Children of average ability
...If your child trips often, please check for flat-foot with a podatrist. It may be a symptom of that which makes him appear clumsy. If there is really an issue in that area, then we can discuss further else at least put your mind at ease.
To us recruits when we were in NS, the definition of \"gifted\" is to be blessed with \"flat foot\". -
Thanks jedamum for bringing us back on track
Both my kids have not started to learn swimming yet, so I cannot comment.
BTW, I am flat footed. I still don't know how to swim. Not that the 2 are related, I am just too lazy to learn to swim :oops: -
My daughter takes a long time to learn swimming. She started since K2 (part of the school curriculum). I put it as not a proper training ground for her as I watched from far. Tried again in P1, P2, P3 (again part of school curriculum). This time I don’t have time to go with her & observe. Now P4, swimming is no longer part of the school curriculum. But I still think it is a must for her to learn. So manage to find a swimming coach 3 weeks ago & yes, she can float, she can do breast stroke, does her breathing within 2 lessons. So glad, after 4 years she finally gets it.
For my son, no use to send him early to learn swimming. His mouth works faster than anything that the fear sets in before he even touches the tip of the water. I break the water phobia first & when he told me he is no longer afraid of water, it’s time to take swimming class.
Yesterday was his second lesson & you know he is currently in P2.
Tamarind, it’s never too late to learn. I’ve gotten a female instructor for my kids. She’s in her twenties & her teaching method is wholesome. Not the training for NS kind. -
EN:
EN,
Tamarind, it's never too late to learn. I've gotten a female instructor for my kids. She's in her twenties & her teaching method is wholesome. Not the training for NS kind.
OK I will get the contacts from you later when I want to start my kids on swimming lessons. I definitely want them to learn swimming, but first I must find the time ! -
Heyya jedamum,
I suppose its all right to make swimming seem like fun and
not something stressful.
Maybe the interest hasn't sunk in yet. Like my kiddies, we
introduced, but they were more for play. But thru the play they
indirectly learned the skill without the drill. The importance of
swimming of this day and age is not to be certified to save lives
of others necessarily, but at least to know water safety and the
ability to... not drown. For P2, it is also hopefully intended to help
her with her asthma. P2 uses less of the puff past few years.
Its a good thing, those inhaler things do not come cheap.
Again as SAHM we try to save wherever we can, and thankfully for
this we have grandaddie to coach them, and at their own time too.
He doesn't force them. Brings plastic colourful toys that sink, and
the children will have mini games to pick up the toys in the water.
(To help with controlled breathing for an example..)
Daddie was my instructor too. Tho it worked for me to learn the skills
quickly and dililgently, cause i love swimming; it didn't provide the same
progress for my kiddies. But it doesn't matter. I'm already happy that
they're no longer water-phobic. P2 used to screeeeaaam like we were
gonna drown her.
Refused to go near the water.
(For sharing only..) I swam competitively for a few years while schooling
and i stopped at a time when it was so stressful to swim with other
competitive swimmers who swam like sharks! ( Getting too old for the
league laaa... Its very very tiring. ) Swim for pleasure/recreation was
enough for me plus the needed exercise.
I think if my kiddies can pass the pyjama-party stage of the swimming
lesson, okay already lah. At whatever age. Happy. Also, i find its ok for
your boy not conforming to the group standards. My dad used to coach
one to one, for parents who find their children will benefit more from
single student coaching. Many reasons, some parents don't like big school
groups cos too big and gotta take turns to swim and others watch, or a
child has an illness that requires more observation to the swimming
techniques and some children are born with physical disabilities, etc - to
name a few...
Tho' being in a group can help push weaker swimmers to swim better,
it may not be so for some children. Different situations call for different
measures. Do please keep us updated with your son's progress or with
regards to the flat-footness - thats something new.. if you don't mind.
I'd love to hear them!
EN > \"Not training for NS\", thats funny! -
Chief, you really have a great sense of humour to maintain your sanity.. :lol: But truly, the 'gao geng'(in Hokkien) ones are the gifted ones in NS, must give them credit...ks2me:
...If your child trips often, please check for flat-foot with a podatrist. It may be a symptom of that which makes him appear clumsy. If there is really an issue in that area, then we can discuss further else at least put your mind at ease.
To us recruits when we were in NS, the definition of \"gifted\" is to be blessed with \"flat foot\". -
Chief, you really have a great sense of humour to maintain your sanity.. :lol: But truly, the 'gao geng'(in Hokkien) ones are the gifted ones in NS, must give them credit...
Actually I was selected to moderate this forum because I was deemed to be sufficiently insane. Anyway, the 'gao geng' ones I don't respect, much less give them any credit. But to be \"flat footed\" is like to be given an official letter from the heavens that, as much as you love your country and want to serve it, someone up there feels that you have some higher purpose other than being cannon fodder. -
Yoz Buds
I haven't had the time to reply but I hv been silently reading the posts by u & the rest..hmm..seems like there's a slight fire gg on here for the past few days..anyway, don't get too bothered w it..I always enjoy and hv learnt a lot from your sharing. many of the other forum mummies/daddies too! I always believe that everyone is entitled to his/her own opinions.buds:
I agree with you totally..the imptance of a dedicated and caring teacher is never enough stressed.Hence, through the years
MMI has fine-tuned a lot of their lessons and worksheets to
accommodate our ever changing primary school syllabus, since
they first started. This shows improvement from when they first
started out. But again, every end result of the children still depends
on the teacher's calibre and passion for teaching young children...
But on the whole, i find that its curriculum is holistic and prepares
our children for primary education.buds:
wow buds..no wonder u choose to b a sahm..hehehe..ur conditions r tough..but not possible..got to depend on luck yeh? Sama sama..i dislike off politics & thankfully, so far so gd...ever since I started working, no office politics..but of cos, occasional diff customers to handle lah..i must have a conducive
working environment. Nice boss, nice place and nice people..
As i have the upper hand in the sense of experience(ehem), i select
my place of work... hehee... I do not enjoy working in a people-politics
kinda working environment. It distracts the much needed devotion
towards teaching children.buds:
Oh yeah...how true for my boy..he sleeps & wakes up at his regular timing..kinda my mirror image..(oh..btw, I'm also a child care brought up kid.) I hv to sleep & wake up at the same timing everyday...Children who have been in childcare develop good sleep routine.
(For full day children) Even after childcare, they will sleep at the
designated times they have done so in childcare. And they will
sleep fast.buds:
Btw..the tot of becoming a sahm did cross my mind when i was abt to return to the workforce after my maternity leave..but knowing myself, I would prefer to leave the taking care of my boy to the child care. I still prefer to work..though i would also want to spend time with my boy & take care of his needs but with my temper, I will definitely spend more time scolding him instead. Thus, I would prefer to spend quality & good times nurturing and playing with him instead. definitely gives me joy looking forward to the time we will hv after work.Though i do not fancy children being in childcare (if they do not need to)
My in laws are actually more than happy to take care of my boy but i strongly prefer the cc..cos knowing what they do on a normal day (watching tv, playing) isn't exactly my cup of tea..still prefer my boy to be disciplined in a child care setting.buds:
Yep..finally, after 3 times of asking, it was finally emailed to me..I hv yet to read it though.. :lol:As for the new curriculum, push for it okay.. until you get it.
Its your right as a parent to know what is being taught or what
will be taught to your children.buds:
I guess u can call me a nice parent cos i just calmly highlighted to the teacher that my boy's pants was soaked & asked her to change it for him...cant imagine how the rest of the parents will react when they saw that...I do realise that it might be an oversight on their part & keeping my fingers crossed that it will never happen again..thankfully, my boy didn't get sick as a result. I hv spoken to the centre supervisor & she will speak to the teachers..let's see how it goes...i'm hoping that the care & dedication given to the children will improve w days..5. Messy Classroom Management
Highlight what you have seen to the person in charge and the teacher.
Don't suffer in silence. It must've been heartbreaking to see your son
in that situation that unfortunate day.. hopefully and oversight due to
the many children to a class.
The teachers take turns to care for the
sleeping children, have their lunch and prepare to afternoon lessons
during the children's nap time. Talk it out with them so it will help ease
the disturbed feeling you felt that day. My heart goes out to your son.
The poor dearie.. -
Unfortunately, the flat-footed ones I know actually rejoice that they are flat-footed....I have not met anyone in the \"noble\" category you have mentioned above yet, not sure if it is peer pressure that no one dares to admit openly that they love NS?
Actually I was selected to moderate this forum because I was deemed to be sufficiently insane. Anyway, the 'gao geng' ones I don't respect, much less give them any credit. But to be \"flat footed\" is like to be given an official letter from the heavens that, as much as you love your country and want to serve it, someone up there feels that you have some higher purpose other than being cannon fodder.
so I put them in the same 'gao geng' category..
Jedamum
oo....very comforting to hear your experience.
think it's too late for me to master MY motor skills!
just the other day while lunching out, my ds1 dropped his chopsticks. just when i was about to open my mouth with the usual words, i dropped my fishball!
sounds very like me...think till now, I still hv diff using chopsticks to grab fishballs..thus i never like fishballs.. :lol:
Btw..i'm also tripping often as well..but thinking back, sometimes my legs went jelly leh..heheh..Taramind:
TaramindI definitely want them to learn swimming, but first I must find the time !
When will u send ur kids for swimming then? I know the Sports Complex conducts swimming lessons for kids..& even toddlers..did toy with the idea of sending my boy for swimming but lazy to find time to bring him there.Chief Kiasu:
hehehe...I didn't know that this is a criteria to become a moderator :lol: U r definitely one funny guyActually I was selected to moderate this forum because I was deemed to be sufficiently insane.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.