2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
Hi! Is $18K per year or per semester? If it is per year, I feel it is quite affordable and I will definitely consider this option if my girls could not make it to an above average local secondary school. Could not agree more that all the enrichment classes when added up, is almost this amount too (and so is pre-school school fee). HCI is very popular among the PRC students.
lee_yl:
Not that deep lah, HCI Int school fees per year ard $18,000. Some primary school children take piano/violin plus 3 TLL and CL tuition, one year's enrichment fees already exceed $18,000.
Its true, we do spend a lot on our children's enrichment. I just realised I spent an average of $1000 per mth (excluding private kindergarten fees) on DD1 enrichment. This translates into $12,000 a year and $96,000 over the last 8 years !!! :moneyflies:
However, am glad to note that she is so far doing well in school and has been independent in her school work and projects since P5. She now has only Maths tuition.
But as I age, I start to plan for my own retirement needs. I have told DD1 that she will have to get a scholarship for overseas Uni. Mummy really cannot support...
ammonite:
teacher told me to let her enjoy the holidays...but daughter told me there is homework on LMS :faint:
ya boi, ds2's T2 schedule is quite packed (by our low standards). Good for me, but definitely bad for him. I hope he can tahan.
In my heart I'm looking forward to June holidays already!
i need this march break desperately. -
lee_yl:
Not that deep lah, HCI Int school fees per year ard $18,000. Some primary school children take piano/violin plus 3 TLL and CL tuition, one year's enrichment fees already exceed $18,000.
go international school will likely need lesser tuition /enrichment support ? -
Oh dear @love1001 :oops: I check with my friend, the amount of $18K was some years back, her son already graduated. Now the annual fees should be around $20K+.
My friend still finds it cheap! Her friends with children in HCI & RI, many of them are paying tuition fees $3K-$5K a month for A-level tuition in GP, Econs, chemistry, physics, Maths etc. To my friend, international school was worth every cent she paid as the class size was smaller with a good teacher-student ratio.
She claimed that SJI Int had 75 vacancies this year but 800 signed up! According to the school principal, the IB student need not compete with the local students during A-levels as IB competes with an international field and Singaporeans generally have an advantage over them. Very true, just look at the large number of Singaporean perfect scorers in IB despite our relatively small number of IB candidates. -
3 to 5k/mth for A level tuition :yikes:
hope that is not a norm lei, how to afford. would be thinking of retirement then. -
MrsKiasu:
hope that is not a norm lei, how to afford. would be thinking of retirement then.
When I first heard that, I almost got heart attack! I thought after PSLE, my purse can stop bleeding
Then I realize A-levels tuition would be more expensive.
Not the norm bah, I guess that's for those parents who want their children to excel in A-levels. I guess many students don't need tuition?
I find it a dilemna leh, if parents stop investing half way and child doesn't do well for the final stretch, then in the first place there's no need to send the child for so much tuition in primary school.
Next time when I reach that stage I will tell you. :lol: -
aiyo leeyl, see most parents so ganjiong on the kids edu, so pump and pump the money to see the kids at the top level. and this level hor keep going UP. so the more money being pumped in. like this, people like us very cham leh. should have high chance considered as avg now becoming lower and lower er.leh

lee_yl:
3 to 5k/mth for tuition is definitely a heart attack.to me. that is about starting pay of a graduate?..havent even go U yet. so continue few years of paying few k tuition fee = first few years after graduation is work to pay back these money..if it is a dd and decided to become SAHM few years after working then net return is NIL arh?MrsKiasu:
hope that is not a norm lei, how to afford. would be thinking of retirement then.
When I first heard that, I almost got heart attack! I thought after PSLE, my purse can stop bleeding
Then I realize A-levels tuition would be more expensive.
Not the norm bah, I guess that's for those parents who want their children to excel in A-levels. I guess many students don't need tuition?
I find it a dilemna leh, if parents stop investing half way and child doesn't do well for the final stretch, then in the first place there's no need to send the child for so much tuition in primary school.
Next time when I reach that stage I will tell you. :lol: -
May I ask, 3k to 5k per month is for how many subjects and which subjects?
The example I know is 2k a month for double-dose of physics tuition, one lesson with a famous tutor and one lesson with a NUS under-graduate on Deanβs List, 2 lessons per week.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.