BOOK Fairs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Happenings
    1.5k Posts 181 Posters 663.1k Views 1 Watching

I am trying to ban myself from buying books until further notice... :oops:

hquek

I am trying to ban myself from buying books until further notice... :oops:

Not if you are coming to this thread! :laugh:

Come lah, let me do the siren song and invite you to join BA. :celebrate:

hquek

My feel only. In general, books in MYS are cheaper - but I'm only looking at Chinese books (story books etc). Will keep buying English books from expo sales and overseas websites.

Now that I have learnt, I do make it a point to visit the local Popular bookstore. I THINK, there is one Popular in JB City Square - better to check off the web where are the locations first.

I find that in comparison, MYS books are a bit more local in our context and the quality is good. Books from China are cheap, but I am very wary if they try to provide english words also cos the spelling can be a bit out, and the quality is not great.

All said and done, I'm looking forward to when DS2 catches up with the reading....then I can organize my own lelong (or maybe subcon to Buds) to sell off those kiddy books ---- so that i can go out and buy MORE books. HA HA HA :siao:

hquek

pokemon:
            actually if my dh and 2 ds are not in the book sale, tink i may cart home more books. My 2 ds were sitting in a corner reading, they kinda of look tired, i got no heart to contd searching for books.

That's why I left DH and DS2 at home :evil: ....else they be bugging me to go back. DS1 likes to read...I just grab/ask him to grab some books of interest....then he can retire into one corner. But there were a couple of times when he got worried when he cannot see me.

Charmaine_chong

Hi Hquek,

Thanks again for your mail. Can your 4 yo kid reads?

Hi All,
              I like story books from the agent Novum. It is call " tong ye fan" in chinese. The books are nice eg: Idioms, some nice chinese chapter books.

Wondering where are the cheapest way to get these books? I went to M’sia Harris, not cheap thought, same price as Singapore.

hquek

Charmaine_chong:

Can your 4 yo kid reads?
                Hi Charmaine, my just 6 y/o reads independently. DS2 (who's 3.5 y/o) can't read on his own, and doesn't like reading that much. But he's impressed me at times when he can read from simple readers from his kindy and is much better in chinese reading than when DS1 was his age. But all kids are different and we're working on it.

DS1 I recall started independent reading only last year....that was about 5 y/o. Before that, I had to read to him also - but he still likes having me read to him.
                Charmaine_chong:
                Hi All,
                I like story books from the agent Novum. It is call \" tong ye fan\" in chinese. The books are nice eg: Idioms, some nice chinese chapter books.

Wondering where are the cheapest way to get these books? I went to M'sia Harris, not cheap thought, same price as Singapore.
                Harris and popular under the same mother company. I think that Harris is the higher class and therefore pricier one? I think I would try popular still and see if there is any advantage.

I have seen novum stuff and agree that those are nice. Only thing is that the price is fairly high (at least for that few words). (I am cheapskate)

Charmaine_chong

Hi Hquek,

Yap. I am totally agree. Very pricey just for the few words. I must say the quality is good , just the price we all concern. Haaa.

Should anyone knows way to get Novum book at more affortable price, please share here. Appreciate a lot.

Heee. My 20months old is more keen to learn and has knew most of her basic eg: colours, alphabet and number up to 10 and some shapes.

My 4yo son reads daily. I get him to read simple phonics books; those that only one or two sentences in a page as well as Peter and Jane book 3a, a page daily.

I use Chinese high frequency book to teach him chinese. He is ok with this book. I have introduced many graded readers to him, no one that he likes. Is quite challenging but manageable.

Talk about Popular M'sia. I got a close friend whose sister works there but she finds it a hassle to buy for me. 😢

hquek

Charmaine_chong:

Heee. My 20months old is more keen to learn and has knew most of her basic eg: colours, alphabet and number up to 10 and some shapes.

My 4yo son reads daily. I get him to read simple phonics books; those that only one or two sentences in a page as well as Peter and Jane book 3a, a page daily.
                    That's excellent! I am fairly lazy when it comes to that...have slacked quite a bit already cos I feel that when their brain develop the reading skill, it will. Now doing daily readings (in both english and chinese) to both kids (as much as I can). Already feel quite pengz....refuse to do more cos I cannot cope lah.

Charmaine_chong

Hi Hquek,

Thanks.

Agreed. I am FTWM. I spend one hour every night with my son on reading him stories, get him to read, recite chinese classic, do homework, chat with him…

For my girl, the most is 30min. Most of the time spend on playing. Reads about 5 or 10mins.

It is quite challenging to coach 2 kids and more on daily basis.

mummy of 2

Charmaine_chong:
                        It is quite challenging to coach 2 kids and more on daily basis.

Can't agree more. I spend most of my time and effort on DS. DD learns by imitating gor gor. Hopefully DS will be able to read independently in English and Chinese next year, so i can switch my focus to DD. He's more or less there for English. So time to concentrate on Chinese.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 151