Travel: Taiwan - Taipei

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    831 Posts 203 Posters 815.8k Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

amylqf:
      zairaong:

thanks for sharing your holiday trip..

planning to visit Taiwan this year..
      any tips to share? things to keep in mind while we're there? must see places? must try?

My Taiwan friends recommend me to have the fried chicken pie that sell at night market. It is so big. bigger than a face.
      and no one else is sharing with me. I also didn't want to stuff myself with huge fried stuff during dinner, considering other things to try out.

you might want to give it a try.

oh......i love their chicken chop at shilin night market.......
      so big, so crispy and is so cheap,
      ever tried in singapore, some booths selling the \"imitation ones\".....disappointing

last yr,we went round the whole island of taiwan in 7 days.....
      oh...goodness......it was such a tiring trip,
      imagine every morning waking up at 6 a.m :!:
      some nights, when we checked in the hotel were already ard 11 p.m
      some of my other grp members would extend their night market shopping hrs, was told that they returned to their hotel only at 2 a.m......

although the itinerary included ALishan, we din have the chance to visit ALishan
      as it had been raining, the roads were closed, afraid of land slides.
      also good lah, otherwise, the tour guide told us that to travel up to Alishan, we had to checked out fr the hotel at 4.30a.m.......hahaha....crazy mann.... :shock:

b4 going there, i did some HW researching on their local food
      there was a very gd review of their famous \"Ah Chong Mien Xian\" at ximenting
      there was really a long Q in front of the shop......mostly the taiwanese
      even the tour guide told us....\"U must try, otherwise, u'll regret\"

when i was Qing, i was imagining how \"fanastic\" the mien xian could be...... :rahrah:

but....but...i tell u....the first mouth......i wanna to vomit......
      the smell of the pig intestine was so strong (at least to me and my gal)
      still wondering why the taiwanese love those pig intestines so much
      along many night market, it's a norm to find many stalls selling pig intestine food stuff........ :? (passed by, also cannot stand the smell)
      maybe some of u love the \"Ah Chong Mien Xian\" but i really don't know how to appreciate it

spitzcookie

Hi Angmum,

I’ve heard from many people that followed tour packages also complaining very tiring, always rushing and like spending 1/2 to 3/4 of their trip on buses. Is it really true?

I’m planning to bring my 2 kids (5 & 7) to Taiwan during the Nov hols this year. Hubby wanted to sigh up a Chan Bros tour package but have kind of persuaded him to go free & easy cos kids are too young for all the rushing and waking up so early. Just want them to enjoy at a more relaxed pace. Think the only thing that we’re most worried at will be the handling of the luggages when we changeshotel.

amylqf

I think it is better to take free n easy tour.

Taiwan mrt system is quite similar to singapore, quite easy to go around. If language is a issue, you can always ask hotel staff to write down the location to take the taxi.

Tour package is always with packed schedule and very tired cause they want you to feel that it worth the $$ with so many itenary… but you won’t feel that you are on holiday.

hquek

I think it all depends on person. I’m the type who will want to cover a-z - so end up my F&E always very tiring and full of walking. Guided tours are easy in that I don’t have to think how to get from A to B, and I dun have to lug luggage here and there.

If it’s small area (eg a couple of cities) and you have your own itinerary, then F&E is the best. If you are aiming to go practically round the country, package tour better.

I went on a tour with CTC 2 years ago. It was an enjoyable trip, but I can’t remember much of it cos didn’t need to use brain.

Augmum

Yesterday, i chanced upon the thread of Taiwan-Taipei,

the moment pple talk abt Taiwan, i am so elated, so much sight-seeings, non-stop shopping and strolling of night markets ….
              and their local snacks, inspired me to write abt the trip I went.

Here is where I talked abt it. http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9640&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Additional food info, suggest the snow mango at Ximengding is a must try….
              Just like our local ice-kachang but the ice is very fine, and the creamy milk is so smooth with nice aroma.
              and also their pineapple tarts, 凤梨酥 (slight diff from our local pineapple tarts)
              the tour guide recommended the one near shihlin night market, named Wei ge, the award winner.
              (but I feel rather ex….ard $13 for 10 pcs only), think becos of the added commission to the tour guides.
              I was told by other tour members that those pineapple tarts at Danshui are much cheaper, equally nice. But we din have the time to go to Danshui for the this trip.

if u travel to chiufen, u can savour some of the famous local snacks there….
              `
              For sight seeing, Taroko gorge, Sun moon lake and Yangmingshan are the few scenic sights…….

The next holiday trip, I will still go to Taiwan, but this time only wanna to spend days at Taipei alone, so that there are sufficient time for shopping……haha

Since these 2 are similar threads, probably the moderator could merge the 2 threads

Augmum

spitzcookie:
                Hi Angmum,

I've heard from many people that followed tour packages also complaining very tiring, always rushing and like spending 1/2 to 3/4 of their trip on buses. Is it really true?

I'm planning to bring my 2 kids (5 & 7) to Taiwan during the Nov hols this year. Hubby wanted to sigh up a Chan Bros tour package but have kind of persuaded him to go free & easy cos kids are too young for all the rushing and waking up so early. Just want them to enjoy at a more relaxed pace. Think the only thing that we're most worried at will be the handling of the luggages when we changeshotel.
                hi spitzcookie and the rest of u.....

fyi, there are 2 similar threads discussing abt Taiwan- Taipei in KSP

yes, u're right, it was a tiring trip.....but it was a fruitful one.......
                but not too bad for the kids and those who can sleep soundly on coach
                take for eg, my gal, the moment she went on coach, she slept soundly..... 😉
                the coach journey can take 3-4 hrs......with intermittent stopping for toilets
                so by the time we reached our next destination, the kids had already a good rest

oh......i am \"greedy\" i wanna to see the whole of taiwan....
                so, taking up tour package is still the best......
                i have freinds who went there on their own for F and E,
                it was very ex, ( their cabs charges, and for certain places, the mrt is not accessible) and also u can't visit so many places.

for us, we had to change hotel EVERY NIGHT (becos the next day, we woud be in another city)
                after checking in the hotel ard late at night,
                after taking out all the stuff u need, such as pyjamas
                the next morning, u had to pack all up again by ard 6.30 a.m to 7.00 a.m and quickly rush for yr breakfast which was served in the hotel.
                (tell u first, their breakfast is not really to our liking....., some hotel only serve taiwanese porridge for breakfast, while some of them is ok...u can get the international spread of breakfast)

(i don't suggest going for Ch** Br** as their package is often not the best deal......i m not sure abt yr hubby's package, think can scout for better deal elasewhere)
                the last trip we had, there were grp members who booked fr diff tour agencies at diff prices, but in the end we were all grouped together under the same local taiwan agency.....so take yr time to compare .......

amylqf

there is one time we book from ChxxBrxx from expo fair.

later, my husband found out that their online booking is even cheaper than the price @travel fair.
                  in the end, they refund us the balance, but we pay double for the entrance to the travel fair and all the hassle.

so from then on, hubby always go online for free n easy.

Augmum

hi amylqf

my next hoilday trip would be still to Taiwan F N E one,
                    but this time only wanna to go to TAipei alone so that got sufficent days for shopping...... 😉

so prob i need to seek guidance fr u to show me how to take the public transport to move ard there.......

amylqf

hi amylqf

my next hoilday trip would be still to Taiwan F N E one,
                      but this time only wanna to go to TAipei alone so that got sufficent days for shopping...... 😉

so prob i need to seek guidance fr u to show me how to take the public transport to move ard there.......
                      For shopping, I only went to Cityhall area (pls refer to above schedule on day 4). There are other shopping areas, like XiMenDing. but we never have extra time to go there.
                      My hubby hate shopping.

Frankly speaking, I don't feel shopping in Taipei is exciting.
                      maybe because of the season. we went during early spring, no much summer cloth out yet. even with promotion, say 70-80% discount in department store, hardly can find any cloth or shoe less than NT1200. Maybe goto market, can find better n cheaper deal.

Augmum

amylqf:

For shopping, I only went to Cityhall area (pls refer to above schedule on day 4). There are other shopping areas, like XiMenDing. but we never have extra time to go there.
                        My hubby hate shopping.

Frankly speaking, I don't feel shopping in Taipei is exciting.
                        maybe because of the season. we went during early spring, no much summer cloth out yet. even with promotion, say 70-80% discount in department store, hardly can find any cloth or shoe less than NT1200. Maybe goto market, can find better n cheaper deal.
                        amylqf, shopping in taipei can be real exciting if u go to the right places.

As for the last trip, since we don’t have much time to shop ard, we decide to come back again the next trip.

Ximengding has a wide array of fashion clothing in various styles including japanese, korean and western designs
                        but sad to say that we were only given 1 hr there
                        which included the Q-ing up to buy the famous “Ah Chong mien Xian” (that alone already taken up abt 20 mins or so)
                        And also in Ximengding, there are lots of “toys catching machines”
                        which my gal loves it sooooo much ……cheap and “good catching opportunity”
                        unlike in Singapore. she managed to catch quite a lot of soft toys there.

There are also free street performances by pop stars on weekends.

Besides Ximending, a visit to Wu Fen Pu wholesale centre is a must for we shoppers.
                        this place is really huge, houses hundreds of shops selling trendy clothes, shoes and bags.
                        but there is a certain day of the wk which is reserved for wholesale only, so they may not entertain u.
                        Personally, i found most of the clothes there are too trendy, can pick some for my gal.

And off course, not to forget the shihlin night market……. can shop till u drop….
                        2 hrs there can only covered half of the night market.
                        (prob also becos of the slow moving crowd, which hinders u fr walkign fast)

i love Taiwan, simply becos the pple there are so friendly and courteous,
                        Personally, i found shopping there is so much better than in HK

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 84