How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
lee_yl:
Even then, I still hope he can work until 67, if possible.
Should be work until cannot work leh. -
I feel apprehensive with retirement.
I am not looking at building a portfolio to generate enough passive income to fund my daily expenses during retirement but merely saved enough to last till my end. -
ammonite:
:rotflmao:lee_yl:
Even then, I still hope he can work until 67, if possible.
Should be work until cannot work leh.
LOL, if he is still employable by then. We expect a pay cut when he hits 60 then again at 62, but don't care, unless asked to leave, else work until he doesn't want to. -
starlight1968sg:
If I don't have something that generates income but only savings, I think I will feel scared. To see my savings account depleting day by day is like dripping blood,I feel apprehensive with retirement.
I am not looking at building a portfolio to generate enough passive income to fund my daily expenses during retirement but merely saved enough to last till my end.
DH's colleague passed on due to cancer and after deducting insurance payouts, the family is still laden with a $500K bill for the cancer treatment and ICU stay
lee_yl:
DH's colleague passed on due to cancer and after deducting insurance payouts, the family is still laden with a $500K bill for the cancer treatment and ICU stay
That should be private hospital, A1 ward? For chronic ailments, choice of hospital and ward are very important.
Another relative who is single and childless was in an accident. Spent three weeks on life support before passing away. Everything covered with subsidies and insurance. -
The greatest uncertainty is the medical bills during old age.
starlight1968sg:
I try to lead a healthy lifestyle....hope can persist....no more kopi...kopio siew dai... -
starlight1968sg:
Lead a healthy lifesyle....hubby switched from Kopi to Kopi o siew dai.... -
Yngmng:
I know a close relative in her mid forties who has no savings nor investments. Her only assets are cpf and hdb flat ( not fully paid) But, she has a car, a maid and her kids attend tuition. She goes for her hair treatment and manicure sessions. Sometime, life is really a matter of choice...
i think there are a lot of such people around us
They dun think too long and far, earn and spend, save some rather than save a HUGE SUM.
yep its a matter of choice .
I calculate on and off for retirement $ needs, esp the gap years , can make one worry too much
Live simple,eat humble , I need car now but i dun need one during the golden years
No need to go holidays / or travel far /luxury in golden years if not sufficient $
Need to keep Healthy - Health is WEALTH
But if i retire at 55, I also wonder what should I do at home :faint: I may have occupational hazard- enjoy bossing around
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.