Chope-ing (reserving) seats using tissue paper
I have seen people "booking" table using those free newspaper. And there was an occassion when there was sudden strong wind that sent all these newspaper flying ⦠it was a sight ⦠and a big mess.
:celebrate: I also like this practice esp. when I am alone or with my boy in a crowded foodcourt/hawker centre. Yup, it should be one tissue paper/umbrella for each chair.Devil's advocate here. I like the custom of tissue choping for the following reasons:
1. when I'm by myself, there is none to help me chope seats. Then how? buy food and precariously balance it while looking anxiously for seat?
2. when I'm in a group of persons, assuming that everyone wants to eat different things. If one person stay behind to chope the seat. that fella will have to get up and look for food and queue AFTER someone else come back. Meaning there is longer leadtime for the table to be free.
But I think there should be a certain 'code of conduct'. Meaning, one pack of belonging for 1 chair - then pp will know if the other is taken/free. -
just wondering, how would you feel if people took away your tissue paper and sit on the seat that you ''chop''? :?
do you demand that that person stand up and give back your seat or do you find another seat? if that person dun give back ths seat, then how do you end this?
dun :torchme: me hor, I just want to know more. -
smurf:
So far, it had never happened to me before. haha! But if it happens, I will take back my tissue and look for another seat. No hard feelings.just wondering, how would you feel if people took away your tissue paper and sit on the seat that you ''chop''? :?
do you demand that that person stand up and give back your seat or do you find another seat? if that person dun give back ths seat, then how do you end this?
dun :torchme: me hor, I just want to know more. -
I thought I read a couple years back that there are tissue packs being sold with the word \"CHOPPED\" printed on the wrapper? Haven't seen it with my own eyes though....lovekidsverymuch:
looks like it has become a national practice :!:
It is national practice so there is a business opportunity here...

What I had in mind before was, each seat will be fitted with a small display.
When the customer approach the food court, he/she will send an SMS like this \"<foodcourt> <numberOfseats> <displayname>\". The system will allocate seat for him/her. The operator can decide if SMS reservation is chargeable or not. A confirmation SMS will be sent if the system can find the number of seat requested.
The small display on the table will show \"Reserved by <displayname> <time>\" where time is set to 10 mins (can be more, can be less based on how crowded the place is) and is counting down.
If the guy is still in the queue buying food and the timer is nearer to zero, he/she can SMS to increase the timer, and a separate charge may apply.
When not in use for reservation, the small display can run advertisement, i.e. the mee goreng store opposite that table can say, want to have a special mee gorent ? one time special offer ! or even a short movie (again, on demand request via SMS) while you enjoy your meal.
The above business idea is Patent-Pending. Please do not copy. If you interested to develop this idea with me, send me a PM. -
IMHO, too costly to implement and maintain.
Waste paper and plastic lah !wow ! good advise on using takeway packs.
:celebrate: -
but when you are alone with a young child, using takeaway is the better option.
Yusof:
Er... i don't think this business idea is feasible. Too troublesome for the consumer and costly for the foodcourt operators. No monetary benefit for them gain from this display at all. As for hawker centres, definitely not workable.ks2me:

What I had in mind before was, each seat will be fitted with a small display.
When the customer approach the food court, he/she will send an SMS like this \"<foodcourt> <numberOfseats> <displayname>\". The system will allocate seat for him/her. The operator can decide if SMS reservation is chargeable or not. A confirmation SMS will be sent if the system can find the number of seat requested.
The small display on the table will show \"Reserved by <displayname> <time>\" where time is set to 10 mins (can be more, can be less based on how crowded the place is) and is counting down.
If the guy is still in the queue buying food and the timer is nearer to zero, he/she can SMS to increase the timer, and a separate charge may apply.
When not in use for reservation, the small display can run advertisement, i.e. the mee goreng store opposite that table can say, want to have a special mee gorent ? one time special offer ! or even a short movie (again, on demand request via SMS) while you enjoy your meal.
The above business idea is Patent-Pending. Please do not copy. If you interested to develop this idea with me, send me a PM.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.