Presidential Elections 2017

-1 Posts 40 Posters 61.4k Views 1 Watching
      mum_sugoku

floppy:
      pirate:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

You don't know the law on this is \"pliant\" meh? 😉

And if there's no law, we can always create one.
      There's more than enough yes-man in the house to help to approve any laws or by-laws.[/quote]Seems to me like playing 家家酒 -

1. Barely a year before PE, set up a committee to decide that, after all of us are already so used to \"regardless of race, language or religion\", race - as well as language and religion for purpose of deciding the ethnicity/eligibility of potential EP candidate - suddenly must be regarded when it comes to selecting our President!

2. Decide that WKW, and not the first people-elected OTC, shall be counted as the first EP. Reason being WKW was also \"elected\" in to office (nevermind that it's by the Parliament, and not the people).

3. Decide that ethnic Indian (by father's ethnicity) HY is a Malay.

4. PM can appoint a grassroot leader to succeed outgoing MP..

🤷

• ZeitZ Offline
        Zeit

mum_sugoku:

PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

Yalor.. isn't MP supposed to be appointed (voted in) by the people?

Must look at past rulings or interpretations...

Ong Chit Chung died (GRC) - no BE
        Balaji died (GRC) - no BE
        Goh Chok Tong and whole Marine Parade team quit (GRC) - YES, must have BE
        Yaw Shin Leong skipped town (SMC) - YES, must have BE

Depends on whether any part-time cleaner from Marsiling goes file a court application lor...And depends on judge also.

SG Constitution Article 49(1) says, “Whenever the seat of a Member, not being a non-constituency Member, has become vacant for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament, the vacancy shall be filled by election in the manner provided by or under any law relating to Parliamentary elections for the time being in force.”

Parliamentary Elections Act Section 24(2A) states, “In respect of any group representation constituency, no writ shall be issued under subsection (1) for an election to fill any vacancy unless all the Members for that constituency have vacated their seats in Parliament.”

Now ruling party says 24 minorities out of 88 MPs (minus Halimah) so more than a quarter filled by Malays, Indians and minorities, so sufficiently represented. Hence, no need to have BE.

If you want a BE, you need all MPs in Marsiling-Yew Tee to resign to trigger it, cos in case the outcome is 1 lone opposition MP gets elected to join this PAP-dominant GRC, which is a crazy partnership right?

And from a practical standpoint, do Marsiling residents want a change of town councillors or not? 2-3 more years potentially under an opposition party.

Wait for SDP lah. They are looking into it.

limlim

Zeit:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]
          PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

Yalor.. isn't MP supposed to be appointed (voted in) by the people?

Must look at past rulings or interpretations...

Ong Chit Chung died (GRC) - no BE
          Balaji died (GRC) - no BE
          Goh Chok Tong and whole Marine Parade team quit (GRC) - YES, must have BE
          Yaw Shin Leong skipped town (SMC) - YES, must have BE

Depends on whether any part-time cleaner from Marsiling goes file a court application lor...And depends on judge also.

SG Constitution Article 49(1) says, “Whenever the seat of a Member, not being a non-constituency Member, has become vacant for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament, the vacancy shall be filled by election in the manner provided by or under any law relating to Parliamentary elections for the time being in force.”

Parliamentary Elections Act Section 24(2A) states, “In respect of any group representation constituency, no writ shall be issued under subsection (1) for an election to fill any vacancy unless all the Members for that constituency have vacated their seats in Parliament.”

Now ruling party says 24 minorities out of 88 MPs (minus Halimah) so more than a quarter filled by Malays, Indians and minorities, so sufficiently represented. Hence, no need to have BE.

If you want a BE, you need all MPs in Marsiling-Yew Tee to resign to trigger it, cos in case the outcome is 1 lone opposition MP gets elected to join this PAP-dominant GRC, which is a crazy partnership right?

And from a practical standpoint, do Marsiling residents want a change of town councillors or not? 2-3 more years potentially under an opposition party.

Wait for SDP lah. They are looking into it.[/quote]Whether or not there is BE is up to the gov. That is fine.

HOWEVER, if no BE the seat must be left vacant. How can a non-elected person be MP? That totally goes against the principal of democracy. EVEN NCMP seat is earned based on the number of votes they get. And if the highest scoring candidate rejects the offer, the seat does not automatically goes to the next runner up.

How can MP seat be suka suka given to anyone without the people's mandate. That just sounds so..... illegal..

btw, got this event meh? whole marine parade team quit??

• ZeitZ Offline
            Zeit

Did they say it'll be a non-elected grassroots leader taking charge of Marsiling ward? I didn't follow the news on this, sorry. But I vaguely remember hearing on tv that the other 3 Chinese elected MPs will take turns to cover for Halimah.

Anyway, non-elected grassroots servicing residents isn't a new thing lah. Do you know there are such non-elected grassroots advisors in Aljunied GRC coexisting with the WP MPs? They're the ones who give out Edusave certificates to students living in Aljunied GRC, organise health screenings, legal aid and so on. I'm not from Aljunied, but that's what I heard from my friends from that GRC. They get to join activities organised by both WP and PAP!! Seems like it's a uniquely Singapore practice!

Marine Parade GRC resignation was after PM Goh took over from PM Lee.
            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marine_Parade_by-election,_1992

pirate

Grassroots adviser only what. Not MP lah. Like how Potong Pasir and Hougang used to have grassroots advisers even though already have MPs. What is the problem? The more the merrier, no? 😉

• ZeitZ Offline
                Zeit

mum_sugoku:
                Seems to me like playing 家家酒 -

1. Barely a year before PE, set up a committee to decide that, after all of us are already so used to \"regardless of race, language or religion\", race - as well as language and religion for purpose of deciding the ethnicity/eligibility of potential EP candidate - suddenly must be regarded when it comes to selecting our President!

2. Decide that WKW, and not the first people-elected OTC, shall be counted as the first EP. Reason being WKW was also \"elected\" in to office (nevermind that it's by the Parliament, and not the people).

3. Decide that ethnic Indian (by father's ethnicity) HY is a Malay.

4. PM can appoint a grassroot leader to succeed outgoing MP..

🤷
                1. I'm in principle agreeble to this reserved PE thingy, but wonder why they cannot use 4 terms to count, instead of 5. I think it's because 5 terms was recommended by the Constitutional Commission. But the Commission didn't say WKW was the first elected President in their report. It was AGC which interpreted Article 19B to be any president and relied on Article 164 to start counting from WKW.

https://s1.postimg.org/cejrjmx4f/2017-08-08_6.png\">
                (p 82 of CC Report 2016)

2. If they'd used 4 terms instead (i.e. 4 X 6 years = 24 years), they can start counting from the first popularly elected President Ong Teng Cheong, so no more quarrels on the internet. However, they just won't give this honour to the late Ong Teng Cheong. I felt very sad when I heard and read PM Lee's speech at NYGH's 100th anniversary dinner. He mentioned Ling Siew May's contributions to the building of NYGH, but did not mention Ong Teng Cheong as former 'President'...It's as if it's a taboo word. Sigh.
                [quote] Many Nanyang alumni went well beyond fund raising, to make major contributions to the school. One prime example is the late Mdm Ling Siew May (Mrs Ong Teng Cheong). She was both an architect, and chairman of the School Management Committee. She was the prime mover behind the secondary campus on Linden Drive. She raised funds for it, designed it, and oversaw its construction herself, even when she was very ill. [/quote]3. I'm ok with any type of Muslims. My main concern is there's no contest. That'll be really sad for the electorate. I don't want to have no choice, but seems like no one else is coming forward other than the 3.

4. Not my prob as I'm not from Marsiling!

• NebbermindN Offline
                  Nebbermind

Minister resignation needs how long a notice period har?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                    starlight1968sg

If not elected, can get the job back?

• NebbermindN Offline
                      Nebbermind

As long as there's a suitable verb you can insert into 'ownself ________ ownself', then why not? 🤷

• JworldJ Offline
                        Jworld

she's MP. Not Minister.

Oh, now she's ex-MP.

I can't believe she chooses not to complete her term at her constituency.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        shijieS
                        shijie