How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    1.8k Posts 133 Posters 369.6k Views 2 Watching
      TheAnswer

Cutting down expenses long term is not easy. Nothing to look forward to. What is the point of retirement then?

• MyPillowM Offline
        MyPillow

Different people have diff views on retirement , no rights or wrongs - just suit own needs.

I prefer to partial enjoy now and stay simple when old (no need car, condo , no need holidays etc )
        what i fear most is becoming a burden to the upcoming generations, and a burden to myself or spouse . ( i saw a few old age cancer cases fr people i knew- miserable cases)
        I am thinking by 71 yo, maybe i can start to be unhealthy again eat n eat, no need to measure blood pressure, chol level etc so higher chance to \"go\" by age 75 ,76( The end) :rotflmao: Or through Faith, God will bring us home at 70s , hopefully v peacefully (So must do good deeds and increase our kindness bank acct balance in heaven 😉

• Y Offline
          Yngmng

I used to spend about 1k per mth for my DD1 enrichment. For my DD2 who is much younger, I only plan to spend around 200 per mth. Cannot afford to splurge… as I am in my forties…

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

Hey I just came out to work and loving it...just started to feel like a younger woman again and you gals all busy talking about retirement :rotflmao:

Ok, I visualized just now while driving..i saw an older lady with her ezlink card strap around her neck heading to a bus stop..and I imagined myself staying in JB driving a car with greenery around me..ok leh..both scenarios also I like..could feel the peace.

• MyPillowM Offline
              MyPillow

MrsKiasu:
              Hey I just came out to work and loving it...just started to feel like a younger woman again and you gals all busy talking about retirement :rotflmao:

Ok, I visualized just now while driving..i saw an older lady with her ezlink card strap around her neck heading to a bus stop..and I imagined myself staying in JB driving a car with greenery around me..ok leh..both scenarios also I like..could feel the peace.
              why want to go JB ? i hesitant to bring $$ to othercountries economy where my family is working in Spore

JB air got fresh meh 🕺

And yes, I find the view of caring old couple taking public transport like MRT or buses supporting n holding each other v heart warming and romantic (picture of retirement in mind )

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                MrsKiasu

MyPillow:
                MrsKiasu:

why want to go JB ? i hesitant to bring $$ to othercountries economy where my family is working in Spore

JB air got fresh meh 🕺

An option if want cheaper retirement mah..but if can choose, China is also not bad if angmoh countries is too ex..well that is assuming Sin is most ex among all
                else Sin will be no.1 as retirement place as kids are here.

• Y Offline
                  Yngmng

Difficult to get PR in China leh…my relatives who has been working in China for decades still need to come back to Singapore annually to chop passport… If not, prefer China over Malaysia…after all, China has 5000 years of history…rich culture…

• Y Offline
                    Yngmng

Difficult to get PR in China leh…my relatives who has been working in China for decades still need to come back to Singapore annually to chop passport… If not, prefer China over Malaysia…after all, China has 5000 years of history…rich culture…

• MyPillowM Offline
                      MyPillow

😢 - oh dear, sad if most people feel the high retirement cost in singapore

and doing ways to get out -

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                        MrsKiasu

MyPillow:
                        😢 - oh dear, sad if most people feel the high retirement cost in singapore

and doing ways to get out -
                        Talk only la..how to retire in other countries..need to continue serving my 2 ladies here :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 181