Comparing Pre-school English Reading and Phonics Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    1.2k Posts 455 Posters 832.5k Views 1 Watching
      titank

Hi All,

Noticed that most of these language centre (ICR, LW) al are using Ang Moh teachers (洋人老师). Would our child speak like those ang moh strong accent ? I quite worried some students maybe catch no ball on what the teacher is explaining in the class.

Generally I still prefer Asian Teachers (Local Chinese) to teach phonics if there is a choice

titank:

Titank... brader... you still looking for phonics classes arh?

What happened with ICL.. thought you manage to get in.. :?

Dear Madam,

Yes managed to get into ICL weekday slot at 7pm. No choice have to give up as I would have logistic problem esp in the evening. So now doing some research around on phonics program.

Alamak, make me sound older than i already am.

Make it a Ms Buds.. ehekh hem.. or buds jie.. :laugh:

Aniwaes, how old is your child? DD or DS btw?

mommyNg

titank:
          Hi All,

Noticed that most of these language centre (ICR, LW) al are using Ang Moh teachers (洋人老师). Would our child speak like those ang moh strong accent ? I quite worried some students maybe catch no ball on what the teacher is explaining in the class.

Generally I still prefer Asian Teachers (Local Chinese) to teach phonics if there is a choice
          HI titank,

You do not need to worry lah... children won't learn to speak a different accent from a teacher alone (esp. if it is only 1.5 hours x 2 a week max.). They will only pick up the accent if their parents speak that accent (from birth), or their peers speak that accent (usually this latter is a stronger source of influence from 3 years old onwards).

But definitely having a native-speaking teacher provides a good role model for the children, especially you are talking about phonics class. What would you think if Ris Low is the phonics teacher??? :!:

The colour of the teacher doesn't matter as long

as the language spoken is proper, singlish free

and with clear pronunciation. We have local

teachers who are comparable to the golden

ones. 😉 Role model also has to come

from parents if they want their children to

speak clearly and properly... cos a weekly

enrichment lesson will also not bear fruit if

it ain't put into practice. Just my 2 cents.

titank

Buds 姐姐,

Thanks for your enlightenment, guess whether what color most important is the speaking english. Guess I going to trial here & there before commit on the phonics program

HappyAvon

The colour of the teacher doesn't matter as long

as the language spoken is proper, singlish free
                and with clear pronunciation. We have local
                teachers who are comparable to the golden
                ones. 😉 Role model also has to come
                from parents if they want their children to
                speak clearly and properly... cos a weekly
                enrichment lesson will also not bear fruit if
                it ain't put into practice. Just my 2 cents.
                Hi Buds, what u had mentioned I'm totally agree.....most importantly, the teacher must be able to speak proper english with the correct pronunciation...And as a parents, we must also continue to monitor their progress by practising with them.....the teacher had advised that we need the child to practise reading the homework story every nite to get the best results...But some day and some nite, too tired and so we skipped :lol: ....kekeke...But still we ensure that she is able to read and understand the story well....plus the spelling list to learn....

• manorwayM Offline
                  manorway

Hi Charmaine_Chong

I just want to thank you for your wonderful recommendation here http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=584&start=450&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

of the blog http://www.domesticgoddess-ourworldmyworld.blogspot.com and the lapbooking programme http://www.from-tiny-acorns.com (when you first recommended it was called The Tots University). I don't see you around but I hope you see this!

I read the recommendation in another forum before and finally enrolled my girl in the january class and she loves it. Most importantly, in just a few lessons, we see improvements, definitely in her interest to WANT TO READ which makes a big difference in final results, I think. Before, we would read or ask her if she wants to read and try to teach her, but no results. After just 3 lessons, she tried to read at home on her own. By 8th lessons, she was very willing to read with me everyday and tried to sound out words. After reading daily with her (using recommendations from the teacher who personalise materials for my gal to some extent), she can now read about 200 words since Jan when we first started! THANK YOU!! We would never have found this programme and the wonderful teacher if not because of your kind recommendation. We have signed her up for Term 2 and 3 now after chatting with other parents whose kids have been with the prog since last year.

SORRY GUYS if I am not posting this at the right place. I tried to click post reply at the correct thread but just doesn't work!! Sorry, I am novice at forums. Always reading but hardly posting. Moderator, please help to move this if necssary. Thanks.

I think it's fine hear dear manorway.. 😉

Good for you! :celebrate:

Happy to hear it has worked out for you and your child!

We're all here for the sharings! :hugs:

Now go introduce yourself at the Newbies and Clubs so

we can all welcome you properly. 😉

titank:
                      Buds 姐姐,

Thanks for your enlightenment, guess whether what color most important is the speaking english. Guess I going to trial here & there before commit on the phonics program
                      You are welcome.. well no matter what, every parent will have their

individual preferences. Not a matter of right or wrong as it is entirely

subjective in this aspect. How old is your child now, bro?

• manorwayM Offline
                        manorway

Oh it worked! Haha. Thanks Buds.

I just reread my own post and realised how confusing my post must be. Actually I enrolled my kid in Feb after seeing Charmaine_chong's post/recommendation (but I first read about it last year from parents who said similiar things in another forum), though the class itself started in January. I hope she will keep up the pace of recognising about 15-20 words a week. But I think after the sight words are all covered, it will prob tapered off slightly.

Will go intro myself at the newbies corner! 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 54 / 123