2016 PSLE Discussions (Born in 2004)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    4.5k Posts 16 Posters 957.0k Views 1 Watching
      SpartanMum

sleepy:
      MrsKiasu:

Any minimum no. of CCA to take up for sec sch?

Only 1 compulsory cca in secondary school.

If I am not wrong, it depends on the school. There is at least one school that requires 2 CCA- one UG and one other. This was a few years ago, things may have changed.

Not to worry, not all CCA schedules are heavy. For example, while my DS1 has training 3 times a week during hols as well as 2 stay-in camps, my friend's DD in another school only has to go back very occasionally. It depends on the CCA, school, etc

nansk

Kee Kor:
        My DS maintained a 9.30 -10.30pm bedtime since sec 1. So it can be done but really need to ignore the phone... lots of nonsense chat going on

I have heard that teenagers need more than 9 hours sleep; sometimes 12 hours. :roll: Not sure how dd can cope if she has homework and CCA and puberty blues.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

sleepy:
          MrsKiasu:

Any minimum no. of CCA to take up for sec sch?

Only 1 compulsory cca in secondary school.

:thankyou: we got the confirmation for next year's cca..this morning dd says, art/badminton/those sports one also she likes 😓 ..i told her no time.

• Imp75I Offline
            Imp75

pri school can afford to indulge in cca bah?

shd expose them to as many as you can to find the passion?

• MrsKiasuM Offline
              MrsKiasu

That was just what I thought for awhile..learn more thru cca 😂 but nvm la let dd get her academic stuff settled first..now I hear you all talking about the tough life in sec sch..i should allow dd to enjoy more of her me time esp during this coming sch hol.

• Imp75I Offline
                Imp75

I have no experience with the current sec sch system but during my own time in sec sch, I was into so many ccas…school netballer lah, librarian lah, Science club lah, still can manage leh…nowadays times are so so different…

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

Same but me not sporty under sun type tho. Last time easier go P1 then learn abc… Dont remember having long period of tuition also. Tuition is on off only. My parents dont bother me…i just know get 123 then got money as reward.

sleepy

SpartanMum:
                    CCA trains 3-4 times a week, tournament or no tournament and finishes around 6pm. In addition to CCA, has other commitments in school including a sort of second CCA. He still sleeps at 9.30 pm every day. Latest he has gone to bed is around10pm. He can do so because of 3 reasons:

1) School is 15 min away
                    2) He restricts his hand phone usage (I don't nag him)
                    3) He doesn't have to do housework (No, I am not proud of this at all)

But I can imagine how far bed time would get pushed back if school was an hour away, hand phone usage was uncontrolled and if housework was part of daily routine.
                    :salute: your ds for his excellent time management!

My dd1 would :imdrowning: if her schedule is as packed as your ds.
                    Right now her cca is considered quite slack that's why she can still dilly dally. Part of her daily routine. She can't move any faster liao 😂

I'm trying to enforce your #2. Constant battle with handphone usage.
                    School is far so I send/fetch her to help her save time, which she promptly uses on her daily dilly dally. She does help out in household chores. Not in a daily basis but frequent enough. She does cooking a few times a week

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

Sleepy, What does your dd2 cook usually ? Mummy doesnt cook and dd cook 😆

SpartanMum

sleepy:

:salute: your ds for his excellent time management!

My dd1 would :imdrowning: if her schedule is as packed as your ds.
                        Right now her cca is considered quite slack that's why she can still dilly dally. Part of her daily routine. She can't move any faster liao 😂

I'm trying to enforce your #2. Constant battle with handphone usage.
                        School is far so I send/fetch her to help her save time, which she promptly uses on her daily dilly dally. She does help out in household chores. Not in a daily basis but frequent enough. She does cooking a few times a week

Wow! So wonderful that your DD can cook. My DS1 would love to learn how to cook but nobody to teach him 😞

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 403 / 450