Time Management - How do u parents deal with it?
Leia vader:
the company i work in promoting work life balance. i using this as a weapon kaopaykaobu to my boss so he now lets me leave at 4 loh. HAHA![/quote]My compnay also promoting work-life balance but it doesn't actually translate into any tangible measures.Luvkid:
[quote=\"Leia vader\"]I am reading this for inspiration. I too leave on the dot. :love: (by 4! sometimes 5..) and usually home by 6pm :please:
Wow, knock off at 4, that's pretty much early! Shiok huh? :love:
Leia vader:
the company i work in promoting work life balance. i using this as a weapon kaopaykaobu to my boss so he now lets me leave at 4 loh. HAHA!
u should say \"cry father cry mother\" instead of kaopaykaobu... :rotflmao: cos the latter description makes me :?
[quote]why not get them involved in the things u like? can try reading the newspaper with them. i am doing that whenever i can. its great! they get to pick any topic they like (after flipping for about 5 mins) and we discuss it. recently, my elder k2 even got a formal award from school for bringing in one of the newspaper articles (which he did with mommy from home) for show & tell to share with his friends. [/quote]This is a great one, Leia vader! :rahrah: -
i tell them its a project. and the rule is to be quiet (pretend u are in a library) and \"concentrate\" during the 5 mins flipping time. when they distract me,. i just ssssshh them. like this: :nunchuk: then they are back to flipping and \"concentrating\" quietly to choose a topic. so i get some peace to read something i see and like quickly too. :lol:
Thank you for the support! dont bluff on the kpkb..
Heh sidetrack abit. how to \"quote\" ? i seem to get it wrong all the time. :? -
Leia vader:
i tell them its a project. and the rule is to be quiet (pretend u are in a library) and \"concentrate\" during the 5 mins flipping time. when they distract me,. i just ssssshh them. like this: :nunchuk: then they are back to flipping and \"concentrating\" quietly to choose a topic. so i get some peace to read something i see and like quickly too. :lol:
This is a great idea. I'm going to try it
U can do it! :celebrate:
Leia vader:
Heh sidetrack abit. how to \"quote\" ? i seem to get it wrong all the time. :?
:offtopic: Click on Quote on top of the Reply box, drag your mouse to the post u want to quote, highlight the sentence, right click, choose to copy, drag the mouse back to the reply box and right click, choose to paste, click on the Quote on top of the Reply box again. Then post your reply.
Hope my \"teaching\" is clear enuf for you...
[quote]Thank you for the support! dont bluff on the kpkb.. [/quote]Hey, really leh, i was :? for the initial time i read it. And i REALLY, REALLY read for 3 times then gotcha leh :please: -
Luvkid:
After knocking off from work at 5pm (so far so good, has been on the dot :love: DON\"T ENVY ME HUH, my pay is low....
), if weather permits, i will have a short 15 mins brisk walk (no dress code for my work place, so ususally i put on fitted T shirt with a pair of jeans or pants, and my worth buying pair of \"walking slippers\" :shock: and my bag too) before fetching DS2 (4 yo) from CCC.
There is change of management in my office, there is going to be a BIG REFORM though there is only 2 existing staffs. We are like being \"sold\" together with the company to a new owner-MY CURRENT BOSS.....The previous boss worth the retirement now as he has been wanting to do so 3 years ago. After several interviews, he finally found a suitable & capable buyer to buy over the company business and the 2 staffs......(my colleague and myself) As promise made to my previous boss, i will stay as long as the new boss is not being nasty.....My only hope is that he must be understanding towards our issues with kids.....
1st reformation-We must strive together, we must have the drive....ok, i will, i will.......
2nd reformation-Change of working hours
Starts 15 mins earlier and ends 1/2 hour later, so my knock off time will be 5.30pm, instead of 5pm......He wants us to extend our lunch hour to 1 hour, instead of 1/2 hour, so overall we work extra of 15 mins :roll: All these wef July. But in order to adjust, we are already trying out.....
3rd reformation-................things about business operation blah blah blah.....
With changes of the above, my time alone (short/brisk walk) will be no more
But luckily DH knock off time has brought forward 1/2 hour earlier, so he can fetch me somewhere near my work place and we fetch DS2 together by 6.15pm, and see who to fix dinner and who to fetch DS1 (school ends at 6.30pm for him), we will arrange this last minute. However if DH needs to OT (which is very unusual, i will have to handle alone.....fetching 2 kid here & there.....)
But guess that dinner time/study time (study time is taken out for these few weeks-Yeah!! :rahrah: ,exams over liao mah
)/playtime/housework time
will remain usual till bedtime.....
All the best to myself to adjusting the new boss,but the old environment.... :celebrate: -
schellen:
I salute you, schellen, on being so disciplined in following your daily priorities. Good Time Management really is sometimes difficult to implement. I'm a working mom too, but I'm lucky to have worked from home. It definitely gives me time to tend to my son more than working far from home...I hope anybody who's having time management problems get to settle on the best solution soon.My DH and I work full-time. We both end at 6 so my mom helps to pick up my DD (7 yo) from After School Care and give her dinner. We meet my mom at the MRT station at 7pm and on the way home, we may run errands so we may get home close to 8pm. When we get home, DD knows what she has to do: shower, pack bag, do homework (if any), revise for spelling/tingxie (a day before), do music theory homework and practise playing the piano.
Meanwhile, DH quickly feeds his pet fishes and showers so that he can supervise/help DD. He eats dinner after 9pm sometimes. I rush through my chores, eat my dinner quickly (I cannot eat late or else I will get gastric/headache, etc.) and shower. Then, I take over from/join DH. By then, it is usually about 9pm.
DD still needs to be \"hurried\" since she loves to dally. We remind her that she will lose her playtime or have a shorter storytime if she \"wastes\" too much time. Usually, she \"makes it\" and requests for PC/TV/game time by herself or with us. This can take 10-45 minutes, depending on how much time is left and whether the following day is a school day.
Before bedtime, we take turns to read to her. After that, DH has his PC time (and sometimes, dinner time!) while I deal with the rest of my chores like laundry. I leave major chores like ironing and scrubbing to the weekends.
On Saturdays, DD goes for piano and ballet with my MIL. She spends Sundays with my ILs and/or my parents. This works for all of us since they hardly see her and we need the time to clean the house, rest and catch up with friends.
Our schedule is still being fine-tuned to be more efficient as we feel that DD deserves to spend more time relaxing after she gets home. (She does assessment books and homework at After School Care.) Our schedule means DH and me will only spend time together after our DD goes to bed. It is hectic on weekdays but there isn't much we can do about it as we live in such a demanding society. -
mumma_bear:
I salute you, schellen, on being so disciplined in following your daily priorities. Good Time Management really is sometimes difficult to implement. I'm a working mom too, but I'm lucky to have worked from home. It definitely gives me time to tend to my son more than working far from home...I hope anybody who's having time management problems get to settle on the best solution soon.
Hi! I quit my job last Nov to be a SAHM. I gave birth to DD2 last Dec so that made us decide once and for all. DD1 still has a schedule to follow at home but not as hectic as before. Thank goodness she has 2 late days in school and she is more independent, responsible and reliable now.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.