Presidential Elections 2017

-1 Posts 40 Posters 61.4k Views 1 Watching
    • ZeitZ Offline
      Zeit

Zeit:

By the way, saw some threads and sites on Mdm Halimah's place of residence in Yishun. She's going to stay put in Yishun? If elected, how much must taxpayers pay for the Gurkhas and special forces to be guarding her HDB block? Where will her Presidential vehicle pick her up? Unless she wants to make NTUC's Orchid Country Club her Northern Istana? hahahaha...

With a million dollar pay increment, won't she move to a landed property or condo? I suppose with her salary as speaker of parliament ($550K pa) she should have an alternative private property or properties elsewhere, right?

Not stay in istana meh?

Nobody stays inside the Istana. It's where the President's Office and PMO are. PM goes there daily for work. There's a small swimming pool, 9-hole golf course for u know who... Presidents stay at home. Do you want to sleepover at Istana where some VVIPs had lain in state inside before. *spooks*

But maybe our future Yang di Pertuan Negara is not concerned. She can change the status quo and take over Sri Temasek as her official place of residence. After all, we've been reminded they're the true descendants of Temasek, yah?

If tak boleh, she can negotiate with the Malay Heritage Centre to let her take over Kampong Glam Istana, the original Malay Palace of the Sultan Hussein of Johor that's been gazetted.

https://s2.postimg.org/cyjcrlprd/8108983617_3c980bd73e_b.jpg\">

Final option, simply take over one of the resort deluxe suites at NTUC Orchid Country Country lah. Yishun Lake facing somemore...with many Yishun kucintas to keep Yang di-Pertuan Negara company 🙂

dger

Majority of Singaporeans don't care about others or the less well of. As long as the policy doesn't affect them, have a reasonable job with moderate earnings they don't wanna rock the boat and don't give a foot to politics or policies. With this mentality I don't think we can go far...

floppy:
        janet88:

floppy,
        sorry to quote your name about the wallpaper.

does a President really have the authority to question the ministers about sensitive issues?

No worries.

The issue really isn't about the President - the President can be any Tom or Harry, Sue or Mary, Male / Female or otherwise.

It's how the whole PE debate was driven and how the legislation came to being, that leaves a lot to be desired. If a supposedly important institution is debated and decided in such a haphazard manner, I find it puzzling that Singaporeans can still have so much faith in their elected representatives to make the right decisions when it counts.

• floppyF Offline
          floppy

pirate:
          mum_sugoku:

PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

You don't know the law on this is \"pliant\" meh? 😉

And if there's no law, we can always create one.
          There's more than enough yes-man in the house to help to approve any laws or by-laws.

limlim

mum_sugoku:

Yalor.. isn't MP supposed to be appointed (voted in) by the people?

mum_sugoku

mum_sugoku:

Er.. because we have a \"flexible\" and \"adaptable\" PM ?(Oops will I be sued for saying that? :siam: )

mum_sugoku

floppy:
                pirate:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

You don't know the law on this is \"pliant\" meh? 😉

And if there's no law, we can always create one.
                There's more than enough yes-man in the house to help to approve any laws or by-laws.[/quote]Seems to me like playing 家家酒 -

1. Barely a year before PE, set up a committee to decide that, after all of us are already so used to \"regardless of race, language or religion\", race - as well as language and religion for purpose of deciding the ethnicity/eligibility of potential EP candidate - suddenly must be regarded when it comes to selecting our President!

2. Decide that WKW, and not the first people-elected OTC, shall be counted as the first EP. Reason being WKW was also \"elected\" in to office (nevermind that it's by the Parliament, and not the people).

3. Decide that ethnic Indian (by father's ethnicity) HY is a Malay.

4. PM can appoint a grassroot leader to succeed outgoing MP..

🤷

• ZeitZ Offline
                  Zeit

mum_sugoku:

Must look at past rulings or interpretations...

Ong Chit Chung died (GRC) - no BE
                  Balaji died (GRC) - no BE
                  Goh Chok Tong and whole Marine Parade team quit (GRC) - YES, must have BE
                  Yaw Shin Leong skipped town (SMC) - YES, must have BE

Depends on whether any part-time cleaner from Marsiling goes file a court application lor...And depends on judge also.

SG Constitution Article 49(1) says, “Whenever the seat of a Member, not being a non-constituency Member, has become vacant for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament, the vacancy shall be filled by election in the manner provided by or under any law relating to Parliamentary elections for the time being in force.”

Parliamentary Elections Act Section 24(2A) states, “In respect of any group representation constituency, no writ shall be issued under subsection (1) for an election to fill any vacancy unless all the Members for that constituency have vacated their seats in Parliament.”

Now ruling party says 24 minorities out of 88 MPs (minus Halimah) so more than a quarter filled by Malays, Indians and minorities, so sufficiently represented. Hence, no need to have BE.

If you want a BE, you need all MPs in Marsiling-Yew Tee to resign to trigger it, cos in case the outcome is 1 lone opposition MP gets elected to join this PAP-dominant GRC, which is a crazy partnership right?

And from a practical standpoint, do Marsiling residents want a change of town councillors or not? 2-3 more years potentially under an opposition party.

Wait for SDP lah. They are looking into it.

limlim

Zeit:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]

Must look at past rulings or interpretations...

Ong Chit Chung died (GRC) - no BE
                    Balaji died (GRC) - no BE
                    Goh Chok Tong and whole Marine Parade team quit (GRC) - YES, must have BE
                    Yaw Shin Leong skipped town (SMC) - YES, must have BE

Depends on whether any part-time cleaner from Marsiling goes file a court application lor...And depends on judge also.

SG Constitution Article 49(1) says, “Whenever the seat of a Member, not being a non-constituency Member, has become vacant for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament, the vacancy shall be filled by election in the manner provided by or under any law relating to Parliamentary elections for the time being in force.”

Parliamentary Elections Act Section 24(2A) states, “In respect of any group representation constituency, no writ shall be issued under subsection (1) for an election to fill any vacancy unless all the Members for that constituency have vacated their seats in Parliament.”

Now ruling party says 24 minorities out of 88 MPs (minus Halimah) so more than a quarter filled by Malays, Indians and minorities, so sufficiently represented. Hence, no need to have BE.

If you want a BE, you need all MPs in Marsiling-Yew Tee to resign to trigger it, cos in case the outcome is 1 lone opposition MP gets elected to join this PAP-dominant GRC, which is a crazy partnership right?

And from a practical standpoint, do Marsiling residents want a change of town councillors or not? 2-3 more years potentially under an opposition party.

Wait for SDP lah. They are looking into it.[/quote]Whether or not there is BE is up to the gov. That is fine.

HOWEVER, if no BE the seat must be left vacant. How can a non-elected person be MP? That totally goes against the principal of democracy. EVEN NCMP seat is earned based on the number of votes they get. And if the highest scoring candidate rejects the offer, the seat does not automatically goes to the next runner up.

How can MP seat be suka suka given to anyone without the people's mandate. That just sounds so..... illegal..

btw, got this event meh? whole marine parade team quit??

• ZeitZ Offline
                      Zeit

Did they say it'll be a non-elected grassroots leader taking charge of Marsiling ward? I didn't follow the news on this, sorry. But I vaguely remember hearing on tv that the other 3 Chinese elected MPs will take turns to cover for Halimah.

Anyway, non-elected grassroots servicing residents isn't a new thing lah. Do you know there are such non-elected grassroots advisors in Aljunied GRC coexisting with the WP MPs? They're the ones who give out Edusave certificates to students living in Aljunied GRC, organise health screenings, legal aid and so on. I'm not from Aljunied, but that's what I heard from my friends from that GRC. They get to join activities organised by both WP and PAP!! Seems like it's a uniquely Singapore practice!

Marine Parade GRC resignation was after PM Goh took over from PM Lee.
                      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marine_Parade_by-election,_1992

pirate

Grassroots adviser only what. Not MP lah. Like how Potong Pasir and Hougang used to have grassroots advisers even though already have MPs. What is the problem? The more the merrier, no? 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1