Any divorce lawyer to recommend to a sahm?
Hi, I managed to find a list of legal clinics.
http://legalclinics.sg/
http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/forPublic/FindPractitioners/Judiciary,LegalServiceOtherBodies/HotlinesHelplines.aspx
Hope these resources help.
John -
Hi, I’m facing the almost same situation too. I’m a SAHM too and my hub wanna divorce. I have no prob with the custody as he is willing to give up the custody of our son. But my main concern is our flat. Not sure if I’m able to retain the flat?
JJChow:
Hi, I'm facing the almost same situation too. I'm a SAHM too and my hub wanna divorce. I have no prob with the custody as he is willing to give up the custody of our son. But my main concern is our flat. Not sure if I'm able to retain the flat?
Hi JJChow,
Sorry to hear about what you are going through.
Different cases are unique and personally, it is best you consult HDB and your lawyer on your legal rights.
There is a centre called HELP FSC which helps single-parents. They know best. You may want to call them and ask to speak to their social workers.
http://www.helpfsc.org.sg/contact-us
Here is a link from HDB website: http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10326p.nsf/w/ChgOwnerDivorce?OpenDocument
Hope this helps.
John -
Hi John
Thanks for the contacts. -
JJChow:
U r welcomeHi John
Thanks for the contacts.
JJChow:
Hi, I'm facing the almost same situation too. I'm a SAHM too and my hub wanna divorce. I have no prob with the custody as he is willing to give up the custody of our son. But my main concern is our flat. Not sure if I'm able to retain the flat?
If u have the custody of your son, u are able to retain the flat. But u r a SAHM, will you able to pay the monthly instalment of the flat? If u are able to retain the flat, hw much CPF monies u need to pay back your ex-hubby to be?
Since u r a SAHM, y not u go for Legal Aid for help. It will be cheaper but longer period for the process.
Im also in the process of divorce so dun worry. I believe the law will help the woman。
Hope it helps!
http://www.lab.gov.sg -
Hi mummy of 3… Thanks for ur advise…
Currently I’m still a SAHM. But will b looking up for job as soon as my son goes to childcare. I was thinking of getting my husband (ex husband going to be) to transfer the house to my name… And after that I am planning to get a smaller flat instead since its just going to me n my boy. Not sure if its works.
Any idea if I need to have my own lawyer too? Cos I think my husband (ex husband going to be) will be settling the legal procedure etc etc… We haven’t really got the time to really further discuss yet as we both wanna settle our boy’s childcare first. And he always treat the house like a hotel. Only come home to bathe n sleep.
Gosh… Now I just wanna faster put my boy in a childcare and start working. -
JJChow:
Unless you agree everything that your ex-husband's term and conditions. If dun agree then need lawyer to settle. Mine also treat the house like hotel. Bathe and sleep only. Ask him to transfer his name to your boy to retain the flat. But you need to pay him back his money that had contribute in CPF. It takes around 5 to 6 mths if is a uncontested divorce.Hi mummy of 3.. Thanks for ur advise..
Currently I'm still a SAHM. But will b looking up for job as soon as my son goes to childcare. I was thinking of getting my husband (ex husband going to be) to transfer the house to my name... And after that I am planning to get a smaller flat instead since its just going to me n my boy. Not sure if its works.
Any idea if I need to have my own lawyer too? Cos I think my husband (ex husband going to be) will be settling the legal procedure etc etc.. We haven't really got the time to really further discuss yet as we both wanna settle our boy's childcare first. And he always treat the house like a hotel. Only come home to bathe n sleep.
Gosh... Now I just wanna faster put my boy in a childcare and start working. -
Hi, I need some advise, recently I found my hub seeing a Malaysian beer lady (1 1/2months) and even went to hotel to stay over night he still wanted to over up with lies and after consistent question he finally admit he is seeing another divorce woman which have 2 kids age 7 and 10. He told me he want to start up new life with her, I’m heartbroken and my girl just got her PSLE result which is not so good. I need to advise if his is the right choice to divorce him and let him be with that woman age 32 my hub is 47 and I’m 43. We are married for 25 years he can easily give up by a relationship of 1 1/2 months, maybe because she is young.
I had no confidence to start over all again by myself with my limited monthly pay. I limited financial to engage a lawyer,
Pls help I do not want him to have any share of our 4room HDB flat or my girl.
The flat left with 2 years to complete the loan and paid using my monthly CPF. Pls help to give me more idea and advise and also the divorce procedure, Thks -
joanna:
Hi, I need some advise, recently I found my hub seeing a Malaysian beer lady (1 1/2months) and even went to hotel to stay over night he still wanted to over up with lies and after consistent question he finally admit he is seeing another divorce woman which have 2 kids age 7 and 10. He told me he want to start up new life with her, I'm heartbroken and my girl just got her PSLE result which is not so good. I need to advise if his is the right choice to divorce him and let him be with that woman age 32 my hub is 47 and I'm 43. We are married for 25 years he can easily give up by a relationship of 1 1/2 months, maybe because she is young.
I had no confidence to start over all again by myself with my limited monthly pay. I limited financial to engage a lawyer,
Pls help I do not want him to have any share of our 4room HDB flat or my girl.
The flat left with 2 years to complete the loan and paid using my monthly CPF. Pls help to give me more idea and advise and also the divorce procedure, Thks
:imsorry: to hear what you are going through...but are you sure you are giving up your 25 years of marriage....to build up a home is not easy , especially you have sacrifice 25 years of your youth....think again....
But if you need help you can try seeking advice from AWARE Singapore
http://www.aware.org.sg/
AWARE Centre
Association of Women for Action & Research
Block 5 Dover Crescent #01-22
Singapore 130005
Tel +65 6779 7137
Fax +65 6777 0318
Helpline 1800 774 5935
Stay Strong!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.