BOOK Fairs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Happenings
    1.5k Posts 181 Posters 663.1k Views 1 Watching
      Charmaine_chong

Can you guys share what math, english and science assessments are good?

How many pages can your child finish the assessments daily?

Are your child interested, excited and keen to do it?

My 4yo son finishes 5-8 pages assessments and other fun activities from mon-fri. These inclusive phonics, colouring & drawing, dot to dot,maze, math counting or addition, chinese, english, writing, right/left brain stuff.

He is not keen to do it. I try to encourage him to finish up his ‘homework’.

I know some kids like to do assessments willingly, that is not my child.

hquek

Charmaine_chong:
        Can you guys share what math, english and science assessments are good?

How many pages can your child finish the assessments daily?
        Very much dependent on child. As my 6 y/o has a lot of time in the afternoon, I will set him 5-10 pages (depend on how many questions on each page) each day to complete OR 2 chinese words to write (each about 16 times).
        Charmaine_chong:
        Are your child interested, excited and keen to do it? I know some kids like to do assessments willingly, that is not my child.
        Mine is son - he doesn't like to do it, but he does. Typically when he has finished a book, I'll get him something (not pricey) as encouragement. If he doesn't do it, I'll make sure he does when I'm home, or do extra the next day.

Regarding type, I usually buy those from EPH (cos he's in kindy mah). But you have to see what's the contents like. One of the pre-primary maths book was very tough to do - a lot of new concepts. I gave up on that. Another pre-primary maths was ok. As I'm not there to guide him, I must make sure that it's doable by his standards. Scared he will only dishearten if I set him something too tough.

Charmaine_chong

Hi Hquek,

Thanks for sharing.

Most of the time, he can finish 5-8 pages but not in one sitting. 4-5pages when i am at work, my maid would guide him. I will guide him on chinese and other subjects at night.

I’ve been trying to do away reward system as he tends to be more and more demanding and only do with sweets rewards.

He does it based on reward.
          He says I will do it only when you offer me sweets and
          he wants it before finishing his homework.
          He is not satisfy with a sweet of two. He wants ten, thirty, forty…

I know lots of mommies doing that and it is controllable. But my child will always turn a good and nice treat to a horrible one.

Without reward, he is reluntant to do it too.

I’ve busy reading parenting books to see how i can resolve the issue.

Do you buy parenting books? Any good books to share?

Hquek, how many books you have at home?

hquek

Charmaine_chong:

Most of the time, he can finish 5-8 pages but not in one sitting. 4-5pages when i am at work, my maid would guide him. I will guide him on chinese and other subjects at night.

I've been trying to do away reward system as he tends to be more and more demanding and only do with sweets rewards.

He does it based on reward.
            He says I will do it only when you offer me sweets and
            he wants it before finishing his homework.
            He is not satisfy with a sweet of two. He wants ten, thirty, forty....

I know lots of mommies doing that and it is controllable. But my child will always turn a good and nice treat to a horrible one.

Without reward, he is reluntant to do it too.
            I thought I read somewhere that we (adults) also work on basis of rewards - no pay, who will work? So it's not wrong to give rewards for results. But so 10,30,40 sweets is a bit horrifying. Typically mine is a promise of a toy after completion of the whole book (and this only if it's a huge book, or involve a lot of effort over time).

I personally think to demand that after EVERY sitting will be too much. Once that escalates then how? Perhaps you can build in a trip to zoo, botanic gardens, shopping mall as form of treats. Alternatively, have a star chart. If he does well, add a star; once he has x number of stars, it'll equal what treat.

In any case, I only ask DS1 to do 5 pages for 1 day - either maths, english, or chinese. NOT ALL subjects each day....it's more the flavour of the month.

And when he nags, I'll explain why it's good to do that - make him smarter, learn more things....or just take away tv (that works very well for him). I'm lucky that DS1 still guai guai listen - honestly I'm probably going to have to call for help with DS2...that one is a mischevious mister. 😢

Charmaine_chong:
            I've busy reading parenting books to see how i can resolve the issue.

Do you buy parenting books? Any good books to share?
            I don't buy, but usually borrow from library. I like James Dobson's books for his parenting style. More interested in topics regarding discipline and sibling rivalry. He's a christian so his focus is more christian-centric.
            Charmaine_chong:
            Hquek, how many books you have at home?
            woah, honestly I don't dare to count and it's diversified across many bookshelves. I would think hundreds? I think numbers a bit mystifying cos like kid books tend to be very thin. And I had already given away some of those books. Hubby was horrified by my last buy at mph. 😓 :siam:

Am thinking to catalogue all these....but I know I'll delay until my kids are all grown up.

Charmaine_chong

Hi Hquek,

He is Mister mischevious, not easy to deal.

I got to deep breath before teaching him.

Wow, reward when finish up a whole book. My child wants reward everytime i ask him to read and do homework. And want it before he does it.

I have tried your tips and it is very challenging. I’ve been reading a book on how to communicate with child effectively, it is in chinese. with lots of pratical examples and solutions.

Haaa. How much you spent on MPH?

I have nearly 400 books now. 50% was given by my aunt as her kids are books lovers and have outgrown it.

hquek

Charmaine_chong:
                Hi Hquek,

He is Mister mischevious, not easy to deal.

I got to deep breath before teaching him.

Wow, reward when finish up a whole book. My child wants reward everytime i ask him to read and do homework. And want it before he does it.

I have tried your tips and it is very challenging. I've been reading a book on how to communicate with child effectively, it is in chinese. with lots of pratical examples and solutions.

Haaa. How much you spent on MPH?

I have nearly 400 books now. 50% was given by my aunt as her kids are books lovers and have outgrown it.
                Cannot before lah, I also want him to learn delayed gratification. 😉 I think becos we started out with this theory so he is willing to stick to it. For yours, you have to try 'undoing'. I do give DS1 holidays....eg if there is school homework he don't need to do, weekends dunnid to do, some holidays also no homework.

hmmm, this last round close to $300. :!: Unfortunately I never kept any books from when i was young (had hundred plus enid blytons). So had to start from scratch. But most of my books are from warehouse sales, so I don't feel the hit as much.

mummy of 2

My son completes a total of 8-12 pages from 3 assessment books - 1 Chinese, 1 English/Maths, 1 on creative thinking/similar. I will do it with him, and after that he gets to watch VCD for 20-30 minutes.

Other fun activities like \"dot-to-dot\" or mazes is during his own free time and does not contribute his \"quota\" 😉

It took a while to get thim used to this routine, about 6 months I think. Previously he would say he doesn't want to do it, or ask why he must do it. I told him no VCD if he does not complete his work.

Now he will \"remind\" us if we do not ask him to do the assessment books.

hquek

my mum takes care of him, so a bit difficult to enforce. One book he/I/my mum can manage. I think he’ll rebel if there is more.

if it’s english, he can do many many at one go. But come to chinese…it’s like pulling teeth from a shark. maths still ok, but I tread carefully cos he may not have learnt the topics (me don’t teach new things).

Charmaine_chong

hi mummy of two and hquek,

Your children are well behaved. :celebrate:

I always tell him, ok dun want to do homework, then no sweets, not bringing you out to play. He would get agitated and do it unwillingly.

Can your kids do fun activities eg:maze, dot to dot, colouring on their own?

My son loves maze. Whatever he does, mommy has to be there to guide him. Otherwise, my book will end up missing few pages or scribble till i dont know what it is.

So far, he needs to do from mon to fri. Sat & sun, a lot of reading and playing. He reads from mon to sun. If he doesn;t feel like reading, i will stop for few days.

I have been given him home work since since he turned 3 yo, is one year liao.

Now he goes to PCF nursery every morning. When my maid guide him on homework, he would cry n cry and asking why he needs to do it in school and at home. 😢

Now, feel like minimising his homework for a week. Then start again.

hquek

hi charmaine_chong,

My personal take is that my kids will probably have loads of homework to do in future, so I don't want to load too much on him now.

I made the mistake of bringing him for too many enrichment class when younger - now he is quite anti-new classes.

We don't do many fun activities, he doesn't do it by himself - only if I ask him to. But my sis will play 'lifestyle' with him (Sunday Times) - crossword puzzles, spot the difference. he loves it and will ask for it.

Now DS2 is starting the academic front. HOnestly, compared with DS2, DS1 is really a breeze to him. I can foresee many 'happy' days ahead. 😢

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 29 / 151

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog