How to cook nice Pasta

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    161 Posts 27 Posters 68.9k Views 1 Watching

Wah! All the pasta lovers have surfaced!

Chief, shall we do a 'Post the most scrumptious-looking pasta' contest for fun and earn some kiasu points? šŸ‘…

Sounds good. You get it started... I do the collation and award of KS points šŸ™‚

BTW... does love for cold soba count as \"pasta love\"?

Ok on!...then why don't we extend to Noodles family or the noodles used is not critical as long as the sauce is pasta sauce? :celebrate:

PS: I used the wrong emoticon in my first post... šŸ‘…

• JoyJ Offline
        Joy

Hi insider

Thanks for the great link, my two darlings will love you very much.

Cheers
        Joy

insider:
        I prefer Japanese Spaghetti...

If no time to make the real one, will use those packet ones for a fast meal (boil spaghetti + packet sauce + seaweed = OK OK meal).

Usually will buy from Japanese supermarket either in Isetan Orchard or Liang Court.

Range of S&B packets that I commonly store in my house (kids can cook for friends / self sometimes if they are alone at home):

http://www.sbfoods.co.jp/eng/instantfoods.html

Extract:

Japanese style spaghetti sauce with spicy cod roe(karashi mentaiko ć‹ć‚‰ć—ę˜Žå¤Ŗå­ļ¼‰.
        Just mix it with boiled pasta.
        For Two servings.
        Net: 53.4g
        Manufactured by: S&B Foods Inc

http://www.postimage.org/

PlayfulFairy

For the oriental palate of my dd,

I cook my penne/fusilli/farfalle/conchiglie in these ways
          1) a) braise chicken with garlic, onion, ginger, oyster sauce, Worchester sauce, pepper, sesame oil and cornflour( tenderise the chicken and produce thicker gravy aka 'cream')
          b) cook pasta with garlic till al dente. When pasta is cooked, pour the braised chicken and sauce over. Garnish with a sprig of coriander.

2) make teriyaki sauce using sake, mirin, sugar and Kikkoman soy sauce. Stir fry chicken fillet in it, add corn flour to make it 'sticky'. Pour the sauce over the pasta and garnish with toasted white sesame seeds.

Or...Fusion-looking carbonara pasta garnished with shreds of seaweed.

For western palate like my dh,
          Pasta cooked with garlic, olive oil, Italian seasoning. Mix it with flakes of smoked salmon and pine nuts. Alternatively, use smoked oysters..

For a real quickie, I like to pour some of Marks and Spencer canned soup over the pasta...
          šŸ˜„

• E Offline
            en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

MLR, thanks for the reply :D. Did not try it out yesterday. Only got the chance to read your reply today. Will try one of these days.

• E Offline

[quote]ks2me wrote:

Wah! All the pasta lovers have surfaced!

Chief, shall we do a 'Post the most scrumptious-looking pasta' contest for fun and earn some kiasu points?

Sounds good. You get it started... I do the collation and award of KS points [/quote]Wah!!! I likeee.... Can include recipe to the picture as well? Otherwise, the picture for us to drool but no chance to try it out.

• E Offline

[quote]EN wrote:

I usually will add shredded chicken and mushroom.

Sounds like I may have to do the same thing one day. For the shredded chicken, you mean you have some on standby all the time when you reach home late? How do you keep it fresh without having the \"leftover\" smell? Or you prepare them on the spot?[/quote]I prepare on the spot. Not very time consuming as I compartmentalized meat into a single cook portion in a container. So, it is quick to defrost. To remove chicken smell, I stir fry the chicken with mashed ginger, garlic & chop onions using olive oil. I go easy on the ginger and garlic cause my kids do not like them.

• E Offline

[quote]For the oriental palate of my dd,

I cook my penne/fusilli/farfalle/conchiglie in these ways
                  1) a) braise chicken with garlic, onion, ginger, oyster sauce, Worchester sauce, pepper, sesame oil and cornflour( tenderise the chicken and produce thicker gravy aka 'cream')
                  b) cook pasta with garlic till al dente. When pasta is cooked, pour the braised chicken and sauce over. Garnish with a sprig of coriander. [/quote]Fairy, does this recipe taste the same as teriyaki chicken pasta sold in Swensen in the past?

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

I am not a cream sauce person so I normally cook pesto, white wine sauce or tomato base pasta. The kiddos love creamy mushroom pasta though so here is my simplified version

Fresh brown button mushroom (I get the readily sliced ones, hehe, lazy)
                    Cream (usually bulla low fat)
                    garlic
                    olive oil
                    salt
                    freshly crushed black pepper

Can throw in some ham, sausage, bacon, or shredded chicken.

PlayfulFairy

Fairy, does this recipe taste the same as teriyaki chicken pasta sold in Swensen in the past?[/quote]

hii,
                      I don't go to Swensen, so I don't know it serves teriyaki chicken pasta or how it tastes like...
                      I cook my own version... šŸ˜„

I've been under the weather since April Fools' Day and all i can think about

is pasta. :drool: Hence to mark my 6000th post, i thought to make a tribute
                        to one of my favourite foods. šŸ˜‰ Plus with this post, i am organizing a
                        KiasuParents Scrumptious Pasta Kontest (KSP-K for short... šŸ˜‰)

And here is my entry. http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php

Buds' Spicy Pasta

My choice of pasta here is penne.

Bring to a boil a small pot of water.
                        Add a teaspoon of oil and a teaspoon of salt.
                        Add pasta choice into boiling water and let it
                        be for 8mins to 10mins, stirring occasionally.

Drain and cool the cooked pasta.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxkdokr

I love this brand of tuna from AYAM BRAND when
                        used for this simple pasta treat. Blends nicely with
                        the sauce.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq3rqHi

Then for the quick fix mommas who can't find
                        time to make their own pasta sauce, i find this
                        one from PREGO (Traditional Sauce) is definitely
                        a quick fix pasta base sauce.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Tsfu5Cr

I'm quite the spice girl so i like mine with the
                        optional chilli padi. Shhlurgghp! :drool: So...
                        give the tuna and pasta sauce a good even
                        mix / stir and dunk those chilli padis for x-tra
                        oooommph! Yumz!

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxkfC0r

For the added herbs i use Master Foods Italian
                        Herbs and I still add the Mc Cormick'sCrushed
                        Red Peppers for my personal serving of extra
                        spicy-ness. Yaah.. i am that spicy. :siao: :lol:

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxkg4X9

Finally pasta won't feel right without cheese so
                        a dash of parmesan's for me for the added carbs
                        to those love handles.. :roll: ... and ready to serve.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxkgVk9

As with all food, presentation makes it seems more
                        scrumptious than it is. So, when serving meals for my
                        family i make it a point to prepare the table nicely as it
                        does perk up the appetite. šŸ˜‰ Since we don't dine out
                        in hotels that often, the dining area can be transformed
                        into a hotel-like atmosphere with a little bit of effort.

Meals won't seem right without that cool glass of Coca Cola.
                        (For us lah.. :oops:) So, darling... šŸ’‹ ... this is what's for
                        dinner tonight. :celebrate:

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsfzyQ9

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 17

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies