BOOK Fairs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Happenings
    1.5k Posts 181 Posters 663.6k Views 1 Watching

mummy of 2:
      I also love to buy, esp when I think it's a bargain. Never mind that my kids will not be able to read these books until a few years later. Can always buy and keep. DH is resigned to it - can't stop me from buying :roll:

Me too. 😉

I do that for clothes too.
      Like good quality branded clothes.
      Not cheapskate, but think of it as more
      savings for 2 children to enjoy. 😉

As for being resigned to it... hubs says
      it came from my pocket, so.... 😐 .... yah..

Ermm.. :idea: ... what i meant was how much were the faraway books
        at bras basah yesterday... those that you saw... 😉

Paiseh, didn't see. If you're keen, will keep note to look those up when I'm next at Bras Basah. Lemme know lah.

Yes yes... very keen. Thanks for your extra pair of eyes. :evil:
        You have good eye for good bargain books. I've gone through
        many of your postings on books that are value for money.

:ugogirl:

I'm a sucker for hardcover books... and since DD2 isn't such a
        princess when it comes to caring for all her barangs as compared
        to DD1, hardcover sure comes in handy. Better armoured to last..

hquek

Er, but one thing I dun like about those all in ones is that it’s very heavy. Like when I read Lord of the rings…becos I cheap, I got the 3 in one paperback…end up like lugging an elephant everywhere.

Can imagine you looking incredibly intellectual carrying those thick books

around. 😉

Magic Tree House oso got?
            3 for $5? Hardcover? :shock:

hquek

Can imagine you looking incredibly intellectual carrying those thick books

around. 😉

Magic Tree House oso got?
              3 for $5? Hardcover? :shock:
              errr, you don't mean incredibly dangerous? Imagine me waving my bag around...can kill pp. :oops:

I remember reading the complete sherlock holmes many years back...borrow from library. paper was incredibly thin...and font super small...felt I was going blind.

MTH is paperback. U keep? Thinking to rid of them once DS1 is done with it. Have borrowed most of the MTH titles from library, now left with itty bitty titles that I was unable to get.

Wow, you sound like you're always buried in books!

I'm buried in KSP! :laugh:

hquek

no lah…with kids now, how can?

But I’m slowly picking up reading again. Reading ‘What the Dogs Saw’ by malcolm gladwell…like his books. easy to read. Need to set example cos DS2 doesn’t share the same enthusiasm for books.

mummy of 2

Now we have a nightly reading session after the kids brush their teeth. Both of them and mummy included, all get to read on mummy's bed. For the kids, they read readers aloud. These are readers that DS1 already knows how to raed. DD2 reads whatever she can based on memory. For mummy it's silent reading 😉

hquek

DS1 reads English books independently…but I quite cannot trust - there are words he doesn’t know how to pronounce, so I have to at least get him to read to me a page, or I’ll do the reading.

After all the bedtime readings, english books and then chinese books, I’m left with not much energy…so now reading in spurts…eg when i stop at traffic lights. It’s very bad, but no worries, safety first always on the roads. And I just kena occasional horns by drivers.

Blobbi

mummy of 2:
                        I also love to buy, esp when I think it's a bargain. Never mind that my kids will not be able to read these books until a few years later. Can always buy and keep. DH is resigned to it - can't stop me from buying :roll:

I'm like you. But beware! I've got lots of books to get rid of now. I keep promising a sale, but got to get organized first, which I am not 😢. My house going to explode liao!

BTW hquek, did you see any Sherlock Holmes for sale? :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 151