Chope-ing (reserving) seats using tissue paper

81 Posts 17 Posters 21.3k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

but when you are alone with a young child, using takeaway is the better option.

• dimsumD Offline
        dimsum

Yusof:

It is national practice so there is a business opportunity here... 😉

What I had in mind before was, each seat will be fitted with a small display.

When the customer approach the food court, he/she will send an SMS like this \"<foodcourt> <numberOfseats> <displayname>\". The system will allocate seat for him/her. The operator can decide if SMS reservation is chargeable or not. A confirmation SMS will be sent if the system can find the number of seat requested.

The small display on the table will show \"Reserved by <displayname> <time>\" where time is set to 10 mins (can be more, can be less based on how crowded the place is) and is counting down.

If the guy is still in the queue buying food and the timer is nearer to zero, he/she can SMS to increase the timer, and a separate charge may apply.

When not in use for reservation, the small display can run advertisement, i.e. the mee goreng store opposite that table can say, want to have a special mee gorent ? one time special offer ! or even a short movie (again, on demand request via SMS) while you enjoy your meal.

The above business idea is Patent-Pending. Please do not copy. If you interested to develop this idea with me, send me a PM.

Er... i don't think this business idea is feasible. Too troublesome for the consumer and costly for the foodcourt operators. No monetary benefit for them gain from this display at all. As for hawker centres, definitely not workable.

smurf

if I bring toddler and rushing, I definitely won't use this service. it's too troublesome. where got so much time doing SMS.?? :?

and imagine, you just bought the food and is trying to find the reserved seat, then the timer ends, you have to fumble and try to do SMS. and while you do SMS and hold the food, the food drops, how? 😛

auntieM

Elderly and foreigners how? Very stressful to eat in such a place leh, a lot of procedure to follow… …

No offence to chope-ers... but i have never associated this chope-ing

of seats with tissue paper a national practice whatsoever. I simply find

it selfish and inconsiderate. I for one have never done so and to find

someone do it in my presence is simply a blatant display of insensitivity.

With or without toddler, another baby and a whole lot of mommy's battle

gear... i have always gone with food purchase first followed by getting

seats.

If dining with others family or colleagues, we take turns to get our food...

or one person can buy for another friend or family member, who sits. When

i see people who have finished eating and won't move butts, i would smile

and politely ask, \"Are you still using this seat?\" 😐 I'm the sort who doesn't

mind if in groups, we don't necessarily hafta eat together.. if lunch time is

short then just get yer food and eat where there is space. Chit chat later

when walking back to office. Important thing is lunch time is for makan..

so just makan loh. If too crowded, sometimes me and my colleagues all

tapao and eat together back in the office.

When my children grew older, i asked them to sit and wait for

me to get the food (within sight). Simple as that. I don't believe in

inconveniencing others who oredi have food to eat and deprive them of a

seat to get down to the eating part oredi. In fact i have put one DD before

on my lap so that another patron could have a seat and quickly gobble up

their lunch too.

And most occasions dining out, when we are almost done with ours, we will

wave at another family who may be looking for a space to catch their meal.

In short, i'm not in favour of this ridiculous tissue paper reservation practice.

It ain't nice. JMHO.

Yusof:
                What I had in mind before was, each seat will be fitted with a small display.

When the customer approach the food court, he/she will send an SMS like this \"<foodcourt> <numberOfseats> <displayname>\". The system will allocate seat for him/her. The operator can decide if SMS reservation is chargeable or not. A confirmation SMS will be sent if the system can find the number of seat requested.

The small display on the table will show \"Reserved by <displayname> <time>\" where time is set to 10 mins (can be more, can be less based on how crowded the place is) and is counting down.

If the guy is still in the queue buying food and the timer is nearer to zero, he/she can SMS to increase the timer, and a separate charge may apply.

When not in use for reservation, the small display can run advertisement, i.e. the mee goreng store opposite that table can say, want to have a special mee gorent ? one time special offer ! or even a short movie (again, on demand request via SMS) while you enjoy your meal.

The above business idea is Patent-Pending. Please do not copy. If you interested to develop this idea with me, send me a PM.
                It's an interesting idea, but kinda like how the Americans spent a couple of millions developing a pen that can work in space, while the Soviets just used pencils.

It is too expensive an option for open canteen-like hawker centres or foodcourts, and not required by restaurants who have their own waiters to do the crowd management. You will need to look for something in-between food courts and restaurants.

To solve the problem, can simply have a ticketing machine at the entrance for people to press and print out a chope-ing coupon with the time on it. So you can use the coupon to chope for the next 10mins.

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

It's an interesting idea, but kinda like how the Americans spent a couple of millions developing a pen that can work in space, while the Soviets just used pencils......

:lol: I did not know this. interesting :celebrate:

smurf

No offence hor, but I agreed with Buds on this and I did the same thing too. :celebrate:

hquek

I have seen people \"booking\" table using those free newspaper. And there was an occassion when there was sudden strong wind that sent all these newspaper flying ... it was a sight .. and a big mess.

I pity the poor aunties and uncles who have to clear up... :x

hquek

smurf:
                        just wondering, how would you feel if people took away your tissue paper and sit on the seat that you ''chop''? :?

do you demand that that person stand up and give back your seat or do you find another seat? if that person dun give back ths seat, then how do you end this?

dun :torchme: me hor, I just want to know more.
                        I got no guts one lah...will take back my tissue and look for another. Unless very fired up, then pour the food over that fella's head (in my dreams only). 😛

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 9