2016 PSLE Discussions (Born in 2004)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    4.5k Posts 16 Posters 968.5k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

Reenie:
      Hi all,

Happy New Year! A new school term has started! May all our kids enjoy school and new challenges!

1. Just want to quickly check, my daughter is in HMT. Does anyone know if we still need to buy assessment or past year papers for normal MT? Or focus only on HMT?

2. May I know which secondary schools will she be able to opt for given that she has extra points for HMT?

Thanks a lot!!!!
      Hi, my limited understanding is that for P6 (HCL, noted you indicate MT, I am guessing it's the same for other languages), they will take the normal CL paper AND the HCL paper. If you are looking for past year papers, likely will have to buy both.

For HCL, she will be able to use those extra points when applying to SAP schools - cannot use if it's a non SAP school.

Link to MOE language programmes for sec schools /http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/secondary/language-programmes

Reenie

hi hquek!

thank you so much for your quick response!

She is offered higher chinese language (HMT) but i am not sure if i still need to close the gap between MT and HMT, i think the paper requirement may be different.

hi steadyberry,

i would like to buy the science textbook from you. could you please PM me your mobile number? thanks.

hey steadyberry,
          thank you so much.

happy to be mum

Happy new year! Jiayou all mummies & daddies here and of course to our DS / DD taking PSLE this year!

Had been away from 2 weeks trip and just came back on last Sat, really hard to start engine but have to start now!

DS just called and said today teachers starting to give out homework.

can I ask whether it is possible to spot / narrow down MT oral topic? My DS’s MT is really bad and I think I need to resort to narrow down MT oral topics for him.

hanaraihana

hi… a cute question… any idea when is psle this year?

Champion

hanaraihana:
                hi.. a cute question.. any idea when is psle this year?

http://www.seab.gov.sg/content/examCale ... r_PSLE.pdf

2016 PSLE EXAMINATION CALENDAR (TENTATIVE)
                Registration Mon, 07 March – Mon, 28 March 2016
                Oral Examination Thu, 18 August – Fri, 19 August 2016
                Listening Comprehension Fri, 16 September 2016
                Written Examination Thu, 29 September – Wed, 05 October 2016
                Marking Exercise Mon, 17 October – Thu, 20 October 2016

Note: The examination timetable will be made available by 22 February 2016.

• iRabbitI Offline
                  iRabbit

Reenie:
                  hi hquek!

thank you so much for your quick response!

She is offered higher chinese language (HMT) but i am not sure if i still need to close the gap between MT and HMT, i think the paper requirement may be different.
                  Iirc, P6 HCL exam consists of only Compo & OE compre.

• iRabbitI Offline
                    iRabbit

Reenie:

Hi all,

Happy New Year! A new school term has started! May all our kids enjoy school and new challenges!

1. Just want to quickly check, my daughter is in HMT. Does anyone know if we still need to buy assessment or past year papers for normal MT? Or focus only on HMT?

2. May I know which secondary schools will she be able to opt for given that she has extra points for HMT?

Thanks a lot!!!!

Hi, my limited understanding is that for P6 (HCL, noted you indicate MT, I am guessing it's the same for other languages), they will take the normal CL paper AND the HCL paper. If you are looking for past year papers, likely will have to buy both.

For HCL, she will be able to use those extra points when applying to SAP schools - cannot use if it's a non SAP school.

Link to MOE language programmes for sec schools /http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/secondary/language-programmes

Is it possible for someone to do very well for HCL (Dist) but not for CL (non-A*)?

Steadyberry

Yes, it is possible. In my ds class, there are a few of such students. Last yr psle, I know someone who got 3A* for EMS & A for CL. But he got dist for hcl.

• iRabbitI Offline
                        iRabbit

Steadyberry:
                        Yes, it is possible. In my ds class, there are a few of such students. Last yr psle, I know someone who got 3A* for EMS & A for CL. But he got dist for hcl.

Walao eh, siao liao. I've not been giving my son much CL practices to do, thinking there's no need since he's doing alright for HCL so far.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 112 / 450