BOOK Fairs
at least you get the first hand info and the first to go into the sales area... and can grab all the limited good stuff at ease!
FYI, I work around the area; that's why I'm so clued in. This place...the only good thing is the expo sales....
tree nymph:
Quite true, now I go to expo sales before the weekends. But imagine the desert days when there are no sales!
at least you get the first hand info and the first to go into the sales area... and can grab all the limited good stuff at ease!

My fault for goading you on. :spank: :
Dun say that lar. It's not your fault that I just love to buy books, esp if they are a good deal.hquek:
He's not interested when he realised the sale is organised by Courtshmm, megatex got computers. I was looking at cameras and tv - where there are sales, it's about $100 cheaper than outside. enuf to get him a wee bit interested?
Spot-on, and for bidding during auction (not that I have enuff points to winHmmm, faster surfing....so you can reply faster on ksp? :idea:
) hquek:
I guessed as much, since you can just pop over to check out during the set-up. Well, think of it this way, you can save :moneyflies: . Think of how much you will be spending if you work near a bookshop :!:FYI, I work around the area; that's why I'm so clued in. This place...the only good thing is the expo sales....

mummy of 2:
no lah...I buy books only during sales, or if they are at least more than 30% off retail price. Bookshops dun lure me at all.... :dowan:
I guessed as much, since you can just pop over to check out during the set-up. Well, think of it this way, you can save :moneyflies: . Think of how much you will be spending if you work near a bookshop :!:
Honestly I think I spend more money in this part of SG. There are periodic sales and we go to almost all of these...somehow there are things to buy lor. :moneyflies: Last time I'm too far so can't make it for those sales. -
I do wonder. If I work in a book distributor, would I end up buying more for myself? kekekekeke
I think I will go :siao:
You mean you never buy from bookshop, unless there's a sale? Amazing. -
mummy of 2:
High 5! I also won't buy from bookshop... heartache cos i know i can get the books cheaper from expo sales...hquek:
I think I will go :siao:
You mean you never buy from bookshop, unless there's a sale? Amazing.
must try to save mah... then can buy more books! :love: -
Mine gave me a flat nope.. not my interest kinda reply.
So i said, \"But it is mine..\"
Then he
me...
WEHH! 
Lowdown.
First: prices $3 for 1 or $2 if buy 5; $8 for 1 or $7 if buy 5.
Usborne Young Readers (normal price $5 at borders) going at $3. Many many titles....Saw some going away with practically the whole library load.
Usborne reference books: $8. got big and mini titles.
Enid blyton. Wishing chair, faraway tree, mysteries, o'clock, family collections....all $8 for the omnibuses.
Quite many disney titles....too many to put lah. Mostly at $8 for the hardcovers.
Quite many Lemony Snicket (A series of unfortunate events series).
Rare sightings: Geronimo Stilton (my fren managed to scout out 2 titles) at $3; Dan Brown Da Vinci Code (the limited edition with loads of pictures one) $8. Some Robert Sabudas - Chronicles of Narnia (only this title).
Went away with 2 boxful of books :!: :!: half tempted to go back tomorrow.....I shall refrain....
mummy of 2:
Yah, I get loads during such sales, and also via online websites (those are typically far cheaper than Sg retail) ....already got too many books lying around. :imdrowning:
You mean you never buy from bookshop, unless there's a sale? Amazing.
btw, for chinese books, I like to buy in china (last trip to HK also must squeeze a trip to shenzhen for books - my heaven :rubhands: ).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.