Chope-ing (reserving) seats using tissue paper
Hahn-norh... :politebleah: Just because some majority are
sloppy dressers, doesn't mean all of us are. :roll: So, here's
to all the well-dressed people out there! :celebrate:
Chief is definitely leading in this elite category.. he's always
extremely smartly dressed everytime i see him.
:udaman: Clothes maketh the man they say.. and so 4
him in this case, clothes maketh the good Chief.
Eh wat happen to our tissues chope-ing? Settle liao harh? :lol: -
Yusof:
I dun think it's high tech at all. I fully understand you point.:Psmurf:
if I bring toddler and rushing, I definitely won't use this service. it's too troublesome. where got so much time doing SMS.?? :?
and imagine, you just bought the food and is trying to find the reserved seat, then the timer ends, you have to fumble and try to do SMS. and while you do SMS and hold the food, the food drops, how?
Then you miss the point altogether. Too high tech for you.
The idea is, while you walk to the foodcourt, you send the SMS. It gives you about 10 mins to go straight to get the food, and go the seat reserved for you.
It is not meant for you to buy the food first, then send the SMS.
what I mean is, if I'm rushing, and walk to the food centre or whatever, you still need to stop for a moment to type SMS right?? even if you haven't REACH the food centre yet.unless you can type WHILE walking. sorry, I can't do that lor. and if I'm with toddler, even worse right? (if you have a very active child, you would know why) just imagine, your child actively running, crying and you need to fumble to type sms?? how easy can that be??
yes, you can go straight to the reserved seat. but mind you, a food centre is not that small, if you are at the entrance, how would you know WHICH seat is allocated for you?? obviously, you still need a very big signboard or someone to ursher you there right? unless of course you are very familiar with that place. and if you need an ursher, isn't that the same practice as eating in a restaurant? except that the ursher in restaurant double up as waitress/waiter.
what I mean is, when the timer (according to your theory) is up, and if you are still queuing for food. you still need to send another SMS to increase the timer timing again. unless you can calculate the timing in such a way that you know the timer is going to be up soon, so BEFORE you start to order the food, you do SMS again. then the timer will reset to zero. or you risk holding the food (when it's ready) and do SMS again. then what happen if the food topper while you are SMSing??
no offense, but I think there are better way of doing this. -
smurf:
I dun think it's high tech at all. I fully understand you point.:PYusof:
[quote=\"smurf\"]if I bring toddler and rushing, I definitely won't use this service. it's too troublesome. where got so much time doing SMS.?? :?
and imagine, you just bought the food and is trying to find the reserved seat, then the timer ends, you have to fumble and try to do SMS. and while you do SMS and hold the food, the food drops, how?
Then you miss the point altogether. Too high tech for you.
The idea is, while you walk to the foodcourt, you send the SMS. It gives you about 10 mins to go straight to get the food, and go the seat reserved for you.
It is not meant for you to buy the food first, then send the SMS.
what I mean is, if I'm rushing, and walk to the food centre or whatever, you still need to stop for a moment to type SMS right?? even if you haven't REACH the food centre yet.unless you can type WHILE walking. sorry, I can't do that lor. and if I'm with toddler, even worse right? (if you have a very active child, you would know why) just imagine, your child actively running, crying and you need to fumble to type sms?? how easy can that be??
yes, you can go straight to the reserved seat. but mind you, a food centre is not that small, if you are at the entrance, how would you know WHICH seat is allocated for you?? obviously, you still need a very big signboard or someone to ursher you there right? unless of course you are very familiar with that place. and if you need an ursher, isn't that the same practice as eating in a restaurant? except that the ursher in restaurant double up as waitress/waiter.
what I mean is, when the timer (according to your theory) is up, and if you are still queuing for food. you still need to send another SMS to increase the timer timing again. unless you can calculate the timing in such a way that you know the timer is going to be up soon, so BEFORE you start to order the food, you do SMS again. then the timer will reset to zero. or you risk holding the food (when it's ready) and do SMS again. then what happen if the food topper while you are SMSing??
no offense, but I think there are better way of doing this.[/quote]LKVM...see? Did I not say that there is a big business opportunity here?
Actually our office has a few ways of beating it:
1. Order delivery food - a little more expensive than hawker centre say $4 instead of $3 for a pack. Someone will take order and call caterer about 1 hour before lunch. The food is delicious and the menu changes every day.
2. Someone go for lunch and pack for the rest.
3. If want to go out esp in groups, go 10 mins before actually lunch time before the crowd appears.
4. Go at a later time (if got to clear some work or not that hungry so do some shopping or run errands first) when crowd begins to disperse.
The most crowded time will be 12 - 1230pm and 1 - 130pm.
For hawker centres outside CBD, they are not so crowded that you need to stand behind tables and wait for them to finish. No need to chop tables lah.
Good points!! Tutormum.
For me, I eat sandwiches lunch and most of the time I need a quick bite so I will eat in our inhouse cafe or tabao from there. Other times I would be out at meetings, so I actually have no chance to do the tissue stunt. So I have never needed to do it before. -
Yes, tutormom.. i go by the same alternative as pointed
by your good self too when i was still working..
Like ks2me said, never really had the need to tissue-
chope.. but i'm not intending to start anytime. -
smurf:
Not only you, there are others who miseed my point too.
I dun think it's high tech at all. I fully understand you point.:P
(a) the system is good for a busy food court in CBD area; generally, these people are office workers around there. Senior citizen, tourists, mother with active child, not say cannot go there, but try to avoid the crowd lah !
(b) If you are there, not say you die die must use the SMS. You can don't use. You can sit and watch the movie also. But don't pour soup on it lah.
(c) If you want to your child to watch a cartoon so that he or she will guai guai eat the food, can, sms <tablenumber> <ben10> But this service won't be available during rush hours otherwise all the people very angry you take up the seat watch cartoon.
There could be other system available too.
But just don't use silly tissue paper --- that is my point. -
1. Order delivery food - a little more expensive than hawker centre say $4 instead of $3 for a pack. Someone will take order and call caterer about 1 hour before lunch. The food is delicious and the menu changes every day.
>>>>>Got $4 delivery food meh ? In Shenton and Raffles Place ? No shadow lah !
2. Someone go for lunch and pack for the rest.
>>>>>Not earth friendly leh, food packing is the most wasteful. Don't do it too often. The someone also very 'suay' got to carry food for many people. Usually is the one alway did not meet target rite !
I eat sandwiches lunch and most of the time I need a quick bite so I will eat in our inhouse cafe or tabao from there.
Actually I got another idea.
I want to set up a service to deliver sandwiches to office. I will prepare the 'liao' (fillings) in larger containers, then deliver to offiice you can make your own. The servings is for more than 1 pax.
Know what I mean ? I don't want to pack one by one, very waste paper and plastic. I prepare lots of salmon, tuna, lots of veg, lots of salad, in reusable food container, keep warm, keep cold....then send to your office.
Lunch time, you and your colleagues sit in pantry and make sandwitch and eat there. Then I collect back the containers.
Anyone interested or not ? -
Yusof:
Places like Banquet and coffee shops that we're used to buying from2. Someone go for lunch and pack for the rest.
>>>>>Not earth friendly leh, food packing is the most wasteful. Don't do it too often. The someone also very 'suay' got to carry food for many people. Usually is the one alway did not meet target rite !
encourage patrons bringing in their own containers too. And nope, the
one who buys does not necessarily mean the one who didn't meet
target.. in my instance i go out earlier before the mad lunch rush while
my staff are at work, so that when i come back they can eat on time &
have their deserved break before the next group of customers come in.
I even tell them to have 40 winks if they have time to so that won't feel
too sleepy during the after-lunch afternoon effect. So, i'm the very loving
boss kind.. we are like a family.. so i like mother hen, take care of my
baby chicks. When you take care of your family, the family will help you
take care of your house.
Other times, there's also the rotational
option where round robin practice is in place for all colleagues to have a
turn at lunch shopping.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.