.
Luanee:
went to PC for PV interview. was told by the teacher that the new school pricinple was considering to accept PV as many as 2 x the number of place available. this means that at least half (60)of the PV will not get a place.
Smurf, btw a lot of popular schools did not conduct balloting under phase 2B esp for the past 2 years. Reason being they dont want so many PV being resentful for not getting a place after clocking the hours. Egs are RGPS, SCGS, NYPS, HPPS, FMPS... Hence nowadays they restrict the number of PV intakes.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.