How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    1.8k Posts 133 Posters 363.8k Views 2 Watching
      sleepy

Must have passive income then consider planning for retirement?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
        starlight1968sg

sleepy:

With passive income, your principal amt is intact. But how an average Joe can generate passive income of say 2-3k per mth to fund basic living expenses?
        For me, if one has enough $$, say $ xk per mth times number of years, then when the $$ finishes, it is time to leave this world

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

Hercules, thanks for sharing and you reminded me that I have to get my kids to work part-time when they are teens. I started helping out at my uncle’s factory with my cousins ard 10yo every school holidays. Learning how to manage one’s hard earned money must be something that starts from young!

A student can survive with a few dollars every day but when this same person starts working, even with a 5-figure salary may not be enough because he would want to upgrade from HDB to Condo, upgrade Jap car to Merc/BM etc. Thus, we need to take note of "expectations inflation". Best is salary keep going up and yet still continue to live way below your means.

• lee_ylL Offline
            lee_yl

starlight1968sg:
            sleepy:

With passive income, your principal amt is intact. But how an average Joe can generate passive income of say 2-3k per mth to fund basic living expenses?
            For me, if one has enough $$, say $ xk per mth times number of years, then when the $$ finishes, it is time to leave this world

Can choose one meh? There are ppl who are still in this world but have already depleted their retirement funds. Then how?

Our grandparents generation was generally poor and would need to depend on their children to fund their retirement, leaving behind very little inheritance. For us, we should aim to be self-sufficient in our retirement and if possible, whatever left over from the retirement funds after we left this world could then be left behind as an inheritance.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
              starlight1968sg

lee_yl

You are right to say we usually can’t choose when to leave this world
              So we have to work harder to generate and save $$ for our retirement

TheAnswer

sleepy:

No. But it is better to have.

TheAnswer

starlight1968sg:
                  lee_yl

You are right to say we usually can't choose when to leave this world
                  So we have to work harder to generate and save $$ for our retirement
                  Dun make urself miserable while doing that..

hercules

lee_yl:
                    Hercules, thanks for sharing and you reminded me that I have to get my kids to work part-time when they are teens. I started helping out at my uncle's factory with my cousins ard 10yo every school holidays. Learning how to manage one's hard earned money must be something that starts from young!

A student can survive with a few dollars every day but when this same person starts working, even with a 5-figure salary may not be enough because he would want to upgrade from HDB to Condo, upgrade Jap car to Merc/BM etc. Thus, we need to take note of \"expectations inflation\". Best is salary keep going up and yet still continue to live way below your means.
                    Many parents think it's cruel to get their children to work at 17 or 18 but they dont feel it 'cruel' to get the children to study and study. I am all for character development through hard knock experiences to strengthen kids' internal resilience that study can't do.

My that near 60 yo sis' girl. Now about 28. She has been working for less than five years (started with about $3K+ salary and now is about $4K+) with a stable boyfriend. Other than paying off her about $30K study loan within about 3 years, now she has another $70K+ savings (that she asked me how to invest and I told her other than her monthly $300 ETF and life insurance, all to be in liquid form like stable FD coz she may need the money soon for wedding, etc).

She is also an avid traveler like her mum but she travels much further to exotic countries like Egypt, Mexico, Africa, etc, back packing in all those trips, spending and 'saving' at the same time.

This kind of children if their lives go on without much hiccups (such as sudden illnesses), then their financial journey is set to trail happily in every stage of their lives.

*You see some young working adults who lunch frequently at work on expensive salad lunch/gourmet burger/coffee, cab often, throw expensive wedding party / house renovation, etc, basically you can predict they are heading towards the opposite end of a healthy financial goal. Good habits need to be developed from young. Once shaped is real difficult to change. Plant gua gets gua.

TheAnswer

lee_yl:
                      Hercules, thanks for sharing and you reminded me that I have to get my kids to work part-time when they are teens. I started helping out at my uncle's factory with my cousins ard 10yo every school holidays. Learning how to manage one's hard earned money must be something that starts from young!

A student can survive with a few dollars every day but when this same person starts working, even with a 5-figure salary may not be enough because he would want to upgrade from HDB to Condo, upgrade Jap car to Merc/BM etc. Thus, we need to take note of \"expectations inflation\". Best is salary keep going up and yet still continue to live way below your means.
                      I started working part time and saving what I earn from 17. Already used to busy life and also living way below my means. Learnt from my mum. People who dunno will think my parents are broke cos they are thrifty. I was conned for so many years myself cos they will always count dollars and cents though they really dun need to.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                        MrsKiasu

This makes me think deeper and with more details ..usually mine is agaration. Esp for my kids, they are my biggest worries, same as most parents. Now think of it, if we were to leave early, dont think I will have financial worries for them. If guardian could manage properly, both will have chance to go overseas for studies..BUT, with us around, we dont have enough money :nailbite: 😓 that's why need to work. I dunno leh, for myself i never thot of not working when I m old..just do something. And take leave when wants to travel. At least let brain works a bit. Think dh also think the same as me.

Janet, think your current monthly expenses should give you some good estimation on how much you will need for retirement.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 33 / 181