Presidential Elections 2017
Hope the announcement will be made soon and all can set into actions
starlight1968sg:
i would like to know who the candidates for PE are...representing singapore and shaking hands with world leaders...hmmm, must have one who has IQ and EQ. -
mum_sugoku:
Not me though. Because I believe our minority compatriots would have no problem getting elected into office BY MERIT. Hence, there really is no need to specially reserved the post for any particular race.
1. I'm in principle agreeble to this reserved PE thingy,Zeit:
[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]
1. Barely a year before PE, set up a committee to decide that, after all of us are already so used to \"regardless of race, language or religion\", race - as well as language and religion for purpose of deciding the ethnicity/eligibility of potential EP candidate - suddenly must be regarded when it comes to selecting our President!
One good example would be the most recent BE in Bukit Batok: a minority (Indian) candidate had defeated a Chinese candidate by a comfortable margin.[/quote]I don't know if you've considered the babyboomers, PG voters and even former Malaysian Chinese among the silent majority. True, post-65ers may not care about the candidates' ethnic group. For instance, if I've to pick between Mdm Halimah and Tan Kin Lian, of course I go for Mdm Halimah. But if her contenders are George Yeo and Tharman, I willl pick the men lah!
You've mentioned Murali (and perhaps JBJ). Not sure if it's a good litmus test because in GE and BE, voters look for the party brand, rather than the person's race. In PE, all candidates are non-partisan (except those freshly resigned ones!).
As for why I'm ok with a reserved PE, it's cos I think it's hard enticing and nudging qualified compatriots from the Malay community to run for PE. I've a few Malay PMET friends; most are peace-loving, moderate, private and highly content with their lives. Secondly, the bar is set so ridiculously high. How many Malays in the age group of 46-75 are in senior executive positions that qualify them for the PE? If they're not self-employed or post retirement, they won't take the risk. Who wants to be jobless in their 50s?
As such there's a need to give them this extra 'push' and reserved platform. It's the counting system I'm not pleased with... -
starlight1968sg:
Ahem. Looks like they all soft launched liao, even before TCB's appeal verdict's out and before they even get their eligibility certificates. LOL... -
janet88:
Yah...no certificate of eligibility, no talk!
i would like to know who the candidates for PE are...representing singapore and shaking hands with world leaders...hmmm, must have one who has IQ and EQ.
If there's a contest, well since they say the President only has a custodial role to play, I go for image/ disposition liao. Serious!
Don't believe the President can change or shake things up. I did read about Mdm Halimah's invaluable contributions to the labour movement, fight for single mothers and the Malay community...Nice. But, can she continue to champion those noble causes and introduce social programmes as President? She only needs to attend President Star Charity shows at Mediacorp, host citizens at the Istana open houses, open Parliament sessions, witness swearing in of new ministers, wear the Girl Guides uniform (while her hubby wears the Boy Scout uniform), etc. Basically all the diplomatic messages are not articulated through her but through the foreign ministry. hahaha -
Zeit:
You've just listed another reason why I'm against the reserved PE idea!
As for why I'm ok with a reserved PE, it's cos I think it's hard enticing and nudging qualified compatriots from the Malay community to run for PE. I've a few Malay PMET friends; most are peace-loving, moderate, private and highly content with their lives. Secondly, the bar is set so ridiculously high. How many Malays in the age group of 46-75 are in senior executive positions that qualify them for the PE? If they're not self-employed or post retirement, they won't take the risk. Who wants to be jobless in their 50s?
As such there's a need to give them this extra 'push' and reserved platform. It's the counting system I'm not pleased with...
See the irony? I find them insincere. On the one hand, they claim they want minority representation, on the other hand, they set the bar so high that it's hard even for majority to qualify, not to mention the minority.
Yet, such requirement is not applicable if he/she happens to be ex-minister, ex-speaker.. :skeptical:
(Btw It would be a \"waste\" for Tharman to be President lah. I'd rather he be our PM instead.
)
I look at this hiatus-triggered model in a positive light. As you know, it’s ‘triggered’ only when a particular race isn’t elected for 5 consecutive terms. Which means it doesn’t stop the minorities from contesting in the next open PE 2023.
Once the Malay aspirants and the electorate move out of their comfort zones after this PE, i.e. have a term headed by someone Malay, someone else from their race would be encouraged to contest against the other races in the next open election in 2023. Historically they’re rather passive and apathetic in this area, thanks to the high quality of life in Singapore! -
mum_sugoku:
i totally agree with you on this...tharman should not be president...it's really wasted. he should be our PM...he has the brains and experience (from IMF)...plus he looks really pleasant.
(Btw It would be a \"waste\" for Tharman to be President lah. I'd rather he be our PM instead.
) -
janet88:
Yes, Tharman should be our next PM, not President. The non-key ones (mostly from the unions like I said) usually kenna released for PE, as though it's a post-retirement reward for taming the pesky trade unions for the govt.
i totally agree with you on this...tharman should not be president...it's really wasted. he should be our PM...he has the brains and experience (from IMF)...plus he looks really pleasant.mum_sugoku:
)
OT: The entire PAP succession planning is totally scr*wed up. By right, DPMs should become PMs, but lo & behold, our 2 DPMs are LHL's peers and aren't going to succeed LHL.
The guy slated to become PM Heng Swee Keat came in late. Only helmed 1 key ministry MOE so far, before suffering from stroke in the midst of his term at MOF.
The other so called 4G leaders either came in late, or are helming less key ministries:
1. Ong Ye Kung (my favourite for the post of PM) - only half a term's exposure
2. Chan Chun Sing - lame experience in MCYS, and stuck in NTUC and PA possibly for 10 years like Lim Swee Say! He should be released soon to allow him to gain exposure in key ministries like MTI, MOF or MOE.
3. Lawrence Wong - came in early but too young to helm key ministries - lame exposure in MCCY and nothing great as MND minister now. Nothing memorable as 2nd Minister for Finance either.
4. Tan Chuan Jin - had a high profile as MOM minister after 2011, but now given a lame ministry MSF
5. Heng Swee Keat - Suffered stroke and may not be suitable. -
Tharman is a class above the so-called 4-G leaders. I see no reason why Tharman should not be the next PM, even if it is only for one term. No reason other than internal PAP politics, that is. :razz: And to blame it on the ethnic Chinese voters is really lame. :mad: Even my Chinese educated pioneer generation mother thinks Tharman is by far the best choice.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.