Raffles Girls' School (Secondary) [*IP]

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    7.3k Posts 776 Posters 2.2m Views 4 Watching
      Swagger

KPFan:
      Swagger:

Hi There:)

Can anyone tell me how to contact the bus operator, cos apparently I missed the bus vendor on registration day... 🀷
      Hehe, im a new user here and....
      *im year one next yr* :?:

Which area do you stay? I have the contact for the east.

Hiya πŸ˜„ I have contacted the GO and got the operator's number πŸ™‚ So, thankieww for your help :rahrah: πŸ˜‚

Swagger

Choco05:
        nikinack123:

Thankiew Choco05! πŸ˜„

Yeah I guess it would be easier to call the General Office instead of going there by yourself because doing the latter would be sibeh tiring. :3 And I just wanted to say thank you, Choco05, because all of your answers here on Kiasuparents really helped me out a lot when I wanted to know more about RGS (or when my parents were freaking out over details that we didn't know about haha). So thank you again πŸ˜„

Oh btw to Swagger and any of the Y1s, can you access the RGS google email yet? O.o In the Orientation Package the password was blank and even Mr Jagmeet Singh's clarification on the iNet site didn't help much. 😞 Does anyone know if it's just my problem or if everyone's having it?

~ Nikinack123

Glad to be of help! πŸ™‚ feel free to keep asking anything questions you have over here or drop me a pm too πŸ™‚

Thanks for ya'all helping me πŸ˜“
        Btw why all of you suddenly so concern about the student iNet? :lightrod:
        Do we have to do anything to our iNet? Bc i thought i only have to update my particulars in my parents iNet :sad:
        So, did i miss out anything? Ehehe i was not rly paying much attention that time(about iNet XD) :siam:

Swagger

nikinack123:
          Swagger:

Hi There:)

Can anyone tell me how to contact the bus operator, cos apparently I missed the bus vendor on registration day... 🀷
          Hehe, im a new user here and....
          *im year one next yr* :?:

Ahh hello again Swagger πŸ˜‰ I've replied to your PM btw πŸ˜„

I can finally be of help. XD I went to RGS today and happened to pass by the Bus Operator Board (the BOB haha) and I remembered that you asked about the Bus Operator thing. Thought some parents might be interested too, so if you haven't called the Gen. Office yet, here's what I know! πŸ˜„

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in Tampines...

Contact Number: 9637 9125
          Name of Operator: Mr Ong

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in Yishun, Seletar, Lentor, Thomson, Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Serangoon North Avenue 1-5, Serangoon Garden, Serangoon Avenue/Central or Tai Keng Garden...

Contact Number: (Tel) 6483 2775 (Fax) 6483 2782
          Name of Operator: Mr Tan

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in Woodlands, Sembawang or Marsiling...

Contact Number: 9025 5981
          Name of Operator: Ms Tay

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in the Aljunied Area, Kembangan, the Eunos Area, Geylang Bahru, the Boon Keng Area or the Geylang Rd Area...

Contact Number: 9679 0870 / 9181 6656
          Name of Operator: Francis for the first number and Alice for the second number

^ Note: Sorry for the confusion with the dual numbers there. The bus operators' service details were all squished together like rojak on one piece of A4 paper and they got jumbled so I thought that the safest way to put it would to be like that.

Anyway, continuing...

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in the areas plying Tampines, Simei, Pasir Ris, Telok Kurau, Tanjong Katong, Tanjong Rhu, Joo Chiat, Marine Parade, Upper Changi Road or Bedok South / Bedok Reservoir...

Contact Number: (HP) 9750 8316 (Tel) 6312 7580
          Name of Operator: Mr Tan Bok
          Name of Company: Zheng Xin Yun Service
          School Bus Service Catering to students of: Raffles Institution, Raffles Junior College and Raffles Girls' School

^ Note: This is the fanciest service I've seen so far. They have a legit name and they actually ferry people from RI and RJC too... O.O Wahh >.< (Not doing an advertisement here though haha)

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in Jalan Boon Lay, Taman Jurong, Jurong West, Jurong East or Toh Guan...

Contact Number: (Tel/Fax) 6264 2774 (HP) 9601 4560 / 9193 0068
          Name of Operator: Mr Ken Ho, I think.
          Email: [email protected]
          Name of Company: Guan Seng Bus & Van Services

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in Choa Chu Kang, Bukit Panjang, Cashen Road(?), Hillview Avenue, Bukit Batok, Jalan Jurong Kechil, Toh Tuck Road, Toh Yi De, Bukit Timah/Upper Bukit Timah, Dunearn Road, Watten East Road, Kheam Hock Road, Pasir Panjang Road (after South Buena Vista), Telok Blangah Road, Depot Road, Tiong Bharu or River Valley Road...

Contact Number:9092 5625
          Name of Operator: Mr L. H. Teo

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

If you live in Sengkang, Rivervale, Compassvale, Punggol Estate, Hougang Avenue 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, Poh Huat Road, Serangoon Avenue 3, 4/b], [b]Serangoon Central, Anchorvale, Potong Pasir, Macpherson or Toa Payoh...

Contact Number:9743 6189 / 9764 9449
          Name of Operator: 1st Number: Mr Ong || 2nd Number: Mr Tong

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

So that's about all of the bus services who put up their posters on the BOB (Bus Operator Board), at least by the time I went there today. I hope I helped in some way ^^ And if your area isn't reflected here, don't be afraid to try to ask the bus operator of a nearby area to take yours into consideration, and if that doesn't work, then don't worry! Your daughter will get to learn how to take the public transport and she'll become a pro. πŸ˜„

Quick word of my own weird logic: I think it'd be better to choose a bus service that goes to less areas, because then the bus Uncle/ Auntie would only need to go to a few areas and would be able to ferry your child to school more quickly. Also, if you don't want your daughter to get a boyfriend just yet (I sound like a KiasuAuntie when I'm only a KiasuKid :'D) and you're taking the RJC/RI/RGS bus service, then maybe you can advise her not to sit together with a boy on the bus until she's like 16 la. :3

So that's all I guess. If you went like tl;dr then well sorry la but my fingers dropped off for you, you know XD No la. I wouldn't read it myself if I looked at a post this long. Anyway good luck for your Sec School years - happy Kiasu-Parenting! ~

~ Nikinack123

Wah, so much information OMG thank you so muchhhh :goodpost:
          Just saying, Same here kiasukid XD. I think everyone here is πŸ˜† πŸ˜†
          :thankyou: :udawoman:
          Once again ,thanks Nikinack123 :rahrah:

KPFan

Swagger: nothing for students on inet, just updating on parents’ inet.

Enjoy your remaining holiday before school starts.

Choco05

stressed mum:
              Hi if anyone is selling/clearing English literature books ,please pm as i am interested

Which year? I think syllabus is changing.

Choco05

Swagger:
                Choco05:

[quote=\"nikinack123\"]Thankiew Choco05! πŸ˜„

Yeah I guess it would be easier to call the General Office instead of going there by yourself because doing the latter would be sibeh tiring. :3 And I just wanted to say thank you, Choco05, because all of your answers here on Kiasuparents really helped me out a lot when I wanted to know more about RGS (or when my parents were freaking out over details that we didn't know about haha). So thank you again πŸ˜„

Oh btw to Swagger and any of the Y1s, can you access the RGS google email yet? O.o In the Orientation Package the password was blank and even Mr Jagmeet Singh's clarification on the iNet site didn't help much. 😞 Does anyone know if it's just my problem or if everyone's having it?

~ Nikinack123

Glad to be of help! πŸ™‚ feel free to keep asking anything questions you have over here or drop me a pm too πŸ™‚

Thanks for ya'all helping me πŸ˜“
                Btw why all of you suddenly so concern about the student iNet? :lightrod:
                Do we have to do anything to our iNet? Bc i thought i only have to update my particulars in my parents iNet :sad:
                So, did i miss out anything? Ehehe i was not rly paying much attention that time(about iNet XD) :siam:[/quote]Inet will be pretty useful later on... for now, just check if there are any updates for year 1s! πŸ™‚ Must be nice to have access now... in my year we had to wait till end Jan and all the teachers didn't know and continued to give information there so we missed out on many notices!!

• 1 Offline
                  19shermainelui

nikinack123:
                  19shermainelui:

Hi all, can I check what type of earrings RGS allows their students to wear? TIA

Hi 19shermainelui! πŸ™‚

I don't have any official quotes from the RGS Orientation Package, but I'm pretty sure that I heard that small studs, 0.5cm in diameter or less, are acceptable.

Thanks so much! πŸ˜„

LAI123

Hi Parent,

Anybody opt for RSP - regional studies programme?
                    Thanks

Bluesky12

I have a few questions regarding Year 3 OBS next year. Would really appreciate if parents or seniors could help to answer.

1. Do they need lunch boxes?
                      2. Is backpack or luggage suitable?
                      3. Where can we get solid fuel from?
                      4. For cotton twine, will they be using the thinner or thicker one (number 1 or no. 5)?
                      5. Do they need sleeping bag?
                      Thanks in advance! πŸ™‚

Choco05

Bluesky12:
                        I have a few questions regarding Year 3 OBS next year. Would really appreciate if parents or seniors could help to answer.

1. Do they need lunch boxes?
                        2. Is backpack or luggage suitable?
                        3. Where can we get solid fuel from?
                        4. For cotton twine, will they be using the thinner or thicker one (number 1 or no. 5)?
                        5. Do they need sleeping bag?
                        Thanks in advance! πŸ™‚
                        1. Nope, not at all. But cutlery yes!--you cook your own dinner
                        2. Either one is fine, reason being that you will be repacking whatever you brought to OBS into the OBS backpacks.
                        3. Try army shops. Don't get the ones in like tins, get the white blocks.
                        4. Actually you won't even be using it... try grade 3 or 4 if you want though!
                        5. They said it's not compulsory but actually everyone brings it. Up to you i guess? πŸ™‚

Feel free to ask anymore questions/tips! πŸ™‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 513 / 734