Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      Andaiz

I fully understand the pain but liddat oso can? :?

Andaiz

lovekidsverymuch:
        Andaiz:

I fully understand the pain but liddat oso can? :?

HAVE TO LAH 😉

Ok. Point taken. Will work that into the contract addendum! Wuahahaha!

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

lovekidsverymuch:
          peapot:

Tell your new maid whoever breaks the contract must pay. That's the purpose of a contract. This will ensure she completes her 2years contract whether or not she is using your house as a stepping stone.

Yes I too signed the contract with my maid and have kept her 4 months salary so that if she goes away she wont get anything and if she completes 2 yrs she will get everything so its a bonus!!

Thought we are not allowed to hold the maid's money. And it's her money so cannot be called a bonus lah. Unless on top of the 4 mths that you are holding you give 1 or 2 mths more.

• raynregR Offline
            raynreg

Aye LKVM not that I dun agree with what you are doing. But what if your boss withhold your 4 months pay, arrange for them to be paid end December or close to New Year and call that a bonus... 😛

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

lovekidsverymuch:
              I said bonus cause initial months money they will forget cause short term memory then once they get all together its a bonus lah 😛

Like that oso can ah. 😛

I dun quite like the idea of holding their pay cos most of them really need the money to support their families back at home.

For my current maid, I told her she will get a bonus of $500 when she completes her contract. That is over and above the 1 mth bonus that she gets every year.

• raynregR Offline
                raynreg

To me bonus is only for the deserving.

Funz…u mean your helper get a month’s bonus every year regardless of her performance…that’s nice of you.

hquek

raynreg:
                  Aye LKVM not that I dun agree with what you are doing. But what if your boss withhold your 4 months pay, arrange for them to be paid end December or close to New Year and call that a bonus... 😛

well raynreg, I heard of friends who join co where if they quit within 1 year, they have to pay 1 whole year salary back to the co. They are uni grads, not maids hor.

hquek

lovekidsverymuch:

So wat I doing not so gross 😛 though I feel bad but have told the maid very very before hand and had told her family also so when she came to us for work she knew oredi this is gonna happen so no shocks
                    Methinks it's a matter of setting expectation. Tell her upfront, she can decide if she want to work under such conditions. If yes, then it's only fair.

I 'keep' my maid money - in the form of bank deposit. Since put in the bank, she cannot suka suka withdraw. Die also must maintain minimum sum, else kena fine $2 for every month.

But guess I lucky so far that my maids are very conscious that they want to send money back. Current one even tell me she don't want day off cos will go out to spend money only.

• raynregR Offline
                      raynreg

well raynreg, I heard of friends who join co where if they quit within 1 year, they have to pay 1 whole year salary back to the co. They are uni grads, not maids hor.
                      These are different levels altogether. I'm sure these grads are paid happy enough to want to sign with the company with such penalty clause. However, I'll be happy if the helper agrees to compensate me if she choose to terminate her contract and we'll reward her if she fulfills them. In LKVM case, its to her advantage. Of course, if the helper is agreeable I'm all for it.

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

raynreg:
                        To me bonus is only for the deserving.

Funz...u mean your helper get a month's bonus every year regardless of her performance...that's nice of you.
                        I have been pretty lucky. 1st maid with me 4yrs oredi and her performance is pretty good so she gets her bonus every year plus 2x$500 contract completion.

If performance no good, she will not even be around for the end of the year to even talk about bonus. 😛

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 185 / 1032