Children of average ability
kiasulang:
Choosing the RIGHT primary school is also very important. Perhaps it didn't occur to the mum to go for a more lower 'profile' primary school as perhaps West Grove is located near to their place.
Choosing a RIGHT school for the preschooler is a daunting task. -
kiasulang:
Choosing a RIGHT school for the preschooler is a daunting task.tamarind:
Parents really cannot just leave everything to the teachers at kindergartens/CCs.
I did not send my younger son to my older boy's previous preschool because of time constraint and inconvenience after sending the older son to school. Instead I put him in one of the NTUC CC nearby. My intention was to have someones babysit him and other children to play with him since he was in toddler group there.
Within a short period, he had picked up broken sentences e.g mummy where? Papa why? Everything why? This one and that one. Ending the speech with lor. Before enrolling, we had taught him to say the magic word \"Please\". Now he stop using and is always raising his voice when he talks. We had toilet trained him but they put him on diaper.
I remembered when my elder son was in PCF CC then LV before his transfer to a preschool at about 4, he did not pick up those habits.
Ai......ai.... Although we have pull him out for goodness sake. His habits are hard to kick off.
To many parents like myself, we may not be able to afford the best pre-school, or the best may be just too far away. My boy is now in a PCF kindergarten about 5 minutes walk from my place, only $100+ per month. It is under the same centre head as my girl's PCF kindergarten at another block, so I am sure that they prepare the kids very well for kindergarten. My girl has been writing in sentences since she was in K1. PCF kindergartens under different centres have very different standards.
Before K1, my girl used to pronounce all the \"t\"s when she reads. By the end of K1, I cannot hear her \"t\"s anymore
That's why I am thinking of putting her in Morris Allen at least once a week. I cannot find any good pre-schools with native speakers in my area. Even if I can find one, I cannot afford to send 2 kids to those pre-schools.jedamum:
I think it is unfortunate that the child's P1 teacher is not willing to put in the extra effort to teach him. It will help if he has a more sympathetic teacher.Choosing the RIGHT primary school is also very important. Perhaps it didn't occur to the mum to go for a more lower 'profile' primary school as perhaps West Grove is located near to their place.
tamarind:
Choosing a RIGHT school for the preschooler is a daunting task.kiasulang:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]
Parents really cannot just leave everything to the teachers at kindergartens/CCs.
I did not send my younger son to my older boy's previous preschool because of time constraint and inconvenience after sending the older son to school. Instead I put him in one of the NTUC CC nearby. My intention was to have someones babysit him and other children to play with him since he was in toddler group there.
Within a short period, he had picked up broken sentences e.g mummy where? Papa why? Everything why? This one and that one. Ending the speech with lor. Before enrolling, we had taught him to say the magic word \"Please\". Now he stop using and is always raising his voice when he talks. We had toilet trained him but they put him on diaper.
I remembered when my elder son was in PCF CC then LV before his transfer to a preschool at about 4, he did not pick up those habits.
Ai......ai.... Although we have pull him out for goodness sake. His habits are hard to kick off.
To many parents like myself, we may not be able to afford the best pre-school, or the best may be just too far away. My boy is now in a PCF kindergarten about 5 minutes walk from my place, only $100+ per month. It is under the same centre head as my girl's PCF kindergarten at another block, so I am sure that they prepare the kids very well for kindergarten. My girl has been writing in sentences since she was in K1. PCF kindergartens under different centres have very different standards.
Before K1, my girl used to pronounce all the \"t\"s when she reads. By the end of K1, I cannot hear her \"t\"s anymore
That's why I am thinking of putting her in Morris Allen at least once a week. I cannot find any good pre-schools with native speakers in my area. Even if I can find one, I cannot afford to send 2 kids to those pre-schools.jedamum:
I think it is unfortunate that the child's P1 teacher is not willing to put in the extra effort to teach him. It will help if he has a more sympathetic teacher.[/quote]Hi Tamarind,Choosing the RIGHT primary school is also very important. Perhaps it didn't occur to the mum to go for a more lower 'profile' primary school as perhaps West Grove is located near to their place.
Not all private pre-schools and cc's are expensive. Some of the better church kindies are only about $250 a month and some of the Cc's after subsidy are as low as $200 a month. I personally like the idea of cc because I find my child is more disciplined after going to one for full-day. -
kaitlynangelica,
For 2 kids, it will be a lot of money. If the school is not within walking distance, we also have to add school bus fees. I do not want my kids to take school bus to school, I am a paranoid mommy.
For many people I know, there is a lot of difference between $100 and $250. My girl’s PCF kindergarten charges about $250 a month. Some of her classmates have moved to the cheaper PCF which costs only $100 a month.
I also do not believe that all private kindergartens are good. We still have to choose carefully. For those private kindergarten that charges $250, do they have native speakers as teachers ? So long as the teachers are locals, we cannot expect their English to be very good. -
tamarind:
Tamarind,kaitlynangelica,
For 2 kids, it will be a lot of money. If the school is not within walking distance, we also have to add school bus fees. I do not want my kids to take school bus to school, I am a paranoid mommy.
For many people I know, there is a lot of difference between $100 and $250. My girl's PCF kindergarten charges about $250 a month. Some of her classmates have moved to the cheaper PCF which costs only $100 a month.
I think schoolbus safer than letting your maid bring your kids to and fro. My gal has been on the schoolbus since she was 2.5 years old. I rather pay the exorbitant fee ( $80 for one way )than take the risk with my
maid. -
kaitlynangelica:
My mother brings them to and fro
Tamarind,
I think schoolbus safer than letting your maid bring your kids to and fro. My gal has been on the schoolbus since she was 2.5 years old. I rather pay the exorbitant fee ( $80 for one way )than take the risk with my
maid.
They walk to school which I think is safer than taking the bus. I would rather put them in good enrichment classes during the weekends when my hubby and I can bring them.
I live in the HDB heartland. I know there are many families which earn combined income of less than $2000 a month. They have no choice but to send their kids to the closest and cheapest kindergarten. -
I guess we can only trust the top pre-schools, that is, those which charge $1600 a month. These pre-schools can afford to employ qualified teachers, either ang mohs or local university graduates who speak very good english.
How can those pre-schools which charge only $250 afford to employ teachers of high qualifications ?
If I send 2 kids to schools like Pat’s schoolhouse, that will cost me $3200 a month ! Actually there is a Pat’s schoolhouse near my place at Arena country club. However, when I visited the place, I was not impressed by the teachers or the activities. I think may be only the main branch is good, but there is no way I am going to send my kids so far away to school. So the best is still to teach them at home. -
Heyya insider!
I was so laughing out loud at your comment on the
golden hair!! Made my day, man!
I fully agree, cos we ever had one ang moh untrained
but supposedly to teach phonics, reading, grammar
and compre… Every other parent wants their child to
be put in her class! And she’s like almost 70yrs old,
nags like nobody’s business each time she commences
her lessons! Time wasted nagging - half an hour!
But the parents? They LOIKE!!! They loike it a lot!!!
Ang-moh mah! More special and more atas!
(atas=higher standard) -
kekeke :lol: I also wan! :drool: It's all in the packaging mah. And if she nags in perfect england, hey, the kids are all learning good england....But the parents? They LOIKE!!! They loike it a lot!!!
Ang-moh mah! More special and more atas!
(atas=higher standard) -
Wah lau, Chief!
You too, hah?!?
Kekekee! Typical kiasu one!
Yes! Yes! Yes!
All in perfect queens’ english!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.