Children of average ability
insider:
Thanks for your replies.
July is another few months down the road and these kids can grow a lot (mentally) in months.
Go flying kite, catching longkang fish, listening to birds singing more with him at this tender age, before he embarks on the long journey of schooling...
Good luck!
that my boy's teachers will feel the same too.
tamarind:
Hi Taramind
Yes I know you are not in that age group, but of course we don't mind lah. All the mommies in that thread are very nice people. That's why I still visit that thread even when I am super busy. Honestly it is much more relaxing there, don't need to worry that we get \"attacked\" by some people in this forum if we write something they don't like to see. I just read something from another thread which makes me :x But better not say anything.
Thks a lot! Had visited & said Hello oredi ^_^ Look forward to making more friends from there.
Honestly, when I visit forums, my main purpose is to learn & share w the mummies/daddies..& who knows, get to make a few gd friends from there..in fact, i hv made a few gd mummy pals from e Jurong thread as well..if u r keen, u r welcome to join us there..we hv occasionally outings among the grp as well..
I don't see the point to get into an argument with people from the forum & I'll try my best to be sensitive to others' feelings & I hope, so far, I'm doing a gd job & didn't step onto others' toes..(to any one out there) if i did, pls accept my apologies.tamarind:
Thks a lot for the compliment. He is very cheeky as well..I really enjoy his company & indeed, like what Bud said, the labour birth was worth the pain. Btw..it was a very painful labour..hehehe..still rem till this day! Before having kids, I really cant stand children who r active & loud..guess it's 'retribution' for me..heheheI think that your boy is exceptionally bright to be able to read and understand instructions at such a young age. You have all the right to be proud of him. I am really amazed by children like your son
And I think that you are doing great developing him. He is still very young, you have to guide him so that he does the work correctly. My boy is going to be 5 years old this year, he sometimes still draw long lines across his homework, thinking that it is funny !
I guess..boys being boys..will be mischievious ..my boy also like to draw/scribble in his book..rather difficult to make him sit still to do his work..he will be up & walking around shortly after few min.tamarind:
It's not a big mistake..pls dun feel that way. What's impt is that u cherish the time spent with both of them from now onwards..they r still young & hv a long way to go..this is my philosophy..which explains why i will spend whatever free time i hv with my boy..be it reading books, playing games, bringing him to the playground etc..I did not start to teach my girl to read until she was 3 years 8 months old. Although I read books to her since she was a baby, I only pointed at the pictures, not the words. I thought it is not possible for her to learn words below the age of 3. It was a big mistake.
Yes my girl is in the Pioneer kindergarten at blk 662B
Wow..i didn't realise that that is the Kindergarten that u spoke highly of..frm their notice board, they hv Chinese Calligraphy as well..didn't know they got cooking, dance etc for enrichment...indeed value for money! Will consider this centre when my boy is older..since so nearby also..hee..but then again, hv to find someone to look after him after sch..tt will b e prob. So which centre is your boy at now? -
ryankwek:
I'm starting to worry when I read this forum. My girl is in K1 and she can't read. she can't even master her phonics well...

Heyya ryankwek,
K1 is a ripe time to learn phonics and reading.
By this time, the child has matured thru the
speech and character. Will be able to speak
clearly and listen better, plus the much needed
ability to sit down for some time for seat activity.
I wanna help you. Pls tell me more so i can help
you assess your girl from your feedback. And
when you say she cudn master her phonics well,
where exactly is she learning this phonics lesson..
Enrichment ctr or learning in her kindergarten?
How much time alloted for Phonics?
I also hope during your time with her, you DO
read to her, right? Cos this is important. We can
never over-emphasize the importance of nudging
a child to be interested to reading will always begin
with us and our routine... the kids gotta start somewhere
and home is the place to begin this wonderful reading journey.
Btw, you're a daddy?
Cannot recall seeing your introduction. -
shylyn:
Here's a link to my sleep routine for your perusal. I'm insomniac.buds:
I've been great. Enjoying the sleep-ins after the girls go to school. Both AM session. Sorry hor. Not to make you jealous or anything. Hehee!
Oii...heheh..its ok..though i do miss sleeping in..i hv never slept passed 8.30am ever since i hv my boy, who is an early riser..he cant sleep past 8.30am one..& he has to be in bed by 10pm as well..so gd habit lah..
btw, do u need to send ur girls to sch? Also hv to wake up really early right??
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2082buds:
Where got no posts?
I lor so one, sure got a lot of things to say. :lol:
I'm everywhere loh.. Mebbe some people sick of me liao. :siam:shylyn:
Heh.. copy you ok. Kinda worried i will get tracked!!! :!:I didn't realise u were everywhere! ok..will read up whenever i got the time..for me, cant really afford to post everywhere..kinda worried I will get tracked..hee...btw, i read somewhere u also stay in the West? Which part? Dun mind sharing?
Jedamum has tracked the furthest so far. Hide!buds:
Spread the addition out to - Number
Bonds. Eh, your boy in N2 only right?shylyn:
Oit! Just turning 3 oni hah.. dun be so kiasu haa.My boy is in N1..turning 3 yrs old in another 2 mths time. What's Number Bonds?? Trying to teach him to use his fingers to count but think he has yet to do so..though he will count my fingers instead.
Oh ya, i retract my suggestion. Please DON'T teach your
boy number bonds ah! That one preparation for P1. I have
that posted under P1 Maths, if just for your knowledge..
Remember : Don't teach yet.
The problem with over-teaching is that children will soon get
easily bored without new stimulation on a regular basis, esp
the bright ones. Then come P1 they will find the school work
boring and exhausting. School will be no fun and pose no
challenge. Teach age-appropriately. You have been warned, k.buds:
Variety... no problem.
I'm queen of variety.
And happy when others contribute too.shylyn:
Yep, you're right. Job related yes, cos i've been in the line for likeYaloh..i'm always wondering where on earth u got sooo many ideas?? Hehehe...think got to do with ur job as well as creativity lah..me huh..think i used to be creative but as time goes by...it started to get rusty. I love to contribute as well..but i still believe nothing speaks better than a picture & i can be sooo lazy when it comes to taking pictures..so usually, I will just type out my 'contributions' instead..
15 years (i think?). So, i've eventually along the run, acquired a fetish
for learning materials, teaching resources, children's music, puppets,
books books and more books. When we travel on family vacations i can
be stuck in the bookstore till the shops close if i was allowed to stay that
long (with hubs). My hubs always ask me, why you still buy all these
things even when you dun teach anymore and where to keep all these
things you have acquired over the YEARS? So i reply, i dun disturb your
things (music equipments, amplifiers, giant speakers, etc) so you dun
disturb my things. He complains i can open my own library with all those
books!
Baah.. Its like so sayaaaang... i dunno when i'll chance upon
the same material again. So... so... so... i buy lah. A lot, yes, i do agree
on that. But i like... then how? I dun go buying branded clothes or shop
incessantly like other tai-tai mummies... indulge in kids' stuff benefit my
own as well, right?
So, whadda heck... hehehee..
Creativity wise, i suppose cos i'm from the arts. So, i like hands on
opposed to seat-written-work. I believe children can have fun learning
without the paper too! Especially when they're younger.. When they're
older, i reinforce similar themes or concepts with more challenging
activities with follow up written work. But to cultivate the interest, must
start with something fun first lah, right?
That's why i loved my job.
And correction to hubs statement, \"not working anymore\"...
I shud say, \"not working for the moment\" does not equal to
don't want to work anymore. Ahak! :lol: I love working.
So now i work here, in KiasuParents, only thing for FREE.
But i still like. Keeps me stimulated prior to going back to
workforce.
But past few years when i applied for freelance assignments
i usually get like, wud prefer you to be under management
instead for your experience will help new school blossom..
But... but... i want to be with the kids.
Having said that, i love to teach parents too but not do ctr's
admin with parents and do sales throughout my 8 hours in
office.
Aaaaah, as for the pictures... i've been inspired by tamarind on
that. It's sooo nice to see and understand what she really means
on what she posts via her pictures. So, i thought heck, why not?
I can do that... and mebbe help some mummies along the way
too. Save money and teach at home This way, i can still be considered
teaching right? Mebbe can invent new terminology for that.
\"online-forum-teaching\"... mebbe if Chief can provide testimonial,
i'll include the duration worked here as online-fourm-teaching-consultant.
How's that? Hahahahaaa! :lol: :lol: :lol:buds:
When they can read sometimes they just read but dun quite get whats being asked. Practise make perfect. The more
assessments you do with him, the more exposed he is to different
natures of instructions, understand and slowly will do it correctly.. Usually
by end N2 or K1, when they can read or starting to read nicely, can start
to get fun activity books to do together. I'll put up some pictures of nice
activity books you can get from the regular bookstores ok.
Playing educational CD-rom games can also divert the learning thru play
to ease the boredom of sitting-down-pencil activities.shylyn:
Its ok, shylyn. My younger one does that too. Doesn't easily conform toYep..initially,my hub & I tot my boy only knows how to read w/o understanding but he proves us wrong in this case..we have been doing simple worksheets since a yr ago..so i guess u r right to say that with practise, he might more or less understood what the instruction is. As I mentioned to Jedamum..my boy will want to do things his way rather than follow instructions accordingly..he will circle instead of colour. Thinking of ways to make him listen to instructions rather than doing things his way. Hv yet to expose him to CD rom..cos lazy Mummy & daddy..don't like to switch on e Laptop..though i observed he's rather keen to explore the laptop. I still prefer the gd o PC..pity I don't hv one at home.
the norm. For pre-school not so jia-lat hor.. Here and there, bits and
pieces not according to the instruction, not to worry. Likewise for my
girl, she reads the instruction \"colour\", she will circle, and all the answers
are correct. When we ask, she say i hate colouring. So, i say ok... What
if mummy helps, then she'll light up and say, ok! Mummy help then okay.
She dislikes major colouring work, she says its a waste of time just
colouring, its not learning... Ok lah, ok lah... so not to discourage her
entirely, we'll let her circle AND colour. For the counting bits (since she
said she liked to learn, right...) i ask her to indicate the number. Like
doing working for pre-school like that. Example, circle 15 ducks in the
pond, she shud write the numbers 1 to 15 under the ducks she counted.
Then, we colour. Hah! Trick her to practise writing oso. Cool lah for me.
The teacher also knows she's quite advance. So... you see lah. Can be
a nuisance oso in school, dowan to conform. Hehee..
Btw, now PC so cheap. And with the mini laptops going quite cheapo
too, can invest one for your future professor. :love:buds:
Here are some great titles.. for boys.
shylyn:
:thankyou:Thks Buds..u r such a gem! Thk u!
:thankyou:
(Bow... Bow!)
I am a gem, aye?
:oops:
Big gem or small gem? Haha!
Since you say, I GEM, :love: i post up these specially for you, sista!
Hope it helps... and INSPIRES!
Cheerios.
Have a fabulous week ahead.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq2T0HtS
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2Cs760
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gx1k6ddr -
Yikes, my handphone starting to get faulty with its functions.
Sigh… cos the pictures i post up are from my handphone.
Cos, very easy to upload. Haiyah, troublesome leh.
Chief, sponsor one new handphone for moi!
Wuahahahahaa! -
Can... which model you want? iPhone or uPhone? Let me know and I'll put it on your hubs' tab....Chief, sponsor one new handphone for moi!
Wuahahahahaa! -
iPhone of course lah, wah, you know my standard already, uh?
Can... which model you want? iPhone or uPhone? Let me know and I'll put it on your hubs' tab.buds:
...Chief, sponsor one new handphone for moi!
Wuahahahahaa!
Better phone, better pictures for your fellow clients, here...
Ahak! -
Heyya jedamum,
Gimme some time, i want to reply your ds2 adventure!!!
Not enuf time today leh… My fridge konk out liao today.
Lotsa work to do!!!
Sigh, can’t live without cold water!
Esp in Singapore’s hot weather…
Reading a post abt the lemon slices in cold ice water
really drooling… Geez… New fridge just arrived but cannot
use. After 5hrs then can ON. Wah lau can’t even make ice.
Promise, get to you soon! -
Heyya, mummies with girls!
I did not forget abt you. Never. Haha!
Here's for all the gals!
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CC5G0
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CCuCr
Sorry uh, shylyn..
The manufacturers compiled Dora under girls leh..
But i'm sure you can always look out for a single
CD rom for Dora and Diego. You know? Since the
last you shared your boy loved the Dora in Mandarin,
i cannot help thinking of you and him each time the
show comes on TV! Heheee! -
Heyya shylyn,
As promised, here are the pictures for the interesting written
activities i personally like. The product started on the shelf
pricing quite high, then after a couple of mths mebbe to clear
stock, i got it at only $11! Popular. But.... dunno still got some
more or not.
Comes in Level 1, 2 and 3.
I managed to get all.
All 3 from different outlets.
By luck.
This awesome ring-binded folder book is the
innovation of School Zone Publishing Company.
The one featured here is Level 2. Offers loads
of fun time with reading, writing and even comprehension.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CFdJi
Consists of :
>2 audio cd's
>2 song booklets
>3 stencil sheets
>1 marker
>1 portable duster
>1 pencil
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gx1kdK8A
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq2Tgif9
Stickers!
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq2Th2DS
2 Journal Books!
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CGQ_9
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aV2CH7s9
Wipe clean activity pages.
ie. can use markers to do activities.
32 pages of simple comprehension pages.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq2TiorJ
Also includes reading books/story books of the same titles
on the cover of the folder!
Value for money, right?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.