Pei Chun Public
By the way, in my boy's creative writing class (class of 10), he gets the lowest mark for SA1.
Students from other schools did much better. However, the tutor commented his writing is already among the better ones in the tuition class. I really do not know how to help him improve to PCPS standard. Will check with teacher tomorrow. :faint: :imdrowning: -
Hi Precious2lee,
Do you mind which creative writing class your child is attending? Need to start checking out now…hahaha…
Actually, when my child told me teacher is compiling the good compo booklet, my follow up kaypoh question was to ask the names of the kids whose compo are chosen…not surprisingly, the ‘usual’ names came up…those who have been scoring well in their MA assessments and in top 3 since P1…so I guess these kids most likely have been well prepared since their P1 days…compo writing included. -
Sean wife,
English Im using write your way to A* , sap education
But mostly he attended tuition since p1, like u said, that’s why he can write at p2&3.
But fret not,from p4 onwards teacher actually look more for the plots like what the other mummy had mentioned, so his marks is not that good for those 40marks compo.
For Chinese, he never had any tuition, so I was totally shock when majority of his classmate r writing 18~20 marks compo for p3sa1,so we had to work really hard.
So there is really huge difference with or without tuition, but it also depend on kids how much can they absorb, after all its only 2hr per week extra -
Hi Sean wife, I will drop you a pm… as I can’t discuss his tuition centre here. It’s blocked from discussion in this forum.
Can I check how many classes in P5 taking HCL?
GTGT:
Hi,happydog:
Any idea what are the schools that Pei chun graduates move on to?
My neighbor two boys are in Catholic High now.
My son's classmate's sister is in St Nick now.
That's all I know
were they in the best class ? And did they have tuition ? -
mamemo:
Hi,GTGT:
[quote=\"happydog\"]Any idea what are the schools that Pei chun graduates move on to?
My neighbor two boys are in Catholic High now.
My son's classmate's sister is in St Nick now.
That's all I know
were they in the best class ? And did they have tuition ?[/quote]The girl in St Nick is in the best class.
Not sure about the boys though.
Not sure if any of them have tution. -
Anyone’s child attending Dr Ng Learning Studio at Blk 18 or The Study Room at HSR bldg.? Any comments.
Also, there is Math Specialist at Blk 73 (I think its at lor. 4). Hope to hear reviews on these centres as after attending PTM, I think my child needs help esp Maths as teacher relies on us to coach and monitor my child at home.
Any comments on tuition at CDAC too as if my child needs tuition for many subjects, we might overstretch our budget thus may need to look for alternatives like CDAC or any recommendations?
Thanks in advance. -
marmum:
Hi marMum,Anyone's child attending Dr Ng Learning Studio at Blk 18 or The Study Room at HSR bldg.? Any comments.
Also, there is Math Specialist at Blk 73 (I think its at lor. 4). How to hear reviews on these centres as after attending PTM, I think my child needs help esp Maths as teacher relies on us to coach and monitor my child at home.
Any comments on tuition at CDAC too as if my child needs tuition for many subjects, we might overstretch our budget thus may need to look for alternatives like CDAC or any recommendations?
Thanks in advance.
The Study Room info. I never tried though
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/blogs/studyroom -
marmum:
That's exactly how I feel too, after the PTM. Teacher could only tell us my child's weak points, but not how is she going to help my child in improving the weak points. Also could not tell us how to help my child at home.Anyone's child attending Dr Ng Learning Studio at Blk 18 or The Study Room at HSR bldg.? Any comments.
Also, there is Math Specialist at Blk 73 (I think its at lor. 4). How to hear reviews on these centres as after attending PTM, I think my child needs help esp Maths as teacher relies on us to coach and monitor my child at home.
Thanks in advance.
I'm pretty disheartened after the PTM. Especially since we put in so much effort to enter Pei Chun, and this is the outcome we have.
We have also started to look for tuition.
Marmum, will PM you.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.