How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
These days everything needs holding power… won’t be easy going forward… imagine our kids generation…
Rental isn’t as rosy as before liao -
MyPillow:
Yes, need holding power for condo. In the current market, rental cannot cover the mortgage and maintenance fee (if maxed up loan quantum). More owners are willing to let go of their units near their purchase price....even then, no offers...So many new condos now if you drive around - no lack of supply- So many just TOPed or going to be
But demand has dropped greatly
Those that buy for the sake of rent , may be stuck soon .
Cannot use or rely on rental to pay mortgage
Like i said earlier, property game is not suitable for all , need to have long holding power (if
one is thinking of prperty for retirement income)
Corp bonds, if you have$$$$$ to buy lor ,
and need some holding power too, not instant noodles
I don’t see prices of condo coming down sharply.
Rental from 2nd or more properties seem common for locals as a source of retirement funds.
For those who can’t afford a 2nd property or corporate bonds (in lots of min 250k), what are other viable sources for retirement funds?
Thank you. -
starlight1968sg:
I don't see prices of condo coming down sharply.
In the development I am staying, I noticed that the asking price of some units is close to the purchase price.... -
starlight1968sg:
I don't see prices of condo coming down sharply.
Cannot have lelong sale leh. Some old condo now rental is like HDB in better areas liao. -
starlight1968sg:
I cant fathom.TheAnswer:
[quote=\"Yngmng\"]I know a close relative in her mid forties who has no savings nor investments. Her only assets are cpf and hdb flat ( not fully paid) But, she has a car, a maid and her kids attend tuition. She goes for her hair treatment and manicure sessions. Sometime, life is really a matter of choice...
Most people are like that..
Don't they feel insecure?[/quote]because financial crisis is a very faraway concept to them. They most likely believe job security is high and nothing would go wrong in the near future, and even if something goes wrong or lose the job, they can bounce back pretty soon.
Quite a number of friends and relatives around us are like that. They go for frequent holidays, splurge on the \"nice to have\" (e.g. collectable toys, memberships for various entertainment establishments etc), expensive meals... etc. But bank balance is lower than a kid's bank balance. -
TheAnswer:
very true. rental of condo is not so shiok...have to pay for maintenance and to save up for renovation.These days everything needs holding power... won't be easy going forward.. imagine our kids generation..
Rental isn't as rosy as before liao
after each tenant leaves, things in the house will spoil and although the tenant is responsible, there is only partial payment.
those days of buying condo to rent out are over. -
Buying condo to rent is still a in thing now? If not paid in full, which is usually the case, the cost of renting + paying installment may exceed the rental money. especially with so many new condos here and there, its like a bubble that’s about to pop.
In thing now is "start-up" and "cafes" here and there. every few years, there’s some trend money earning gimmick. -
buying condo to rent in long term will still make sense. Why? because there is a strong push amongst younger generations not to stay with parents and have their own privacy. So there is an internal push and also external push. Expats still need to rent. We will still see more foreigners coming in/
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.