A Letter from ST Forum
mathsparks:
^5 mathsparks! Great minds think alike! I was thinking of the same thing when I read that article this morning! :roll:In 2 days, this topic has grown so many pages.
Today's ST featured an Indian PR family who moved to Marine Parade to be near Tao Nan and Ngee Ann Pri. They're lamenting the fact that with the recent changes, their 3 yr old may not get a place in either of the schools.
This looks like another MS story in the making. Indian boy makes it to TNS, only to realise its higher chinese from yr1. Dad writes to the press. and the debate begins all over again.
Oh well, he's only 3 years old! It's at least 4 more years before he gets into P1 and the dad/mum has that period of time to think of how to compose a nice letter to the ST! :roll: -
mathsparks:
Seems like attention on mainland chinese PR swifting to Indian PR.. .In 2 days, this topic has grown so many pages.
Today's ST featured an Indian PR family who moved to Marine Parade to be near Tao Nan and Ngee Ann Pri. They're lamenting the fact that with the recent changes, their 3 yr old may not get a place in either of the schools.
This looks like another MS story in the making. Indian boy makes it to TNS, only to realise its higher chinese from yr1. Dad writes to the press. and the debate begins all over again. -
you’re right, maid. maybe we shld find a way to shove that st article in their face n save them havg to write a letter.
and how to explain to his son shld he not get a place? my take, "Sorry dear, it didnt occur to mum n dad that we shld’ve applied for citizenship. It’s our fault that you didnt get a place. We shldnt have taken the country for a ride." -
auntieM:
Seems like attention on mainland chinese PR swifting to Indian PR.. .
This thread was never about the mainland Chinese PR from the very beginning. It was about a thick skinned Indian PR having the cheek to write to the press to express his/her displeasure over a SAP school's teaching of Higher Chinese to his/her precious son, expecting the whole system to bend to suit their needs! :roll: When in the first place, whose fault was it to send his/her precious non-Chinese son to a SAP School? :roll: :roll: -
mathsparks:
you're right, maid. maybe we shld find a way to shove that st article in their face n save them havg to write a letter.
I am very sure they must have read that letter and have taken the points into consideration to \"help them prepare theirs when the time comes\" and I can bet that they are also awaiting the reply from MS, so perhaps maybe they can also turn their attention to MS in the future , depending on the reply given by MS? :roll:
Too bad there aren't a lot of condos near MS.
mathsparks:
Good one, maybe we must write to the Press to give them a model answer to reply to their son :roll: to save them some headaches? Aren't I glad that the govt came up with the 2 : 1 ballot for P1s for citizens and PRs! :celebrate:and how to explain to his son shld he not get a place? my take, \"Sorry dear, it didnt occur to mum n dad that we shld've applied for citizenship. It's our fault that you didnt get a place. We shldnt have taken the country for a ride.\"
Oops...soli but I was referring to trend now, not related to thread.. ..paiseh :offtopic: .auntieM:
Seems like attention on mainland chinese PR swifting to Indian PR.. .
This thread was never about the mainland Chinese PR from the very beginning. It was about a thick skinned Indian PR having the cheek to write to the press to express his/her displeasure over a SAP school's teaching of Higher Chinese to his/her precious son, expecting the whole system to bend to suit their needs! :roll: When in the first place, whose fault was it to send his/her precious non-Chinese son to a SAp School? :roll: :roll: -
auntieM:
Oops...soli but I was referring to trend now, not related to thread.. ..paiseh :offtopic: .
No problem, as citizens, I simply cannot tahan being taken for a ride by these people! :x If you say Singapore is a good place to stay, then by all means, convert to citizenship, why sit on the fence to enjoy best of two worlds? :roll: -
you answered your own question ..... \"to enjoy best of two worlds\"
No problem, as citizens, I simply cannot tahan being taken for a ride by these people! :x If you say Singapore is a good place to stay, then by all means, convert to citizenship, why sit on the fence to enjoy best of two worlds? :roll: -
So true!
No problem, as citizens, I simply cannot tahan being taken for a ride by these people! :x If you say Singapore is a good place to stay, then by all means, convert to citizenship, why sit on the fence to enjoy best of two worlds? :roll:
These guys have to realize, the policies are NOT MEANT TO DISCRIMINATE against PRs.
But there has to be PRIVILEGES FOR CITIZENS. Otherwise, who's going to stick around during hard times?
So if they want the privileges, then join us. Have a stake in the country by being a citizen! -
Actually hor, they are using Singapore as a stepping stone. It's no secret that they are making use of our education system to propel their children to uni in America or UK lah. That's what all my foreign students' parents told me. By the time their boys get their O levels, they are out of here - just before they are called up for NS (when they have to decide to stay or not = convert to citizens). It's like you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours. Once there's no need for that, bye.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.