2016 PSLE Discussions (Born in 2004)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    4.5k Posts 16 Posters 959.2k Views 1 Watching
      sleepy

UBKmom:
      anyway told him to stop playing immediately and go study...told him without a degree next time, you dont even have a job in first place to be retrenched....kids nowsaday!

Actually 行行出状元!
      Dh and I patron this popular kopi stall at Chinatown. Perceptual long queue for kopi. We guess-timated the stall owner's income. The figure is :yikes:
      Macam we are from IRAS 😆

Dh told kids he should consider selling kopi. And kids can be 咖啡西施 for his stall
      First step - we shall all learn how to make nice kopi :rotflmao:

Paiseh :offtopic:

Namie:
        My son is hopeless. I told him a Down syndrome boy will do better in PSLE than him. He is not someone who can do his parents proud. Bring shame to us only. Told my husband I cannot live with the shame of a non-performing child.

I sense a lot of anger in you. It's very hurtful to shove these words on a 11/12 year old boy.

my daughter is very weak academically, failing since p1 or else marginal passes. she has a specific language impairment and a very poor memory...what was taught yesterday would be forgotten on the same day.

her tutors told me point-blank she cannot make it. as a parent, it was devastating to hear that...it was like being slapped in the face.

no child is born stupid. there could be a reason or some unknown reasons why he/she does not want to do well. why don't your hubby and yourself sit down with your son for a good chat? perhaps you could go out for ice cream in a relaxed atmosphere.

• iRabbitI Offline
          iRabbit

MyPillow:

Take v Gd care of yourself n your ds. Dun let this affect relationship with spouse too . Stay and walk closely with your ds.

For general reminder: suicide cases in kids n teens are not low recent years. Pls Take note, all parents. Stay in Love.
          Reading your post reminds me of this double tragedy last year. :gloomy:

Even in the depths of our disappointments, we should take care not to make our children feel that they're unworthy of life if they don't do well academically. I believe the granny below shared her heart-breaking story in the hope that no one else will suffer the same fate as her grandchild and daughter.

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/woman-loses-grandchild-and-daughter-suicide-20150728

Woman loses grandchild and daughter to suicide
          MAUREEN KOH

SHE was still coming to terms with the death of her teenage granddaughter, who had committed suicide over scoring two Bs in her O levels.

But three months after the 16-year-old plunged to her death, Ng Siang Mui's grief-stricken and guilt-ridden daughter, who was the teen's mother, also killed herself. The tragic double deaths have left her son-in-law, who is the teen's father, mentally unstable.

More children and teenagers have been seeking help for suicidal thoughts, said the Samaritans of Singapore (SOS).

SOS said that in 2013, 224 children and teens aged 19 and below wrote in to them through its E-mail Befriending Service. From this group, 163 were considered to be at real risk of suicide.

SOS is concerned about this age group because of the rise in the number of youngsters seeking help - it saw 65 more young people in 2013, compared with the year before.

Yesterday, SOS also said that suicides among males had increased by 29 per cent, from 227 in 2004 to 292 last year, while female suicides had decreased by 20 per cent, from 154 in 2004 to 123 last year, The Straits Times reported.

In an interview with The New Paper, Madam Ng, 71, shared the devastation and anguish of the tragedy that began in January when, just three hours after getting her results slip, her granddaughter jumped to her death.

Except for two Bs - in English and Mathematics - the student had scored distinctions for her other subjects.

The only child left a note for her parents: \"Mum, I am sorry for being a disappointment. I should have done better.

\"Dad, I am sorry you will not have the chance to walk me down the (church) aisle to give me away.\"

Her parents used to fight over her education. The girl had been a straight-A student who attended a top school. The mother wanted to push her to excel and her father felt that the child should be left alone.

\"My Xiao Mei (her granddaughter's nickname) was always affected whenever her parents fought over her studies,\" Madam Ng said in Khek.

\"(My daughter) often compared Xiao Mei's results with those of her friends' children and would ask, 'How come so and so can do this and you cannot?' \"

Xiao Mei's mother wanted her to get into medical school.

A family friend, housewife Lynn Wee, 45, spoke of how she and close friends tried to watch over Xiao Mei's mother after the funeral. Mrs Wee said: \"She maintained a stoic front and even admitted that she would have been disappointed with her child's academic performance.\"

But that facade slowly slipped in the weeks that followed, said Madam Ng, who has three grandsons from two other children. Madam Ng said that a month after Xiao Mei's death, her father moved out. \"That broke my daughter's heart.\"

A day before she killed herself, Madam Ng's daughter told her: \"Ma, I shouldn't have pressurised Xiao Mei in her studies. You didn't do that to us when we were young and we all turned out fine.\"

The New Paper understands that Xiao Mei's father is seeking psychiatric help.

Added Madam Ng: \"If only we had noticed or realised that Xiao Mei was suffering, we could have asked for professional help and this tragedy would have been prevented.\"

THE NEW PAPER

• Oh My GoshO Offline
            Oh My Gosh

Choy... I know these are true stories but let's not think of all these sad cases. Let's support our kids in this last lapse and look forward to their next stage in life (Secondary Schools) regardless of their results. This KSP website have let us parents make some \"good friends\" together this one year... Thank you all 🙂

• MrsKiasuM Offline
              MrsKiasu

But sometimes it could just do wonder to wake certain people up…me included.

as parents, we see a dark future if the kids don’t work hard. but setting high standards and saying hurtful words is guaranteed for something unpleasant to happen. some kids might burn out mentally and this is as good as not sitting for the exam. some push is necessary, but we have to know the child’s character in order to set a reasonable standard.

my 2 kids are different…daughter is academically weak, so if she can pass all her subjects and make it to NA, that is a very big achievement. my son is capable of doing better, so I do have higher expectations for him put across in a diplomatic tone. he knows it.

hquek

Thanks irabbit for sharing that news…I forgot about it and this is a timely reminder. Not so much a choy thing but rather to reinforce what’s important to me - ie that DS works hard and learns from his mistakes - the results is secondary. Although nerve wracking (cos I wun know where he faltered) but since it’s the norm, I have come to accept that (I won’t know how he did in terms of papers).

Good luck to all P6ers. Time to sculpt your destiny is NOW…once the paper is over, it’s over and we all move on. All the best to parents too, may our nerves hold up till Oct.

armadilloshield

When my first child had her PSLE 7 year ago, I have a little worries, now with my 2nd child, I think more relax. PSLE is not the end, even she/he doesn’t score well. Don’t worry too much, just ask your kids to practice to do some past exam paper when they free. Practice makes perfect 🙂

• Y Offline
                      Yngmng

iRabbit:
                      MyPillow:

Take v Gd care of yourself n your ds. Dun let this affect relationship with spouse too . Stay and walk closely with your ds.

For general reminder: suicide cases in kids n teens are not low recent years. Pls Take note, all parents. Stay in Love.

Reading your post reminds me of this double tragedy last year. :gloomy:

Even in the depths of our disappointments, we should take care not to make our children feel that they're unworthy of life if they don't do well academically. I believe the granny below shared her heart-breaking story in the hope that no one else will suffer the same fate as her grandchild and daughter.

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/woman-loses-grandchild-and-daughter-suicide-20150728

Woman loses grandchild and daughter to suicide
                      MAUREEN KOH

SHE was still coming to terms with the death of her teenage granddaughter, who had committed suicide over scoring two Bs in her O levels.

But three months after the 16-year-old plunged to her death, Ng Siang Mui's grief-stricken and guilt-ridden daughter, who was the teen's mother, also killed herself. The tragic double deaths have left her son-in-law, who is the teen's father, mentally unstable.

More children and teenagers have been seeking help for suicidal thoughts, said the Samaritans of Singapore (SOS).

SOS said that in 2013, 224 children and teens aged 19 and below wrote in to them through its E-mail Befriending Service. From this group, 163 were considered to be at real risk of suicide.

SOS is concerned about this age group because of the rise in the number of youngsters seeking help - it saw 65 more young people in 2013, compared with the year before.

Yesterday, SOS also said that suicides among males had increased by 29 per cent, from 227 in 2004 to 292 last year, while female suicides had decreased by 20 per cent, from 154 in 2004 to 123 last year, The Straits Times reported.

In an interview with The New Paper, Madam Ng, 71, shared the devastation and anguish of the tragedy that began in January when, just three hours after getting her results slip, her granddaughter jumped to her death.

Except for two Bs - in English and Mathematics - the student had scored distinctions for her other subjects.

The only child left a note for her parents: \"Mum, I am sorry for being a disappointment. I should have done better.

\"Dad, I am sorry you will not have the chance to walk me down the (church) aisle to give me away.\"

Her parents used to fight over her education. The girl had been a straight-A student who attended a top school. The mother wanted to push her to excel and her father felt that the child should be left alone.

\"My Xiao Mei (her granddaughter's nickname) was always affected whenever her parents fought over her studies,\" Madam Ng said in Khek.

\"(My daughter) often compared Xiao Mei's results with those of her friends' children and would ask, 'How come so and so can do this and you cannot?' \"

Xiao Mei's mother wanted her to get into medical school.

A family friend, housewife Lynn Wee, 45, spoke of how she and close friends tried to watch over Xiao Mei's mother after the funeral. Mrs Wee said: \"She maintained a stoic front and even admitted that she would have been disappointed with her child's academic performance.\"

But that facade slowly slipped in the weeks that followed, said Madam Ng, who has three grandsons from two other children. Madam Ng said that a month after Xiao Mei's death, her father moved out. \"That broke my daughter's heart.\"

A day before she killed herself, Madam Ng's daughter told her: \"Ma, I shouldn't have pressurised Xiao Mei in her studies. You didn't do that to us when we were young and we all turned out fine.\"

The New Paper understands that Xiao Mei's father is seeking psychiatric help.

Added Madam Ng: \"If only we had noticed or realised that Xiao Mei was suffering, we could have asked for professional help and this tragedy would have been prevented.\"

THE NEW PAPER

Earlier this year, there was another suicide case involving a P5 boy :gloomy:
                      Really, more of such cases....

we have gone this far…next week is the REAL thing. we have to hold on for 2 more weeks. time to boost kids’ confidence because half a battle is won when they step into the exam hall when they have self confidence.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 290 / 450