A Letter from ST Forum
auntieM:
no problem, we are all guilty of going :offtopic: whenever we get carried away. I have gone :offtopic: on your threads too what!He heee, just my bad experience lah....
kena for :offtopic: liao.......soli
can always start a thread to specifically talk about this topic, right, but be careful, can be a sensitive topic. I am sure there are PRs around in the forum.
ya lor...later kena --attack, defend, attack, defend.... ..
dowan leh, very stressed
wise choice, better don't start a fire!

can always start a thread to specifically talk about this topic, right, but be careful, can be a sensitive topic. I am sure there are PRs around in the forum.
:!: forgot to put 'wink' emoticon after the statement in asterisk. Its meant to be a joke.
No, not a go idea to start a separate topic on this .... not gd to 'slam' pple lah ....
i go edit my post now .... -
No worries, I know what you mean! Good night! :snooze: Let's sit back and relax and wait for a reply from Maris Stella to the Press about that letter.
G'nite chicky
nite nite tooβ¦ β¦
auntieM:
nite nite too.. ..
G'nite
Chill, dearies. :grphug:
This is so OT, I have no excuse. Anyway, here goes:
For many years, I worked in a half-team where out of 8 members based in Singapore, only 2 of us were Singaporeans (the other half of the team was in New York). Our roving boss was American. Including us, there were 2 Indian nationals, 1 Korean, 1 Aussie, 1 Chinese national. We could see the strengths and weaknesses of our various nationalities, and boy was it fun taking potshots at the differences. Everything was done respectfully; we all took it in a c'est la vie kind of way - like \"what to do, we were brought up this way what\". Our American boss was shocked because, he declared, in the US, you can get sued just for calling someone fat, not to mention bringing up racial differences. But in Singapore, because the differences are so obvious in a multiracial society, we don't have to pretend we can't see.
The key for getting along was and is mutual respect and trust. But when one group keeps slamming another group for imagined prejudices against themselves (even as they write that they \"don't feel it on a personal basis\"), for \"the discriminatory policies of the governement\" when, if we rub out eyes and take a look out the window, this place is teeming with foreigners, then we locals get resentful. Here we are, being very nice hosts, and our guests keep complaining that in other countries, the food is nicer. Or why their portion is one ikan bilis less. After a while, the host's smiling face will show some strain, like what's happening at the tail end of this thread. Then one more complaint, whether there is merit or not, is unlikely to be taken seriously.
I want to emphasize - mutual respect and trust. We're very genial hosts. When we cook and you eat, we don't mind constructive criticism cos we want to be better cooks. If you give objective examples like the differential in university fees between locals and PRs, that's clear for all to see. It's definitely food for thought. Even then, it's practically loose change, so please don't lose sleep over that. Clean air, high level of personal safety, competitive educational structure, efficient public services, good employment opportunities are available to all here - no extra charge of course. But if you compare us unfavourably with free university education in a debt ridden, high tax country when much of the world has given up that crazy, unsustainable policy, then that's spitting in our face. All we're asking for is ... some consideration. -
Hi Bobbi,
Can I copy this and paste in the \"The Expats will Rule S'pore\" Thread too
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.