A Letter from ST Forum

117 Posts 23 Posters 36.3k Views 1 Watching

auntieM:
      I really KPO to find out more about the background.... maybe should go to MS school thread 😛

What background do you want to find out? :? (Oops, :lol: more dandruff here? 😛 )

Nothing in the MS thread about this issue, but the fact is that MS is a SAP school and she's not a Chinese but yet decided to put her non-Chinese speaking son in a SAP school and only to complain later that the son cannot understand a word that the teacher is saying! Ridiculous parent in my opinion! :roll:

BlurBee:

A few weeks ago, he came home crying because his new Chinese teacher refused to speak in English. It was made worse by the fact that my son had enjoyed learning Chinese in Primary 1.[/color]

:?
        If the son doesn't understand mandarin, what is the purpose of learning Chinese?

somemore send to a SAP school! :roll:

autumnbronze

I have only gone through the link ... his letter lacks substantial details.

Anyway,

I suspect he is a PR too.

A local will not make a mockery of himself like that. I believe that he would def start his child from young (the kiasuisam aspect), if he intends his child to study mandarin in sch.

I also agree with one of the forummers here that its a matter of pride that is involved here - whose? the father or the son - you decide.

It seems to me, from the article, that he may be exaggerating the issue. It is impossible that the son did well in pri 1 and then claims not to understand what is going on in the following yr :? If our kids are struggling with the language, wouldn't we, as parents, regardless whether we are chinese or not, work with the sch/teachers to resolve the problem? Or engage in a pte tutor? I mean, we know the system rite, we will know what to do, or find out what we have to do, if we don't know. Why waste time writing a letter? What is his objective :?

Also, prior to sending his son to MS, he must have enrolled him in some enrichment classes ... plus most preschs teach mandarin as well. So its not like his son was thrown into the deep blue sea w/o knowing how to swim.

If the child is really having probs with the language, then sad to say the father has done a great disservice by putting him in a SAP school - he was being overly and overtly ambitious.

Oh, and he is also living in a glass house :roll:

My 2 cents ...

Totally agree with every point you said, autumnbronze! :celebrate:

I suspect the letter writer is the mum and not the dad, somehow the name sounds more feminine to me.

Moral of the story…don’t be made overly confident of P1 or for that matter P2 results of our kids, just simply it looks good. It is never a clear indicator of their actual ability until higher levels… Why? Simply because some have learnt so much in the kindy for P1 and P2 and re-learning in P1 and P2…

From the teachers’ mouth, they have seen many children very outstanding at lower primary but cannot make it in upper primary…

auntieM

auntieM:

I really KPO to find out more about the background.... maybe should go to MS school thread 😛

What background do you want to find out? :? (Oops, :lol: more dandruff here? 😛 )

Nothing in the MS thread about this issue, but the fact is that MS is a SAP school and she's not a Chinese but yet decided to put her non-Chinese speaking son in a SAP school and only to complain later that the son cannot understand a word that the teacher is saying! Ridiculous parent in my opinion! :roll:

Me three.....suspect that she/he is a PR.. ..(dun mean to be mean hor)
                Will wait and see if got more saucy news..

Hope you chair is white 😉

VitoRelax

Mods, my apologies if you have to do the extra work of moving this post to the relevant thread. I comtemplated putting it in the Maris Stella thread, but feel that it is not exactly related to the school itself, so decided to post in Chit Chat. Please feel free to move it to anywhere you deem fit. Thanks in advance.

My thoughts after reading this article is that this particular parent is being ridiculous. :x As if he/she didn't know from the very beginning that Maris Stella is a SAP school and does he/she expect ALL the Chinese teachers from the school from P1 to P6 to teach Chinese using English just because his/her son is a non-Chinese? :?

To me, if one is a non-Chinese and you know that your child would have problem coping with Chinese as a second language in a normal school, what more about a SAP school which uses Higher Chinese from P1? Why send your child to a SAP school in the first place and and expect the school to bend backwards just to accommodate your child?

The online comments are so appropriate!

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_506220.html

Mar 25, 2010 The Straits Times
                  How Chinese minus English spoilt it all

MY SON, eight, is in Primary 2 in Maris Stella High. Primary 1 was a breeze for him. Not only was he among the top three pupils in English and Mathematics, but he was among the best third in Chinese in a mother tongue class of 36.

He is one of the few non-Chinese, if not the only one in his class, to study the language.

It changed when he started Primary 2. From a cheerful and bubbly boy eager to go to school, he became gloomy and sad. The reason was Chinese.

A few weeks ago, he came home crying because his new Chinese teacher refused to speak in English. It was made worse by the fact that my son had enjoyed learning Chinese in Primary 1.

Who will suffer? No one but my son because he will not understand 90 per cent of what his teacher is saying.

Amit Nagpal
                  Somebody in Maris Stella, please tell this Amit Nagpal to fly kite lah !! Usually arrogant fellas expect everyone to bend rules for them .. !!

You know, when I was searching a Pri School for my girl, I saw my friend's 4 daughters all did so well. So, I also wanted my girl to goto that school. (At that time, didn't do much research lah). Since it is a good school & difficutt to get in, my DW & I started to do some volunteer work.

But later someone told me that school was a SAP school & I asked \"what is a SAP school ?\". When I realized what SAP school is, I know it is not gonna be easy for her (even though we are Chinese) so we look for another school despite clocking many hours. To me if she can cope with normal Chinese, I happy liao !!

vlim

frankly speaking..SAP school is not that horror furthrmore nowadays most of the children go for Chinese Enrichment class. Both my kids are in SAP school. My younger p2 dd isn't very good in Chinese but she said she like it best as it is very interesting as they are taught Chinese culture, history and other interesting stuff.... If u were to look at the positive side, MOST of the sap school would put more effort in keeping their chinese standard so they would make sure the students learn more of it... 😄

autumnbronze

I forgot to mention in my earlier post that on the other hand, if the child's parents had not prepared him adequately (by whatever means) in the lang prior to pri 1, then basically the parents have simply dug their son's own 'hole' (don't want to use the other word, to macabre lah) .... :roll:

auntieM:
                        Me three.....suspect that she/he is a PR.. ..(dun mean to be mean hor)

Will wait and see if got more saucy news..

Hope you chair is white 😉
                        I am more than 100% sure that she's just a PR, but expecting exceptions to be made specially for her/her family just because they hold the blue IC!

I hope someone from Maris Stella gives a reply to this stupid letter, FAST! :x

Yes, chair turned white today, after all that :? :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 12

neo_carol28N
                        neo_carol28
                        sunwin10coS
                        sunwin10co