2016 PSLE Discussions (Born in 2004)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    4.5k Posts 16 Posters 962.4k Views 1 Watching
    • MyPillowM Offline
      MyPillow

Imp75:
      MP

hahahahaha I can pass you mine.....my DD did all but comprehensions....
      Hajahaha ... no need le - mine was last yr 😉 Sec 1 Eng seem difficult to him last dec. so he really did the compression- consider part of daily reading , better than do nothing ..n play whole day . heeee....

bridesep

4_my_son:
        If it is used as shock absorber, then answer is strong and flexible.

The definition of flexible is able to bend without breaking. Why is there a need to bend when it is used as a wall.

Definition of hard is ability to withstand scatches and indentation. Thats what my DS argued. So he chose strong and hard.

sleepy

dd1 read up Secondary Sciences and Math textbooks after psle, 2 years ago. Just to keep engine warm lor.

I think leisure reading is acceptable. The mood is relaxed too, not like she's preparing to go exam immediately. Teachers will still teach when school term starts so no pressure to master any topic lah. Although I think in her case she 有读 but 没懂 leh 😆

• 1 Offline
            1010happy

smolbean:
            Can somebody answer my questions? Thank you 😉

1. How many marks was 18(a) (graph) worth?

2. Is my compo relevant?
            My plot:
            Three girls made a pact to attend the same secondary school after PSLE, however, one of them (X) was moving. X went to school and pretended to be full of the joys of spring like how she usually was, but inwardly, she was contemplating on whether to tell her friends. In the end she decided to only tell one of them (K) as the other one (J) was very sensitive and and X did not want her to feel hurt.
            (I have now answered the questions \"What was the secret?\" and \"Why was it a secret?\" something along those lines)
            (the only time I mention the picture): J leaves to get drinks, and seizing this opportunity, \"X looks around, makes sure J is not around, inches closer to K and whispers to her her secret\". K tries to hold back her tears; at this time, J approaches and K runs away sobbing as she is hurt. J is puzzled but X lies to her and says that it was nothing, but X feels guilty. Fast forward (running out of time) X comes to school the next day and J sobs and asks her why she didn't tell her about her moving (K had told J). X comforts her saying that she would visit them and a few weeks later K and J sends X off at the airport.
            One of my friends say it doesn't really bring out the theme \"secret\" and I'm really worried. 🙏
            YOURS IS AWESOME AND INNOVATIVE WILL WAKE THE EXAMINER UP FROM SLEEPING BEAUTY SLEEP LOL.GOOD LUCK FOR GETTING IN TO YOUR DREAM SCHOOL AND BELIEVE THAT YOU CAN FLY AND ENJOY TODAY ITS CHILDRENS DAY YAYYAYYAYAYYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY:) bye 🕺 :rahrah: :boogie: :goodpost: Good luck:)

Melaka1986

My kid finds secondary 1 higher chinese really difficult. The comprehension passage is much longer, the questions are less straight forward. For those weaker in chinese, but intend to take higher chinese in secondary school, maybe read more books - chinese books , during this holiday.

BigDevil

nms1:

😉 Let's just say I speak from experience. I did let my son play his heart out for the 2.5 months after PSLE, only to be stressed for the next 4 years. Of course, you may all have different experiences. Please do what you think is best for your children.

In any case, I find it strange that parents would be all stressed up with P1 preparation and yet take a relatively relaxed attitude towards S1 preparation. Perhaps they feel that if the kids can survive PSLE, they can survive anything else... 😄

I didn't do any prep for P1 either 🙂

Then you shouldn't be here...you are not kiasu enough. 😂

zbear:

Parents are stressed up for P1 becos it's a totally new schooling experience for the little ones - after all they only attend kindy for 3 hours n it's usually study through play unlike formal education in Primary school. Kids below 12 years old still need hand holding, parents play an important role to make sure they are on the right track in their academics n study behaviors.

But for Sec school, they are now teenagers n have to learn to be independent. Parents can't hold their hands forever rite? Parents will learn to let go but still watchful of their kids. If they stumble, we are there for them n they will learn to get up after a fall.

Parents' role change from Primary school to Secondary school n beyond.
                  parents are stressed for kids going to P1 because there is no standard syllabus in kindergarten...so they do worry whether their little ones are ready for the real thing. primary school kids are still very young and playful, they need lots of hand holding. discipline and the need to follow a schedule has to be instilled at p1.

at sec 1, parents have to start letting go little by little so that the pre-teens learn to manage their schedule and revision. this is what i plan to do. maybe with my younger one, she might need a little longer to adjust.

nms1

My father-in-law teaches Chinese tuition and he has one P6 student whose mother insisted that she continue tuition without even one week’s break. She was back having lessons the day after PSLE finished! That really is taking it too far in my view.

• Y Offline
                      Yngmng

nms1:
                      My father-in-law teaches Chinese tuition and he has one P6 student whose mother insisted that she continue tuition without even one week's break. She was back having lessons the day after PSLE finished! That really is taking it too far in my view.

If the child does not want to have the tuition, he or she will not be motivated to learn. 🤷

nms1:
                        My father-in-law teaches Chinese tuition and he has one P6 student whose mother insisted that she continue tuition without even one week's break. She was back having lessons the day after PSLE finished! That really is taking it too far in my view.

Poor girl. At this rate, the girl will be burnt out before she starts Sec 1.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 379 / 450

MandyLibM
                        MandyLib