Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 518.2k Views 1 Watching
      TheAnswer

pirated:
      Before committing, must do scenario planning - what if price drop? What if income drop ? Can hold for how long with reduced income ? Worst case on disposal what % loss can tahan ? Do all the worst case planning and if still ok, then buy.

If cannot pass the sensitivity analysis then better to hold back from buying
      Good advice!

TheAnswer

sleepy:
        lee_yl:

The developers not just lelong the balance units, the lelong was meant to unload as many units as possible as most of the projects on the market then had less than 50% take up rate.

Our first FH property in D11 was bought in 2002 from the developer at $5xx psf. Stamp duty was absorbed, the caveat lodged was much higher to make it look nice on paper (for this developer) and we had a lump sum cashback from the developer under the table.

2nd FH property in D12 was purchased in year 2006. The price we paid for a resale unit was exactly the same price the owner paid 15 years back when she bought from the developer at $3xx psf.

So the million dollar question is, \"Will the good old days of lelong be back again?\" I think so, a matter of time. Because i have transacted at dirt cheap prices before, i will just 忍 all the way until I see at least 40% off the peak.

thanks for sharing your experience.
        You're a very savvy investor! :salute:

Agree with sleepy!
        How to determine whether it will come down at least 40%? Do u hold cash meanwhile or invest in other things while waiting? I feel it takes a lot of experience and such chances easily missed if we dun keep an eye on the property market..

TheAnswer

scang:
          Yes, this is all about trend and market timing.

Property is cyclical in nature, hence, those who claim it will not happen, can be caught paying steep pricing, and may take 10-15 years in order to get the same high price they pay. This is what a guru called paying 10 years for nothing for a property they should not have bought in the first place.

Of course, no one can predict the absolute low nor the highest point, but the obvious signs in the trend is there.
          Explain the obvious signs? Bad market now considered a sign?

pirated

First thing to do - go buy the statistics on property price trend for the last 30 years to plot it

Can’t always get to bottom fishing but as long as not buying the froth should be alright.

scang

TheAnswer:
              scang:

Yes, this is all about trend and market timing.

Property is cyclical in nature, hence, those who claim it will not happen, can be caught paying steep pricing, and may take 10-15 years in order to get the same high price they pay. This is what a guru called paying 10 years for nothing for a property they should not have bought in the first place.

Of course, no one can predict the absolute low nor the highest point, but the obvious signs in the trend is there.

Don't need to be a rocket scientist, just look at the numbers.

You can refer back to the chart http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=13475&p=1518809#p1518809

Look at the supply and demand for the last few years as given by the confirmed land sales, hdb targetted supply etc. And more importantly, the actual ready state of the supply.

Look at the price, supply and demand as shown in mnd/ura statistics and figures release. Do we have as many immigrants as before for the huge supply that have not been built or ready? Do we actually have an increase in babies in the last 20 years?
              http://i1.wp.com/www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Pipeline-supply-of-new-residential-units-2013-to-2016.jpg\">

Private Property price trend (TA similar to stocks in terms of support and resistance)
              http://propertyinvestmentsingapore.sg/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/private-residential-property-price-index-2014-660x330.png\">

TheAnswer

pirated:
                First thing to do - go buy the statistics on property price trend for the last 30 years to plot it

Can't always get to bottom fishing but as long as not buying the froth should be alright.
                Where to buy those statistics? From website? Or ask my agent directly. Thanks a lot.

TheAnswer

scang:
                  TheAnswer:

[quote=\"scang\"]Yes, this is all about trend and market timing.

Don't need to be a rocket scientist, just look at the numbers.

You can refer back to the chart http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=13475&p=1518809#p1518809

Look at the supply and demand for the last few years as given by the confirmed land sales, hdb targetted supply etc. And more importantly, the actual ready state of the supply.

Look at the price, supply and demand as shown in mnd/ura statistics and figures release. Do we have as many immigrants as before for the huge supply that have not been built or ready? Do we actually have an increase in babies in the last 20 years?
                  http://i1.wp.com/www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Pipeline-supply-of-new-residential-units-2013-to-2016.jpg\">

Private Property price trend (TA similar to stocks in terms of support and resistance)
                  http://propertyinvestmentsingapore.sg/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/private-residential-property-price-index-2014-660x330.png\">[/quote]Thanks a lot for your help. I got it totally. 💋

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                    starlight1968sg

Based on the expolated graph, the appropriate timing would be 2016 onwards?

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

lee_yl:
                      sleepy:

thanks for sharing your experience.
                      You're a very savvy investor! :salute:

Just lucky :oops:

Committing to a property is a tough decision as the prices can move in different ways. Haha, You have not seen me and my DH bickering :mad: over whether to buy, sell, hold...

Very lucky. Able to catch 'best' timing.

pirated

http://www.singstat.gov.sg/statistics/b ... eme/prices

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 46 / 260

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo