Radin Mas Primary
famangelina31:
I can't becos on biz trip but my hubby will. Wonder what will she talk about - she can go on and on.... :roll:
Hi famangelina31!
Will you be able to kindly find out the details from your husband, and advise us? -
[quote]Hi famangelina31!
Will you be able to kindly find out the details from your husband, and advise us?[/quote]Sure...depends on how much my hubby digest and regurgitate .. :lol:
Have a Great Long Week End :imcool: -
famangelina31:
Please also share what do they do there? My understanding is that they will be doing worksheets w/o much teaching. If my understaning is wrong, please correct me. I am contemplating if I should send my DS for Kumon.[/quote]Hi titank & famangelina31,[quote]Hi Blue-March,
Can share how is this Kumon at Bukit Merah? They are focusing more on Maths?
BM kumon offers Eng, Maths and Chinese lesson. First, you'll be asked to attend an induction session (without yr child) to understand the concept of kumon teaching.
After which, your child will be asked to take an assessment test (FOC) to define his entry level. The class instructor will then draft a chart and explain to you what are the targeted progress rate you child should achieve in 6 months time. This chart is subject to changes if he feels that your child can speed up a little or slow down after the 1st or 2nd month of the program.
Your son will start with 1 level lower (this is to encourage the child and boost his confidence as 1st set of worksheets will be very easy for him) then proceed to next level once he passes the level test.
The instructor expects the parents to do these:
1) Gives lots of encouragement and praises when the child finishes his work - on time or lesser mistakes -as long as any improvement.
2) Supportive and consistent - ensures the child completes his daily worksheets EVERYDAY. (Yes, even if you're planning for a holidays, worksheets should be collected in advance and bring them along with your luggage! stressed hor?) Of course you can choose to opt out for that entire period but the instructor shared with me that some children's work deteriorate after the long holidays and they have to repeat the worksheets or worse, move 1 level down. So be prepared that you'll need to be there to monitor the daily work and do expect a lot of effort are needed from the parent, too.
I remember my girl will ask me to sit beside her while she do her worksheets when she first started. Later she recorded the start and end time on her own and asked me how much time she has spent. If you're a full-time working parent, you may need some support from your spouse/ helper cos this is a daily affair.
3) The parent who attends the induction shall be the same parent who meet the instructor for progress report. They want to make sure both parent and teacher are on the same track.
4) Do not be discouraged if child cannot clear the assessment test for the 1st attempt. My girl usually took 2nd attempt to move to the next level.
All worksheets will have the records of the time and number of mistakes per page. If the instructor feels that more practise is needed, he will ask yr child to repeat the worksheets until the result is satisfactory.
lastly, i must say that 'no pain no gain' lor, but it's worth it, in my opinion.
This is about all i can share and 1 more thing about the BM branch, it was managed by a married couple with 2 toddlers so sometimes we do share some parenting tips, too. :love: -
famangelina31:
Yes, referring to her. I think she is tough when she needs to be and nice at a personal level. I have seen her having lunch and talking animatedly with her teachers in the school canteen.[quote]Were you referring to the principal?
Yes, she looks tough. Whenever she talks, she sounds very scary. Every word seems to have a meaning.
Wonder how she is to the teachers.
I think she has done quite a job since she took over RMPS, standards has improved.:rahrah:[/quote]hmm, is there a session with principal? When is it? -
Hi all,
my girlโs form teacher told me that theyโll only bring pencils box, colour pencils and water bottle to school on every Friday. No books! Is this so for your child? -
famangelina31:
Sure...depends on how much my hubby digest and regurgitate .. :lol:[quote]Hi famangelina31!
Will you be able to kindly find out the details from your husband, and advise us?
Have a Great Long Week End :imcool:[/quote]Maybe bring a tape recorder would be useful or take video!
Do updates us after the Meet The Principal Session!
Hi BlueMarch,
thanks for the comprehensive explanation. Will arrange with the relevant kumon centre to discuss more and have the diagnostic tests.
:thankyou: -
[quote]
blue-march:
[/quote]Check with my DS, no leh...still suppose to bring textbooks!Hi all,
my girl's form teacher told me that they'll only bring pencils box, colour pencils and water bottle to school on every Friday. No books! Is this so for your child?
I will double check with his form teacher to confirm!
famangelina31:
You're welcome!Hi BlueMarch,
thanks for the comprehensive explanation. Will arrange with the relevant kumon centre to discuss more and have the diagnostic tests.
:thankyou:
Some updates abt my girl's class

- Usually they have very little homework if my DS able to finish it in class. At the most is bring home do colouring etc etc. I asked my girl why she needs to bring back the worksheet she said teacher didnt have enough copies so he left the classroom to make copies hence she couldn't finish in class.
- Weekly Chinese & English spelling is a standard practice in the class. Mon (English) & Chinese (Thursday) Mon (Eng spelling), Tues(mental sums), Wed (Chinese spelling)
- Most of the time I notice my DS bring to & fro those English, Maths or Chinese plastic file. Sometime wonder is it require to bring everyday.Eg Spelling book? DS is afraid as the teacher may keep so keep putting these in the bag. I'm trying to let him bring as little as possible. All the subjects files are kept by teachers. FT said not required to bring Maths textbook to school. Maths workbook kept in class also. As for spelling book, only required on those days and hand over to teacher the next day after parent has signed. So no need to bring spelling book everyday.
-just started composition (1-liner) this term.
-art class - learning manga art this term.
- lastly as i mentioned earlier, no books on Friday..... :?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.