Thanks for your fast reply.
First, her attitude has never been good. She has been lazy, to say the least. For example, I just discovered not long ago, she hasn’t been cleaning my yard area. I asked her when she would clean it, she said when saw that it’s dirty. I used the shower head to flush the yard floor, and it was all dirt. She kept quiet.
There was another time I knew she kept food in her room. I told her not to do so. She said ok. After a few days, I still saw the food in the tin. I asked her if she still has any more food, she told me yes, she still got 2 packets of biscuits (I saw at least 6). Right in front of me, she took out the 2 packets of biscuits. I asked her again if that’s all, and she said yes. I asked her the reason for insisting on keeping the biscuits in the room, she said she wants to bring them out. But the thing is, she will have to walk past the kitchen anyway. Can’t she then take from the kitchen? Plus we assigned a place for her food. And we never opened that cupboard at all. In front of me, she so blatantly lied. What do you think of her attitude anyway?
I also stressed to her many times to be fair to us. Since she likes off days, we give to her. We only ask that she does her work properly. Which she is not consistent about. I have many grouses but I have put up with her. For everything I told her to do specifically, I always gave her the reason.
I just told her off yesterday, another incident, and told her to just follow instructions.
So having said that, I thought she would follow instructions today. I gave very specific instructions this morning, all because a previous maid spoilt another juicer so I was being very careful. I did tell her what to wash, and I didn’t say that of the motor part.
background info: She’s an ex-sin. -
lovekidsverymuch:
Well madinked u r giving too much liberty to ur maid useless to say u giving off every Sunday and now if u remove any liberty she will show black faces to u for sure

but if she's being so careless with my things, can't I punish her? I would think the punishment is fair.
She has since locked my girl in the storeroom, forgot to lock my car door but we never even punished or scolded her at all. -
lovekidsverymuch:
And I'm saying not that she's very good in the first place. If I don't punish her, would she continue to be so careless with my things, knowing there is going to be no consequence. Of course she's going to be unhappy, but then she would also know it's fair and accept it.madinked:
She has since locked my girl in the storeroom, forgot to lock my car door but we never even punished or scolded her at all.
thats wat i am saying u being too liberal before if u suddenly become strict she will be no longer any good
wow, you are putting up with a lot. If I were you (sorry, I can only say like that), I would
1. stress to her to follow instructions. If she’s not receptive, likely there are lots more worms you haven’t uncovered yet.
2. remind her that roaches like to go where food is - by keeping food, she’s only inviting friends of unwelcome sort. And tell her if she still keeps food, henceforth you will search her stuff every few days to remove all these and put in proper place. I don’t think she’ll like the idea of having you rummage through her stuff.
3. either remove her days off and tell her this is only given on condition of good behaviour.
If you exert ‘punishment’ (in terms of money/day off), just be aware she might exact revenge in her own way. Sorry lah, I think as employers of domestic maids, either way, we lose. -
madinked:
Locked your girl in the storeroom???? :!: :!: can develop claustrophobia leh. Tell her that this is considered unlawful (wrongful confinement) and can report police hor.
She has since locked my girl in the storeroom, forgot to lock my car door but we never even punished or scolded her at all.
Seems like this girl needs memory booster. :roll: -
1. been doing that.
1. stress to her to follow instructions. If she's not receptive, likely there are lots more worms you haven't uncovered yet.
2. remind her that roaches like to go where food is - by keeping food, she's only inviting friends of unwelcome sort. And tell her if she still keeps food, henceforth you will search her stuff every few days to remove all these and put in proper place. I don't think she'll like the idea of having you rummage through her stuff.
2. As I mentioned, I always gave reasons for things I ask her to do. She saw the ants in my kitchen and the roaches in my car and I too used that as reasons. I also told her we don't put food or eat in our roomso no double standards. But ya if I see food again. I will use your method.
Not going to take off days away for good. Maybe for three months or so.
Anyway, my old juicer was rescued from blowing so this one may be rescued too, if she is persistent in blowing it often. I actually don't want to remove her off days too. -
ha ha. She didn't do it on purpose. She didn't see my girl walked into the storeroom and she closed the door. No malice but total carelessness.
Locked your girl in the storeroom???? :!: :!: can develop claustrophobia leh. Tell her that this is considered unlawful (wrongful confinement) and can report police hor.madinked:
Seems like this girl needs memory booster. :roll: -
I wonder if all new maids are terrible or I have been really lucky with my previous one. Just to share some of the things she has done:
1. didn’t wash my girl’s cup properly (could see the milk powder stuck to the side)
2. can’t iron clothes properly- still look creased after she’s done
3. ask her to arrange the books on the shelf according to size - she only arranged half of it, the other half still has the bigger books in the middle
3. can’t rememebr instructions
4. forgot to look the gate after repeated reminder from Ils, a personal reminder from me that it’s VERY impt
5. ask her to keep an eye on the kids, she go off after awhiel when no other adult around
6. after washing the curtains, doesn’t know how to put back, misplaced a hook and insisted that it’s missing - hubby found it amongst the kids’ toys
The list is not exhaustive :x :x :x . -
My maid is also 1, 2, 3 & 4.
Do not wash things properly. Creases on clothes. But I’ve told her off already, when I happen to see them.
Always asked to close toilet door because curious baby and dogs will go sniff and play with the cleaning agents. Always forget.
Sigh. -
talk about washing cups… Once my ex-maid washed milk bottle and put it to dry. When milk time, I prepared the water and found it suprisingly foamy…our friend didn’t rinse properly…wah lau eh.
Asked her if she would drink from this and she told me "no"…she got an earful from me.
As for creased clothes, I will show her and tell her to iron again. My hubby theory is that if she repeat it enough, she’ll know to do it right next time.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.