Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 518.2k Views 1 Watching
    • starlight1968sgS Offline
      starlight1968sg

takchek:
      Side track a little - for those who can afford it, is it better to pay off mortgage one shot or take a housing loan (and use the cash for other purposes)?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-d ... 80001.html

Second question - If you use CPF to pay part of your housing mortgage, you will have to pay back with accrued interest once you sell that property. Is it possible then to NOT get a single cent back in cash when you sell the property because all the proceeds go to your CPF account?
      1) I THINK it is possible to pay all but noting that you can't sell straight away and other reasons, many choose to take a loan with a min period. I think one can only sell when it is TOP which will be a few years away from signing on the dotted line.
      2) Again I have no experience in this but suppose you borrowed from HDB say 500k including the accrued interest and you sold your flat at 600k. I guess you can pocket the 100k.

I think the housing agent would know the best.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
        Coolkidsrock2

sleepy:
        TheAnswer:

If they adjust price, unfair to those who already bought.. lose credibility.. next time ppl wont buy from such developers (lelong)... they will definitely look in the long run.. it is not a once off business.. they r in this long term.. however, I m sure they have an exit plan..

Is paying 'fine' more serious or losing credibility more serious?

That is reality. They did lelong balance units during down time in 2004 to 2006. Not something new or unknown to many buyers.
        Those were not choice units obviously. buyer who booked their choice units earlier paid more than their neighbours.

Anyway, developers have not reached that 2004 to 2006 point yet in current market. However it is a fact there are many unsold units now.

Chill. Your Lakeville wont be affected if all sold.

They did lelong choice units in the last 2 down cycles. They held on to choice units hoping to sell higher. Unfortunately crisis struck and had to sell cheap.

wonderm

Coolkidsrock2:
          sleepy:

[quote=\"TheAnswer\"]
          If they adjust price, unfair to those who already bought.. lose credibility.. next time ppl wont buy from such developers (lelong)... they will definitely look in the long run.. it is not a once off business.. they r in this long term.. however, I m sure they have an exit plan..

Is paying 'fine' more serious or losing credibility more serious?

That is reality. They did lelong balance units during down time in 2004 to 2006. Not something new or unknown to many buyers.
          Those were not choice units obviously. buyer who booked their choice units earlier paid more than their neighbours.

Anyway, developers have not reached that 2004 to 2006 point yet in current market. However it is a fact there are many unsold units now.

They did lelong choice units in the last 2 down cycles. They held on to choice units hoping to sell higher. Unfortunately crisis struck and had to sell cheap.[/quote]I remembered that too. But it hasn't happened (in a big way) this round though, not sure if it just hasn't happened yet, or it won't happen this time. That's the \"hundred thousand dollar\" question 😉

• starlight1968sgS Offline
            starlight1968sg

Agents from one of the big developers said "die die wont give discount to the leftover units".

Possible?

• lee_ylL Offline
              lee_yl

Coolkidsrock2:
              sleepy:

They did lelong choice units in the last 2 down cycles. They held on to choice units hoping to sell higher. Unfortunately crisis struck and had to sell cheap.

The developers not just lelong the balance units, the lelong was meant to unload as many units as possible as most of the projects on the market then had less than 50% take up rate.

Our first FH property in D11 was bought in 2002 from the developer at $5xx psf. Stamp duty was absorbed, the caveat lodged was much higher to make it look nice on paper (for this developer) and we had a lump sum cashback from the developer under the table.

2nd FH property in D12 was purchased in year 2006. The price we paid for a resale unit was exactly the same price the owner paid 15 years back when she bought from the developer at $3xx psf.

So the million dollar question is, \"Will the good old days of lelong be back again?\" I think so, a matter of time. Because i have transacted at dirt cheap prices before, i will just 忍 all the way until I see at least 40% off the peak.

scang

Yes, this is all about trend and market timing.

Property is cyclical in nature, hence, those who claim it will not happen, can be caught paying steep pricing, and may take 10-15 years in order to get the same high price they pay. This is what a guru called paying 10 years for nothing for a property they should not have bought in the first place.

Of course, no one can predict the absolute low nor the highest point, but the obvious signs in the trend is there.

sleepy

lee_yl:

The developers not just lelong the balance units, the lelong was meant to unload as many units as possible as most of the projects on the market then had less than 50% take up rate.

Our first FH property in D11 was bought in 2002 from the developer at $5xx psf. Stamp duty was absorbed, the caveat lodged was much higher to make it look nice on paper (for this developer) and we had a lump sum cashback from the developer under the table.

2nd FH property in D12 was purchased in year 2006. The price we paid for a resale unit was exactly the same price the owner paid 15 years back when she bought from the developer at $3xx psf.

So the million dollar question is, \"Will the good old days of lelong be back again?\" I think so, a matter of time. Because i have transacted at dirt cheap prices before, i will just 忍 all the way until I see at least 40% off the peak.

thanks for sharing your experience.
                  You're a very savvy investor! :salute:

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

sleepy:

thanks for sharing your experience.
                    You're a very savvy investor! :salute:
                    Just lucky :oops:

Committing to a property is a tough decision as the prices can move in different ways. Haha, You have not seen me and my DH bickering :mad: over whether to buy, sell, hold...

pirated

Before committing, must do scenario planning - what if price drop? What if income drop ? Can hold for how long with reduced income ? Worst case on disposal what % loss can tahan ? Do all the worst case planning and if still ok, then buy.

If cannot pass the sensitivity analysis then better to hold back from buying

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                        Coolkidsrock2

starlight1968sg:
                        Agents from one of the big developers said \"die die wont give discount to the leftover units\".

Possible?
                        Sometimes they give other things lah. Just not as attractive as cash discount.

The market is still quite dead above certain threshold. Can see more realistic asking price now.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 45 / 260